County of San Joaquin Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

County of San Joaquin Reviews

Updated Jan 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
County of San Joaquin CEO Manuel Lopez (no image)
Manuel Lopez
14 Ratings
  1. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at County of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, career oriented atmosphere

    Cons

    Union doesn't respect the managers.

    County of San Joaquin2018-09-02
  2. "The most underpaid workers possibly in the state."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Office Assistant in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of departments and school reimbursement program vacation time and benefits. Some very dedicated people who really want to help despite lack of resources and support.

    Cons

    Except for that big o shiny building downtown most infrastructure is falling apart and I myself have had issues getting appropriate equipment.Management is not unionized in most departments. This leads to a lot of conflict with Union employees. Very unclear chain of command in some departments. Questionable ethics. Very low pay for licensed positions. Very high turn around in certain departments due to poor management and higher pay other places. Conflict of interest doesn't seem to be a concern when addressed. Expectation that breaks are for people who aren't working as hard. Actually over 20 complaints filed with PERB in my department alone this year. RATS AND ROACHES IN SOME SITES.

    Continue reading
    County of San Joaquin2019-01-05
  3. "Frustrated on the daily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Eligibility Worker in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package (medical, dental and retirement)

    Cons

    Low pay, EXTREMELY disrespectful clients, NO support from the top executives, ZERO safety measures, poorly trained middle management, low moral and EXTREMELY high caseloads

    Continue reading
    County of San Joaquin2018-12-21
  4. "Agricultural Biologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Poor direction and communication from department heads. Entire staff is frustrated and moral is at all time low.

    County of San Joaquin2018-11-04
  5. "Good starting out job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Good place to start out and gain real experience for growth.

    Cons

    Could use some better, detailed trainings for medical staff.

    County of San Joaquin2018-08-15
  6. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Office Assistant in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My department (Aging and community Services) is very supportive of professional and personal development.

    Cons

    Contract has to be renewed every few years

    County of San Joaquin2018-07-14
  7. "Fantastic experience, each technician was able to explore the newest trend in tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Systems Analyst in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I would love to continue work with the department, it was by far the best place anyone could have worked at, to grow as a technician is one of the greatest benefits with the on going Microsoft training

    Cons

    I moved to England, I don’t know if I will find another company like ISD. My wife is English and she wanted to move to England

    Continue reading
    County of San Joaquin2018-05-23
  8. "The job is no longer a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overtime when you need it!

    Cons

    Rarely get time off. No regard for staff or staffing needs.

    Continue reading
    County of San Joaquin2018-05-12
  9. "A good environment with out of touch management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Systems Specialist in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at County of San Joaquin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Departments that have control over their organization without following a centralized approach do well, and are able to be flexible to their needs and improvements.

    Cons

    Highest management is out of touch and too political to service the people of the community. When political power and advancement is what drives your policies both the community and the employees will suffer.

    Continue reading
    County of San Joaquin2018-03-28
  10. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at County of San Joaquin part-time

    Pros

    Experience, prosecution, trial work, experience!

    Cons

    none none none none none

    County of San Joaquin2018-03-06
Found 46 reviews