Country Cookin Reviews | Glassdoor

Country Cookin Reviews

Updated May 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Country Cookin CEO David Preston
David Preston
0 Ratings
  1. "Salad bar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Salad Bar Attendant 

    I have been working at Country Cookin part-time

    Pros

    Good leaders they really care

    Cons

    The Drama (that’s everywhere though)

    Country Cookin2019-02-19
  2. "Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Country Cookin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with your schedule, tips are nice

    Cons

    You do your job well you get to do others too

    Country Cookin2019-05-31
  3. "Not the worst first job, but could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Country Cookin part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reduced, sometimes free food; Relaxed management

    Cons

    Nepotism; Relaxed management; People don't understand what medium steaks look like

    Advice to Management

    While management is relaxed, it often means the floor coworkers are not always on the ball with things. I understand the want to keep staff around to minimize scheduling headaches, but all employees need to be held accountable at all times, especially the ones that got their job through nepotism.

    Country Cookin2019-05-13
  4. "Country Cookin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Country Cookin

    Pros

    Meeting new people every day

    Cons

    I don't get treated fairly

    Country Cookin2017-09-20
  5. "Overall I think this place is a good place to get a feel of what is like to working. A great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Madison Heights, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Country Cookin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a friendly environment and they always looked out for one another.

    Cons

    I did not get payed as much as I would have liked. I do have a car bill to pay and this job just wasn't doing it for me

    Advice to Management

    It is harder on high school kids to work during the weeks but please don't make us feel bad for only wanting to work weekends so we can keep decent grades

    Country Cookin2017-08-31
  6. "Server at Country Cookin'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Country Cookin part-time

    Pros

    Small company, all of the store's employees know and interact with each other, discounted food, opportunities to hold multiple roles, social environment

    Cons

    Favoritism, lack of organization sometimes, inconsistencies in customer traffic (heavy days/slow days), Little room for advancement, high employee turnover

    Advice to Management

    Treat all of the employees fairly and enforce rules consistently or not at all.

    Country Cookin2017-03-28
  7. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Hostess in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Country Cookin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun easy laid back job

    Cons

    Location of store, we had A LOT of always "unhappy" customers that always came back.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more professional about what goes on with co workers.

    Country Cookin2016-09-26
  8. "What you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Country Cookin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy and manageable, can be done by anyone, great place if you are looking for a job to pass the time.

    Cons

    Like most places, can be hassled by ignorant servers who don't understand the time it takes to cook a meal correctly

    Advice to Management

    While currently my wage is just above minimum, all the servers make far better money than I do, while their duties and responsibilities fall below mine on paper, though I don't have to talk to customers, which is always nice.

    Country Cookin2016-06-16
  9. "First job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Country Cookin

    Pros

    Such an amazing place to work. Great management, customers, and co workers. They promote within the company and are very flexible.

    Cons

    Not much, tips vary but that's any serving job

    Country Cookin2015-06-04
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Waitress 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Country Cookin

    Pros

    Great food, upper management is awesome, mostly good coworkers

    Cons

    Some immediate managers arn't great

    Country Cookin2015-04-29
Found 14 reviews