County of Santa Barbara Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
County of Santa Barbara CEO Mona Miyasato (no image)
Mona Miyasato
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "great organization structure, value employees, great work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "It's a great work environment, everyone is really nice(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work place, great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Santa Barbara, CA

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it was fun and engaging, with less competitive environment

    Cons

    IT's very fun to work at

    Continue reading
    County of Santa Barbara2019-07-21
  2. "Questionable Practices"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great retirement if you can last.

    Cons

    It seems pockets of the director by the Local. Stay clear and watch what you say. Standing up for what is right and legal can come back and get you. The good employees, the ones who work hard for the good of the group don't last long.

    Continue reading
    County of Santa Barbara2020-02-18
  3. "Bad Central HR. New renovation will not solve the toxic culture."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People that I worked with was very nice and genuine. I highly recommend working other departments are fantastic, not Central HR.

    Cons

    People that I've worked left the organization, voluntary turnover, due to the toxic culture. High turnover in the organization, especially in one particular division. Not to mention, on my first day, one manager came up to my desk and said said quietly, you are talking someone's spot. I was very intimated and I will never forget.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-11-18
  4. "Management Needs A Total Makeover!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Santa Barbara, CA

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. You don't have to use your own car to commute to meetings.

    Cons

    The county is crawling with toxic dynamics, unlawful employment practices, and they DO NOT care about the welfare of their employees no matter how competent you are. People who stay in it become drones of the system and are generally super stressed, unhealthy, and unhappy.

    Continue reading
    County of Santa Barbara2019-09-21
  5. "Stable and secure job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at County of Santa Barbara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable, secure, pays well compared to other similar positions.

    Cons

    Can be a bit dull sometimes. It varies from department to department.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-07-03
  6. "High turnover in the Planning and Development Department should speak for itself."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at County of Santa Barbara full-time

    Pros

    The only pro is maybe the benefits, but even then, I have seen better benefits in the public sector. The location where the County admin building is, is great. The new director gives hope that the Planning and Development department can be salvaged.

    Cons

    If I could pick the County's motto, it would be, "that's the way we've always done it". Outdated systems and processes prevent the success and prosperity of this department to succeed. Management is extremely unprofessional and does not care about their team. They are unwilling to take suggestions for process improvement, even though they ask for suggestions. It's basically a trap. Management thinks they want ambitious people who are out to bring this department into the 21st century, but they are really looking for mindless robots to shuffle paper. There are cliques and supervisors play favorites. They are unsupportive and lack basic mentoring and coaching skills. There is no onboarding process. They throw you into the wolves and only tell you when you're doing something wrong. (Which you are bound to do since the processes are extremely convoluted and they don't give you training). Management is unable to give direct feedback or direction; everything coming from management is ambiguous and unhelpful. Everyone's ego is too big. There are too many people who have been here for too long and don't care about making new people feel welcome. There is no sense of a team in this department. It's every man for himself. There is VERY high turnover in this department.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-06-18
  7. "Ok, but the benefits are not that great"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at County of Santa Barbara full-time

    Pros

    Insurance free for employees

    Cons

    Insurance too expensive if you have a family.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-05-09
  8. "Got laid off after working for county of SB for 11 years."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free insurance for the employee.

    Cons

    Health insurance way too expensive for family’s.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-04-18
  9. "Great people, big bureaucracy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Santa Barbara, CA

    I have been working at County of Santa Barbara full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people to work with, and interesting work in a lovely setting.

    Cons

    The system is based on a pretty rigid bureaucracy, perhaps necessarily.

    County of Santa Barbara2019-04-06
  10. "Finance Office Professional"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at County of Santa Barbara part-time

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, really nice people.

    Cons

    Not that many cons, really like the work!

    County of Santa Barbara2018-12-27
Found 61 reviews