Cotton Reviews | Glassdoor

Cotton Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
J. Berrye Worsham III
4 Ratings
  1. "Un-employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cotton Gin in Cary, MS
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cotton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its close to home and I like the work environment there

    Cons

    I dont really have a down side.

    Advice to Management

    I am a self motivated worker. Good at following instructions. Im a reliable and responsible

    Cotton2019-01-09
  2. "Great company, but with some old school style..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits (PTO, 401k match, etc.) - Amazing exposure to opportunities

    Cons

    - Old school silos within company (policies, paperwork, slow to change, etc.)

    Cotton2019-04-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Temper your expectations if considering a serious role at CI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cotton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Noble company mission with talented, wonderful folks scattered throughout the organization Decent work/life balance in most roles An up-and-coming textile professional could learn alot in various segments of the textile supply chain, exposure that one wouldn't normally get in a "for profit" environment

    Cons

    Communication silos and politics of a giant corporation; department heads clash over internecine politics rather than collaborating towards common goals - and the infighting can often trickle down to front-line staff Few department heads are able to provide clear, organized and consistent direction to staff and even fewer have the ability to work as part of a larger team Vague direction that includes baffling strategies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address the divide between technical and marketing staff Get the VPs working together, most critically those in industry-facing departments Do something about employee morale...Few, if any, longterm employees have a good overall opinion of the company Actually listen to what the industry wants, rather than appeasing specific board members or pursuing academic projects - sometimes there is overlap, but not always

    Cotton2018-07-28
  4. "Supply chain marketing intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cotton part-time

    Pros

    Super friendly staff and environment

    Cons

    It is a very Quiet office

    Cotton2017-06-16
  5. "Good Company Old Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cotton full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible work schedules,

    Cons

    old values, minimal advancement opportunities

    Cotton2017-06-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Iffy experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cotton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay. Flexible Schedule, Well enough structure.

    Cons

    Poor Management. Poor Ownership. No communications.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe don't steal money from your business partners?

    Cotton2017-06-01
  7. "First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Cary, NC

    I worked at Cotton

    Pros

    relax environment flexible hours Optional half day Friday's in the summer

    Cons

    Independent work very little collaborating between departments

    Cotton2016-03-13
  8. "Associate Director of Program Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cotton full-time

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to experiment. Positive, can do company. Varied and interesting work environment in a complex industry. Good benefits and relaxed dress/work environment.

    Cons

    Not for profit company so pace can be a bit slow. Slightly sub-par wages. Limited room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to include ore middle management in the information flow within the company.

    Cotton2015-12-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Work here if you enjoy bullies and having your ideas consistently crushed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cotton

    Pros

    Great brand to have on your resume.

    Cons

    The company is stuck. They operate in the dark ages and there is little advancement opportunity for anyone. A lot of internal politics and gossip to navigate and overcome, in order to succeed at the organization. There's also a lot of senior staff that cares more about their title and "respect" and less about actually doing work that will make a difference in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    The 60s and 70s are over. It's time to conduct business, accordingly.

    Cotton2015-10-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Professional work environment, conservative corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional work environment, interesting work that impresses people at parties, good salary and benefits, opportunities for some employees to travel internationally.

    Cons

    Nearly all of senior management has worked for the company for over 20 years and their old-school, "good ole boy" management style creates a conservative risk-averse corporate culture that feels outdated in today's world. Some examples: we get "in trouble" when we're 10 minutes late to work in the morning even though most of our work is not time-sensitive, and we're not allowed to work from home unless we have express...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up and modernize

    Cotton2014-02-02
Found 11 reviews