Covenant Health (Tennessee) Reviews | Glassdoor

Covenant Health (Tennessee) Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 182 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Jim Vandersteeg
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay, working short staffed frequently(in 14 reviews)

  • "We staff the nursing home even though our med-surg floor is already short staffed and drowning(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and great benefits.

    Cons

    Occasional hoops to jump through to get simple tasks complete.

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2018-11-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Loving it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Nurse Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Health (Tennessee) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've just started working here, and I love it already. My floor is like a big family basically, and the customer satisfaction is excellent.

    Cons

    Expensive lunches, bad parking situation

    Advice to Management

    Offer bonus pay, shift diff more

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-02-18
  3. "The fellow employees make it work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician in Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large organization so has some economies of scale

    Cons

    Little respect for physicians. Employees are asked to do more and more.

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-07-15
  4. "Team Mates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Hours Team Mates Group Project

    Cons

    Lack of structure poor increases

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-07-03
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Health (Tennessee) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Very busy, but that can be a good thing too

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-06-18
  6. "Fort Sanders Regional Medical Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great Benefits! Open door policy with management. The company care about the community!

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-06-13
  7. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits. They match up to 6% of your 401K contributions which is more than most in the area. Career opportunities in that jobs are posted internally before they are sent to the outside, and since it is such a large conglomerate of health care services, there are plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    It is such a large company, I have never felt the Human Resources department has the individual employees best interests in mind. It is more of a "politically correct" attitude and what is best for the company as a whole. While understandable, it is frustrating and disappointing when an employee has an issue.

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-06-11
  8. "Need physician liaison between management and physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician in Knoxville, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Large system

    Cons

    Management out of touch with physician practices at the ground level. There is no physician liaison with management. Management hands down directives in a disorganized way in a manner that lacks vision and direction. There is no clear manner in which management seeks to understand how to reduce the burden of the EMR on physicians. The only docs to get scribes work in the ER and I do not think they are even Covenant employees.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a physician liaison like other successful systems and that will Increase physician retention 2) make a greater effort to Understand physician needs and better effort to retain physician struggling with your Cerner EMR by Hutu g scribes

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-06-23
  9. "Varies by department employed within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Medical Coder in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits cover all expenses if using covenant facility. Flex hours

    Cons

    IT department cannot support changes

    Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-06-02
  10. "Very fair employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Covenant Health (Tennessee) full-time

      Pros

      They have always been very upfront and a fair employer

      Cons

      Competitive but not the highest payer in my job field

      Covenant Health (Tennessee)2019-05-30
    Found 182 reviews