Cover image for Coty
Logo

Coty

Engaged Employer

Coty

Add a Review

Coty Employee Reviews about "summer fridays"

Updated Oct 22, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,320 of over 2K reviews
3.5
62% Recommend to a Friend
Coty CEO Sue Y. Nabi
84% Approve of CEO

Found 25 of over 2K reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Coty CEO Sue Y. Nabi
Sue Y. Nabi
48 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and keen to hire people who will help develop the company(in 125 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and holiday time off(in 83 reviews)
  • "Good culture, care about the employees, despite sales performance always caring about the team and how they can succeed.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Challenging environment and great colleagues.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Great team and love the products!!(in 36 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Coty and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "summer fridays"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Friendly coworkers

    Aug 19, 2020 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fascinating location helpful colleagues nice benefits Summer fridays

    Cons

    sometimes career development can be limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic Work Culture

    Mar 4, 2021 - R&D Scientist in Morris Plains, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We get 7 summer Fridays off. However, during this pandemic everyone was forced to use their Fridays plus 5 vacation days every Friday after to save the company money. If employees didn’t have any vacation days left over, they had to take a pay cut for that Friday. There are some great people in the labs who are very talented and are genuinely good people.

    Cons

    I think this company is a complete mess. In the past two years, we have gone through 3 CEO changes. The company lacks stability and direction. Compensation is ridiculously below industry standards and there is very little opportunity for growth. Additionally there is a lack of communication between teams and upper management which often result in a buildup of projects, redoing work and wasting a lot of time. In addition, upper management is out of touch with their teams- a lot of people in management positions lack people skills, leadership skills and lack transparency. Often times many teams are working overtime due to the bungled communications and lack of infrastructure between groups. Teams are understaffed and are suffocating with the amount of work coming through. Additionally, many positions are treated as a revolving door- new people coming in and leaving or fired which only contribute to the disarray among teams. Overall, Coty is a very toxic workplace.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Coty team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Run far away, I’m begging you

    Apr 9, 2021 - Influencer Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summer Fridays came back Health insurance is decent

    Cons

    Everything else. This company has left me a absolutely battered and bruised. It’s hard to even write all of the cons. Every time I see a new hire I think “did they not check Glassdoor?” Because all the bad reviews are true. This place is an absolute mess. I’ve been here for almost 5 years and they’ve gotten progressively worse. I promise you, this isn’t a fun challenge. The brand names on your resume aren’t worth it. RUN before you’re a miserable carcass of a human, so under appreciated and burnt out that you can’t even find the energy to update your resume to get the heck out of here. It’s after midnight on a Friday night and I’m in tears, absolutely exhausted, writing this. I’ve been working here for over five years and am stagnant. Promotions don’t exist unless you’re an absolute suck up - and that’s not because of covid. Our company values do not exist and I’ve been hearing for years they’d be updated, but I couldn’t tell you a single one. We make a show of Diversity & Inclusion but every time I turn my head we’re hiring a white European man, so give it a rest.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Only worth it if you’re passionate

    May 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits (401K, health insurance, product) Summer Fridays

    Cons

    No work life balance Management Low PTO No room for growth because people at top don’t care Toxic

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Save yourself

    Mar 29, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vacation, multiple holidays, summer fridays

    Cons

    Poor management, no growth, lowest salaries in the business

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Procter and Gamble Days are gone! Welcome to Nickel and Dime

    Jul 8, 2019 - Supply Chain Planner in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly environment, Summer Fridays, Happy hour, Friendly people, casual dress code, food every now and then

    Cons

    This is not a place to build a career. Favoritism, promotions handed to same group of people. you are getting paid no where close to the market, if you work here please check same position in companies near by. Management is clueless. Foreigners being brought in on transfer Visa and giving management position to save money, no special skills required. I highly discourage professionals to apply here as the turnover is crazy. We had over 10 employees leave within the past few months and many more to come. They have no consideration to their employee needs to talent retention and then wonder why the company is suffering. HR will reply to this review asking to address my concerns with HR and Managers but unfortunately after we did a feedback focus group, nothing changed and pay is still poor. The increases don't cover cost of living and a lot of people can barely afford rent on that salary.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Sr. Manager

    Apr 13, 2018 - Senior Manager in Calabasas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beautiful office in Calabasas. Great portfolio of brands for those interested in beauty, specifically in the salon professional category. 1/2 day Summer Fridays and several paid vacation days.

    Cons

    Horrible options for digital asset management. I cannot believe we are going back to Sharepoint vs. something more efficient like Box or Dropbox. The hierarchical culture. Sub par employees managing to fail forward. Lack of passion or enthusiasm for the professionals we are supposed to serve. Corporate processes that make us followers vs. first to market. Managers that have conversation amnesia. HR doesn’t look out for the employee’s well being. Their role is to prevent the company from getting sued. Make sure to document everything even if things are going well for you.

    Continue reading
    27 people found this review helpful

    Coty Response

    Director, HR Strategic Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide such extensive feedback. In fact, you have addressed so many topics, unfortunately we cannot give the attention required in this format. Please speak with your manager about ways to incorporate your feedback into action. Your have many great ideas that can certainly help Coty develop as a market leader. You also noted a concern with HR's focus on employees. Employees are the connective-tissue at Coty & at the forefront of everything we do. If you are encountering experiences inconsistent with this statement, please reach out to your local HR member. Thank you!

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    RUN! DON'T HIDE!

    Mar 1, 2017 - Marketing Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ONLY pro's are summer Fridays and week off between Christmas and New Years.

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor. New CEO is nothing more than a fall guy for Chairman. He will be blamed for plumetting sales and will be fired albeit it is the chairman's mess. Brands are in a complete state of disaray. Stock is falling faster than the Dow in 2008. Company is an absolute disaster right now. HR people have quit. Layoffs just started in the US and of course nothing is happening in Europe due to tight labor laws. My entire department staff are seeking other employment. This is like witnessing a train wreckin slow motion.They have added many layers of VP's/SVP's/EVP's since aquisition but down at the bottom we are receiving no support. We are not building brands. Grey market is a joke. Our brands are flooded across discount retailers and websites that should not have our product. It is a shame what has happened to this company in the past 5 years.Now it is simply about pushing product to market to try to meet a financial number. Once a fabulous company it is in a complete state of disrepair.

    Continue reading
    34 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a place for smart people

    Dec 13, 2019 - Creative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and summer fridays.

    Cons

    Please note that HR has been asking people to leave positive reviews when they quit because there are so many bad ones. Please also note that because the environment is so bad, on the first/second week of employment, HR has had discussions with employees on their first impressions and asked for advice on how to fix problems. - Very junior digital/marketing team who are not being mentored - People who don't understand social/marketing/creative in very senior roles - Uninspired employees who don't care about making the work better - Very entitled employees who lack self awareness of skill sets - Very afraid to try new tactics and are stuck in old ways of doing things - Lack of awareness of what the brand is and very little understanding of what cutting edge brands are doing - Completely behind when it comes to digital/social marketing trends - there's no awareness or understanding of different platform products and paid media - There is NO strategy or an understanding of what strategy is - There are little-to-no briefs and the ones you'll receive have no useful information other than a mood board someone put together - Constant redirection of campaigns after work is complete because no one knows what they want - HIGH turnover - people quit left and right - Very toxic environment. - Very disgruntled, unhappy employees who openly discuss how they hate their jobs - Constant gas lighting - No room for growth or mentorship - Disorganized HR

    6 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Senior Management better get focused on the culture an.d organization or they won't have any employees left.

    May 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Huge potential with the portfolio of brands from Coty and P&G Summer Fridays

    Cons

    The merger has been a challenge for all employees from both Coty and P&G. In most departments, the Coty systems and approaches are 10+ years behind P&G. Unfortunate, culturally this is an acquisition, not a merger and the Coty leadership has little openness to. some of the progressive and strategic ideas from P&G. "That is not how we do it at Coty". Employees are receiving little or conflicting direction or support from management which continues to erode morale. Employees are working long hours in NY only to find a new direction the next day. It is all about the bottom line and there is no strategy or design analysis on how the work will get done with the people reduction. Some of the new leaders are puppets to Senior Management and will say or do whatever they need. HR seems to look the other way.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Coty Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Coty? Share Your Experiences

Coty logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Coty Photos

+ Add Photo
Coty photo of: COTY’s New York City offices under one roof
Coty photo of: At Coty sustainability is the ultimate driver of innovation
Coty photo of: #teamCoty UK celebrating Pride
Coty photo of: Reception
Coty photo of: World Blood Cancer Day
Coty photo of: CSR Ambassador
Coty photo of: Company Store
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Coty Job Seekers Also Viewed

Estée Lauder Companies Logo
Estée Lauder Companies

3.9

4,084 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,323 Coty reviews submitted anonymously by Coty employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Coty is right for you.