County of Ventura, California Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
County of Ventura, California County Executive Officer Michael Powers (no image)
Michael Powers
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Job Great Benefits"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Deputy Sheriff in Ventura, CA

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great hours, lifelong memories

    Cons

    None off the top of my head

    County of Ventura, California2020-04-28
  2. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are very good but only if you use the county system.

    Cons

    Unrealistic productivity that encourages people to work slower instead of smarter.

    County of Ventura, California2020-05-05
  3. "Wonderful"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Insurance, 401K, Job security, Room to grow..

    Cons

    Politics, clique-y environment, high caseloads..

    County of Ventura, California2020-03-01
  4. "Not for the mature"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about working at the county was the pay. they pay right and pay fair. Work constantly changing and revising.

    Cons

    Big brother is watching. Constant pressure from management. High school atmosphere. Dont stick your neck out here, it will get chopped off.

    Continue reading
    County of Ventura, California2020-02-21
  5. "No room for growth."

    3.0
    Current Employee - Telecommunications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time

    Pros

    There is job stability and pension.

    Cons

    There is no room for growth unless someone retires or quits.

    County of Ventura, California2019-11-09
  6. "An employer who cares about and empowers employees and encourages work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personnel ANalyst in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    More than any incentive, working for the County of Ventura is all about the difference you KNOW you're making in the lives of the people who live in this community. No matter if you feel it on the front lines or you work more "behind the scenes" in administration or something else, YOU ARE IMPROVING YOUR COMMUNITY! I love that my work has meaning and the people whose lives I affect live in my community! I, of course, must mention the salary increase of 5% after working 6 months in a new position and then another 5% (sometimes more) every year after that. The benefits of a pension, great health plans and educational incentives don't hurt either! Every manager (with one exception) I've had over 10 years of employment with the county has empowered me to go for promotions, has allowed me to take various training to improve my skills and really helped set me up for success in whatever work I am doing. Not to mention, the ability to have work-life balance in any position is not to be taken for granted. There is even a "Work-Life" program within the county that encourages the same! Public service often has a bad rap but the County of Ventura really is, as the new employee orientation facilitator said, the "Nordstrom of public service"!

    Cons

    Some downsides to working at the county is that there are some employees who are just jaded and fit all the negative stereotypes of a public service employee. They don't want to do anymore than they have to and don't want to learn anything new. That can be very frustrating especially when they have property rights to their positions. They aren't the majority of employees so that's good.

    County of Ventura, California2019-09-20
  7. "Great Career Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for career advancement.

    Cons

    Once you are maxed out in compensatory rate, you cannot expect any more raises.

    Continue reading
    County of Ventura, California2019-09-05
  8. "HSA where career, community and cause converge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Manager in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Impactful public service Learning and growth opportunities Benefits and pay

    Cons

    No bonuses Minimal perks Hiring, testing, selection and background process is more complicated and takes longer than private sector

    Continue reading
    County of Ventura, California2019-07-08
  9. "Some People Are Worth Working For, Others Are NOT! Lol"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot better than working at fast food or walmart in my opinion, ive been here for 4 years. Flexible schedules, some clients are very nice and fun to be around, 12.75 hr in ventura county which is higher than minimum wage. Some clients are actually very easy going and APPRECIATE the work you do, and dont sexually harass you (mainly male clients do this).

    Cons

    No further opportunities or raises. Glass ceiling job. They do not care if you get sexually harassed by male clients they will continue to let them have female care givers and just move them on to the next one, some clients will be qualified for 3 hours of cleaning but expect you to clean every single day 24/7 and work you super hard doing unauthorized amounts of cleaning and hard labor in stead of taking them to the store and doing the other things that they are authorized for. You have to stay away from people like that!!! Not all clients are like that. Ive encountered a lot of racist (old) people. Ive been sexually harassed A LOT being 22 and female. These people get LONELY. One 70 y/o male client told me that I should "have more sex" and would watch porn with me in the room. I had to quit he was a total creep. 16 hours of sick pay each year per client. Some people are ver emotionally unstable.

    Continue reading
    County of Ventura, California2019-07-02
  10. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Aide II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at County of Ventura, California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, and full time

    Cons

    Some of the politics in the workforce

    County of Ventura, California2019-07-02
Found 64 reviews