Covenant HealthCare Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Covenant HealthCare President, CEO, and Chief Administrative Officer Spence Maidlow
Spence Maidlow
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-workers - always worked as a team(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great place love it,friendly staff(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Short staffed often and mandated overtime occasionally(in 6 reviews)

  • "Under paid in all areas compared to other area hospitals(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great job

      Apr 15, 2021 - Lab Assistant in Lubbock, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work environment, supper helpful coworkers , great on the job training

      Cons

      Very fast passed work environment, little room for error

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Rewarding at times; Undesirable Salary

      Feb 23, 2021 - Health Unit Coordinator in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Without a doubt, being of service to patients and their loved ones has its rewards. I met and worked alongside some great people over the years. The gratification one gets working with a team that gets things done. There were nights, days I walked away thinking, "We did that!"

      Cons

      The Health Unit Coordinator salary isn't/wasn't great. (they allegedly increased the salary in 2020.) Unless you want to be a RN, there isn't much opportunity for advancement, especially for African American, blacks, etc. I obtained my bachelor's in Marketing with a minor in Management, and after 13 years of service, no one deemed it worthy. They were happy to keep me as a HUC, aka, a Unit Secretary. I worked as a HUC for nearly 14 years and was skilled at it. New hires with less experience made only a few cents to a dollar less. They did away with 12hr shifts for the HUCs. Therefore, HUCs are working with RNs and CNAs that are still privy to 12hr/3d per week shifts, while they work 8hr/5d per week. For most, a 3 day work week is a perk, but unfortunately they snatched it away on most units. Few bonuses.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      review

      May 6, 2021 - Nurse Practitioner in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of flexibility

      Cons

      The location is not ideal

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a job

      Apr 30, 2021 - Phlebotomist in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great team dynamic, benefits aren't bad.

      Cons

      Company prides itself on being the low end of the pay scale.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Read the "cons" - many departments are not staffed well - you will be worked like a dog!

      Nov 23, 2020 - Imaging and Diagnostics Technologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have some really great people here

      Cons

      Lack of staff. Lack of concern from upper management. Lack of communication from management to staff. There is not a union here, so if you are up for a promotion or a lateral move and you are a good employee - it won't matter if your boss is friend's with other people with less experience. The pay for I & D, is average - there are other hospitals in the area that pay much better. There are not enough staff members to do the amount of work expected by upper management. This place is probably not a good fit for those getting closer to retirement years / age just because of the fast pace.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great facility for patients and staff

      Dec 30, 2020 - NCA in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I currently work resource as a nursing aide and I have been to every med-surge and ICU at Cooper and Harrison campuses as well as the rehab facility at Mackinaw. I also have been in Pediatrics and the RNICU. In each of these areas I could count on one hand the issues I have had with other staff in the year and a half I have worked at Covenant. I plan to stay after obtaining my nursing degree as well because I feel very supported and I enjoy going to work. The patients also routinely comment on how they could never go to any other hospital. Self-scheduling is very flexible and easy.

      Cons

      Double rooms can get very hard to work with and it compounds a lot of issues for patients and staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Medical staff

      Apr 27, 2021 - Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers worked well as a team!

      Cons

      Management poor, terrible orientation, little to no communication with entire staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      Mar 29, 2021 - Medical Scribe in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful people to work with. Flexible schedule.

      Cons

      The pay could be better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Prides themselves on being on lower end of wages

      Apr 17, 2021 - Phlebotomist in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits, diverse employment opportunities

      Cons

      Low wages, and poor bonuses,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Mar 15, 2021 - Registration Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome teamwork and company to work for

      Cons

      No cons from my perspective

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Covenant HealthCare Job Seekers

    Physician, Hospitalist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Covenant HealthCare? Share Your Experiences

    Covenant HealthCare logo
    or