Coupa Software Inc Employee Reviews | Glassdoor

Coupa Software Inc Reviews

Updated March 5, 2017
180 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Coupa Software Inc CEO Rob Bernshteyn
Rob Bernshteyn
155 Ratings

180 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Focus on customer success - GREAT product (in 20 reviews)

  • Great work life balance especially in the engineering organization (I've seen 20 years of silicon valley work at 1/2 dozen startups) (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/Life balance can be a struggle at times (in 7 reviews)

  • sometimes experiencing some growing pains (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "Great growing company, strong leadership, profound commitment and lovely people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune (India)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Unbelievable technology. Future proof in building, organically across the entire full suite. Inspiring culture. Everyone here is running a million miles an hour for the same purpose..success.
    Extremely smart people on the product teams
    Great client roster and references
    Great CEO who understands the space and can clearly communicate the vision
    Coupa focuses on giving teams at all levels the opportunity to take risks, explore new ideas and to take the initiative to shape our own destinies and be successful.

    Cons

    If you seek an environment to build a personal empire and play politics with other functions and colleagues, Coupa is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Let's not let our great success and future goals get to our heads. Stay humble- and listen to your people (your teams, and your incumbent customers alike).

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Sep 26, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’re all definitely working hard and smart to ensure success with customers, employees, and partners! When they’re all successful, so is Coupa!


  2. "Couldn't get much better!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time

    Pros

    People are great, platform is great and if you perform you have the opportunity for advancement either vertically or horizontally into a new role. Solid exec staff that is assertive but not arrogant, all while being humble. They have managed to keep the culture amazing even though growth has been rapid.

    If you have a chance to work here do not pass it up, on top of everything the platform/service is something every company in the world needs and drives a real, believable ROI...as long as we continue to execute he sky is the limit.

    Cons

    No cons, just continue to monitor culture as we grow, done a great job so far!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement lack. Could be more defined

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – EVP People

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (12)

    "Bridled by process, and inter-departmental politics."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic product, fantastic benefits, cutting edge leader within the industry. It's possibly the best product I've had the privilege to sell in my career to date.

    Cons

    Remote employees are disconnected from the mothership. Sales ops is a joke, takes days to receive approval on a quote for your customer/prospect even if there's no discount requiring approval.

    Unfortunately, Coupa is a small company pretending to be a large one. They've riddled themselves with process, workflow and approval, and the basics of sales is difficult to accomplish.

    Micro Management within sales is an ongoing issue. High turnover here, not because the product doesn't work or sell, it's because leadership wants to be involved in EVERY deal, and often muddies up the sales process.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership should be here to support their teams. Provide support when asked to, and remove hurdles within the process when brought to your attention. Right now, leadership is creating hurdles and more process, making it difficult to provide what our customers and prospects expect from us.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – EVP People

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree with you that we have a fantastic product and benefits! There are inevitable growing pains when a smaller company is scaling at the rate which we currently are ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people, Great environment, awesome perks (FULLY stocked fridge).

    Cons

    Unless you live in San Mateo, Commute is kind of a pain. They do have a Caltrain shuttle, though, so they are public transport accessible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – EVP People

    Thanks for your review!


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Coupa Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coupa Software Inc (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great compensation and company provides all kinds of food and even caters lunch once a week.

    Cons

    Employees can lose sight of just how beneficial the product is because as support, only the negative feedback is received.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your feedback. You’ve brought up an interesting point in your “Cons” section that will be brought to the attention of the Technical Support leadership team. We are a leader in the spend ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in San Mateo, CA
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time

    Pros

    Destined for greatness. Incredible company.

    Cons

    Keep focused on the values and the vision.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Nov 7, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate it and will relay the compliment to our management team.


  9. Helpful (8)

    "Good company, not loyal to those who've been there"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits; Unlimited PTO for Salary, Great medical for individuals!

    Cons

    Management a bit full of themselves. If a person is moved into the incorrect role, little vision is seen where they can be better utilized and are instead just let go. No loyalty to long standing employees (2 plus years at Coupa is very much veteran status).

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you keep aware of areas that need good people and don't just remove those who are productive and useful just because you put them in the wrong position.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Nov 9, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. At Coupa, we encourage our employees to be open and express themselves. In fact, we think of our company as a platform for one’s self-expression ... More


  10. Helpful (8)

    "Working in Coupa"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Operations in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coupa Software Inc (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very bright, hardworking and thoughtful people. There is a lot of free food (with a fair amount of junk food). The benefits are good.

    Cons

    The vacation is intentionally marketed by the Company as unlimited so that on being fired people, do not get pay for vacation that has not been taken. The work pressure is such that people do not often avail of enough - leave alone a lot of vacation.

    Staff are forced to be available round the clock - you are rarely 'really' off. The pace of work that is unsustainable, people are burned and thrown out after they are ground down or if they are not in managements good books. The inverted pyramid shown in all hands, which supposedly represents the company, is a very funny lie only believed in by management. I have talked to people who also think its a ridiculous overworked joke.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thank you for writing this review after your time at Coupa. We recognize and truly appreciate the valiant efforts of our employees and their relentless focus on Ensuring Customer Success. It's ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic environment with lots of positivity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager
    Current Employee - Product Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The communication within the company is outstanding, and people trust the individuals they work with, regardless of team or title. It's an environment where if you have a question or comment, someone will listen and help guide you in the right decision. The company doesn't force their product on to their clients, but rather have created a product that truly is the best solution and clients have great - this makes it easy to have a winning culture.

    Cons

    Coupa is a growing international company, where people are based in multiple cities throughout the US and world. Although communication is good for the most part, it's generally easier to be in the same place. There are tons of projects happening at once, so you'll need to take the extra steps to ensure you know the full scope of what you're working on, otherwise it may cause issues.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    Oct 18, 2016 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your feedback! At Coupa, we promote companywide communication to keep everything transparent because communication is the key to our success! Keep taking extra steps or asking questions to ... More



Showing 180 of 183 reviews
Reset Filters