Covenant Health Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Covenant Health Canada Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Covenant Health Canada CEO R. Patrick Dumelie
R. Patrick Dumelie
14 Ratings
  1. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Covenant Health Canada

    Pros

    Small familiar hospital,feels like family

    Cons

    Expensive parking, unable to work 8 hour shifts on some units when casual

    Covenant Health Canada2016-07-12
  2. "Community Envrionment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Covenant Health Canada

      Pros

      -Community Environment -Decent benefits packages are available -Physical, Emotional and Spiritual supports available -Electronic job board and HR system -Friendly staff

      Cons

      Difficult to transfer between this organization and other health care organization. Smaller company so less options for internal transfers. HR rules are not the most flexible and tend to be very black and white.

      Covenant Health Canada2016-07-21
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Edmonton, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Covenant Health Canada full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent pay for an admin If you are non-union, you get 6 flexible days off in addition to vacation time Fun people to work with Opportunity to move up or change departments

      Cons

      Don't always agree with all the policies but hard to change due to the Catholic faith with which some policies are created Don't always get salary bumps if there's no money in the budget (standard for healthcare though)

      Covenant Health Canada2016-03-15
    • "Lab"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Covenant Health Canada

      Pros

      The company vision revolved around the individual

      Cons

      Very limited opportunity for growth Education opportunity with CLiC are a joke compared to its big Brother AHS's My Learning Link

      Covenant Health Canada2016-03-21
    • "Unionized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Covenant Health Canada full-time

      Pros

      union protect workers, very organized, good orientation, decent wages, many co-workers are long time employees

      Cons

      supervisors would take advantage of you if you do not know your union terms

      Covenant Health Canada2016-01-27
    • "Therapy Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Covenant Health Canada

      Pros

      The other employees are great!

      Cons

      There is a definite lack of employee motivation due to incompetent management, and lack of transparency.

      Advice to Management

      Don't just hear what employees say, listen to them. We want to make our workplace better for the patients.

      Covenant Health Canada2016-01-21
    • "Nursing assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nursing Attendant (Non-Cert) in Edmonton, AB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Covenant Health Canada

      Pros

      I have a compassion to the resident, they reminds my parents and grandparents The basic pay I received

      Cons

      POC not updated sometimes new employee does not want to cooperate

      Advice to Management

      hire new employee eligible to work not because they have a profession way back home. New employee should have a compassion and patience to the resident

      Covenant Health Canada2015-09-24
    • "Covenant Health"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Covenant Health Canada part-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with for the most part. Open to new ideas. Give ownership and independence to work requirements. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Not very insightful about fund development initiatives. Re-organization is common place. Hard to move around depending on position.

      Covenant Health Canada2015-07-22
    • "Exciting work with children ages between 14 month to 12 year old"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Health Care Aide in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Covenant Health Canada full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The children give me extraordinary satisfaction when they are learning something new. The feedback from them is instantly and direct which is rewarding to improve or to be proud about my job. I had the experience working with different group of ages.

      Cons

      I was not using all my skills that I was trained and in the health services I had not careers opportunity to improve in different aspect or rotate in the manage for other categories for seniors needs apart from that I had no benefits at all.

      Covenant Health Canada2015-02-23
    • Helpful (5)

      "I enjoyed the work and made new and lasting friendships with colleagues however, the senior management was abusive."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Edmonton, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Covenant Health Canada full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The front line caregivers were incredible and genuinely cared about their patients and residents. Most of my colleagues were great to work with. I enjoyed the work I was doing.

      Cons

      Senior Management was not only unsupportive of their staff but often times verbally abusive, not the way to increase employee engagement which was their goal. The top three complaints were - staff didn't have the tools to effectively do their jobs, little or no training and favouritism. Incompetence promoted incompetence.

      Advice to Management

      Support your employees and listen to their ideas and feedback, walk the talk when it comes to employee engagement and promote people with the necessary skills, not the schmoozers. As for the CEO - grow a spine, stop letting the CFO run the show.

      Covenant Health Canada2014-05-02
    Found 40 reviews