Covelo Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Covelo Group Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Covelo Group Owner David Zowine (no image)
David Zowine
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall great group of individuals and as a former employee I can say experience built from MGA progresses me further into my current position(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great opportunity to get experience(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I’ll piggyback off of the other 1-2 stars reviews because while they’re harsh, they hit the nail on the head for Covelo/MGA Healthcare(in 13 reviews)

  • "No PTO and high cost for insurance (company does not contribute and will automatically claim you turned down insurance)(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Gardena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing managers - Always offering help - Team atmosphere

    Cons

    - nothing bad to say

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2019-12-04

    Covelo Group Response

    December 5, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We continually strive to make MGA a great place to work. We'll pass these comments on to Jeff.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Could be so much more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is an easy foot in the door the agency recruitment. It will give you the basic ropes of how to manage time, high call volume and healthcare industry knowledge. The people there are good people and I genuinely enjoyed working with almost everyone. Despite the cons listed below, there are no hard feelings towards any individuals since they are all good and enjoyable people. Unfortunately, the business practices and way things are run push people away from wanting to stay long term.

    Cons

    Overall growth is severely limited. You can maybe work your way up into a talent manager role but the company only has so much business and bandwidth to allow for more groups to be up and coming. On the recruitment side there is no growth since the commission structure was slashed to something well below market standard in 2020. Despite good performance, the company cares way more about tracking KPI's. You can have the highest placement ratio or gross profit but if you are not logging or making the amount of calls/appointments management asks for, they will micromanage you until you're either let go or quit. There are little to no amenities or work perks. No company outings, few holidays observed, no flexibility in schedule/work from home, no office space snacks or drinks, no cell phone stipend even though they will expect you to be on call and accessible 24/7, the worst healthcare benefits I have ever seen. You will accrue PTO at a decent rate but taking time off is discouraged and there is not a clear plan in place for coworkers to take over your responsibilities while you are gone which means you stand a high chance to lose money while your book of business stagnates. Management is the biggest problem here. The upper management is very disconnected from how the recruiters feel and act. They expect the world from you and will give you very little in return. The recruiters are the ones actually bringing profit into the company yet they have almost no voice when it comes to the way recruitment is ran/performed. All upper management has been in their roles for many years and new managers were put into place in October of 2018. These new managers were up and coming recruiters who were put into manager roles well before they were ready to lead a team. In the time I was there, the new talent manager's teams shrunk drastically from both people quitting due to frustration and people being laid off (turnover is a massive problem at this company).

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2020-03-25

    Covelo Group Response

    March 26, 2020Marketing Manager

    We're sorry to hear your experience at Covelo was not a positive one. We take this kind of feedback seriously and will share it with the management team.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good company for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covelo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they are open to hiring without previous experience

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility or lateral movement. Very poor communication between the office and the corporate level, It sometime seems as if the corporate office has no idea how the business runs out of the office. High turnover rate of internal employees. Somewhat out dated work practices/amenities when compared to what I have seen from other companies (time off, no further education contributions, non flexible work hours/days, office amenities, company sponsored events) Overall it is a good place to work if you are trying to get professional experience but it is not somewhere where you can make a career out of it. Poor implementation of new practices or procedures leading to confusion among employees.compensation structure in October 2018 leading to competitive pay in the area only to have it drastically reduced in January 2020 with only a few months notice and no real explanation as to why.

    Covelo Group2020-03-21

    Covelo Group Response

    March 23, 2020Marketing Manager

    We're sorry to hear this has been your experience. At Covelo, we strive to create an environment that promotes professional growth for all employees. If you'd like to discuss further, please reach out to HR@covelogroup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Nepotism and Micromanagment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Met some awesome people who became friends. -The hired me with zero experience. If you have none, come in and get a year and leave. They'll hire you as long as you have a pulse and like the same stuff they like.

    Cons

    Majority of the managers went to high school and have been at the company for 8+ years or whatever. They have zero ambition to advance their careers forward, and it is because of this that there is no career growth for anyone else. Because manager is the limit and they are not going to go anywhere else. They enjoy the cushy lifestyle of doing nothing and making money doing it. If they don't like you, for whatever arbitrary reason, they will basically make life suck until you decide to leave, rather than try and help you along in your career. They will tell you how to be a terrible recruiter/person by showing you the same treatment. They either micromanage or don't manage at all. The turnover rate is insane, people leave in bunches, and management can't figure out why people would want to leave for more money.

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2020-03-31

    Covelo Group Response

    April 1, 2020Marketing Manager

    At Covelo, we strive to create clear career paths for our recruiting teams. Our team is committed to continually improving and we appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unsatisfactory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’ll meet some great people Decent industry experience Close to Bart/Muni

    Cons

    I’ll piggyback off of the other 1-2 stars reviews because while they’re harsh, they hit the nail on the head for Covelo/MGA Healthcare. Training: All training is essentially OTJ. New hires are given scripts and told to call through an excel file with hundreds of names (most of which have already asked us to stop calling them). Management: Expectations are consistently unrealistic. KPIs are measured scrutinously, regardless of your performance or contribution to the business. When senior leadership has to continually reiterate, “Don’t worry, this isn’t micromanagement,” it just might be micromanagement. Career advancement: Leadership is incestuous. The office heads grew up together and eat/sleep/breathe Covelo. This leaves minimal room to grow at the company. Commission: This is why most of us enter the business of recruiting. It can be lucrative and you can easily achieve financial freedom within one or two years. Just not at Covelo. Their commission structure is one of the worst in the market. Do your research, don’t be afraid to request their commission breakdown and see for yourself. Resources: Nearly as archaic as upper management’s view on recruiting. Perks: If you consider wearing jeans to work a perk, then sure. Outside of that, there are virtually none. No team outings, no schedule flexibility, no stipends, no work from home days. You can dedicate 5 years to the company and they still won’t trust you enough to perform away from the office. Day to Day: What they won’t tell you during the interview process is that chances are, when bandwidth gets spread thin, you’ll end up recruiting custodians - don’t worry, they work in hospitals so it falls under healthcare. Keep this in mind if you’re interested in joining a staffing firm targeting high caliber talent. Culture: Recruiters who’ve spent 2+ years at the company will have witnessed 35+ people quit or get fired. There are reasons for this. You’ll be expected to hit the phones during your lunch breaks and eat at your desk. This probably wouldn’t be so bad because recruiting is a grind culture, but the least you could do is pay us appropriately or cut us some slack in other areas. There’s no financial incentive in working this hard. If you’re gone for more than 15 minutes, your manager will likely blow up your phone (tenured recruiters as well).

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2020-03-27

    Covelo Group Response

    April 1, 2020Marketing Manager

    We're disappointed to hear this was your experience as your situation is counter to our culture. At Covelo, we remain committed to accelerating growth for both our employees and clients. We'll be sure to share your feedback with our Human Resources department.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager 

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary, helping families in need

    Cons

    No transparency and communication throughout the company regarding any changes in process and growth Management is a group of men who went to school together with a fraternity mindset. Their qualifications are questionable and most of the time, they are having meetings for meetings while on their phone or go out of the office to meet with clients, so basically paid to do nothing beneficial. It is almost impossible to request time off, and they are very against taking lunches/breaks with no regard for their employee's well-being. They expect you to come in early and work late and if you don't, favoritism will catch the best of you and you will slowly be outcasted

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2020-01-23

    Covelo Group Response

    January 23, 2020Marketing Manager

    We're sorry to hear this has been your experience. We take these concerns seriously and would like to better understand. Please reach out to us at customerservice@mgahealthcare.com if you'd like to speak to human resources and our management team.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company to work for. Excellent management and coworkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SLP in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great coworkers, room for growth, you feel appreciated.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2019-10-28

    Covelo Group Response

    October 28, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We hope you continue to have a great experience with MGA.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Education was excellent and management was wonderful.

    Cons

    No negatives to speak of

    Covelo Group2019-10-16

    Covelo Group Response

    October 16, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! Good luck in your future​ endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. "Pretty good work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The recruiters do try to take care of the nurses. When I was done with my shift, I was done...no call-ins or extra time expected.

    Cons

    The pay. Sooo. Low. Especially for some of the work environments.

    Covelo Group2019-07-19

    Covelo Group Response

    July 22, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We hear your concerns regarding compensation and encourage you to reach out to our team directly if you'd like to discuss further at mgacares@mgahomecare.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covelo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young and energetic colleagues Great office location close to Bart

    Cons

    No transparency and communication throughout the company regarding movement, changes in processes, growth, compensation, etc. Management is made up of guys that went to high school together and only lookout for each other, the rest of management is Not competent or qualified for the job. All are either in meaningless ‘meetings’ with each other and on their cell phones all day or out of the office “meeting with clients”. They get paid a lot to do nothing. Pay is low and asking for time off is like pulling teeth. This company expects you to work hard with little to no benefits, terrible pay, eat at your desk mentality (expected to work during your lunch break), with no regard to the employees’ health and well being. On call is a nightmare! Dirty office full of broken chairs, electronics, scattered paperwork. People at the front don’t know how to greet our employees or let you know when your appointment has shown up. Micro-managing of call logs

    Continue reading
    Covelo Group2019-07-26

    Covelo Group Response

    July 29, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We take your concerns seriously and have escalated this to our management team for further review. Please reach out to us directly at customerservice@mgahealthcare.com to speak to our leadership team.

    Continue reading
Found 96 reviews