Covenant Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Covenant Transportation Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Covenant Transportation Chairman, President, and CEO David R. Parker
David R. Parker
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging, fast environment, good pay, puzzles, good coworkers(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great pay, home weekly and good attitudes for the most part(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not to mention, the title as a Fleet Manager might as well be "Glorified Secretary(in 8 reviews)

  • "The dispatchers don't give a crap about the drivers or their families(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programming in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starter company with lots of benefits.

    Cons

    No guarantees for exact miles or loads.

    Covenant Transportation2020-01-31

    Covenant Transportation Response

    February 6, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the 5-star rating!

    Continue reading
  2. "Samuel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Fontana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Manager, Trucks, Dispatcher, Shop, Locations

    Cons

    Management, Money, Trainers, Teams, Orientation

    Covenant Transportation2020-03-17
  3. "Could be much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Team Driver in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a difficult company to get started in because recruiters are just securing their own financial stability. Decent equipment. Communication isnt great but it is far from bad. Have yet to experience forced dispatch. They have the accounts to keep you moving.

    Cons

    Dont expect to make money as a truck driver here, what ever salaries you find on their sites or told by a recruiter take 30%-50% off. To make the most money you will have zero home time, pushing your 70 to the max. Depending on your W-4, allowances, and benefit elections; after taxes you will be making $600-$900/week all dependent to how long you're waiting for live load/unloads

    Covenant Transportation2020-03-27
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Chattanooga, TN
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job is both challenging and rewarding, and you can feel the impact you have on both the drivers and customers if you do a good job. The industry is fast paced and solving the puzzles it presents is fun. On the whole, the people on the floor are fun to work with. I’d work here again if the opportunity presented itself.

    Cons

    -Management. There is a huge disconnect between management and the rest of the ops floor, and at times you can feel undervalued and like your growth and advancement isn’t important -Pay. There are many other carriers that will pay a significant amount more to perform the same job. -Talent. Covenant doesn’t prioritize hiring experienced people in the industry and doesn’t value training them properly, so they end up with many under qualified and under trained people on the floor, which has a huge trickle down effect.

    Covenant Transportation2020-02-28

    Covenant Transportation Response

    March 3, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Feedback like yours is essential to evaluating and improving the employee experience. If you would like to discuss any of this in further detail, please feel free to reach out to us at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com or call 423-463-3292.

    Continue reading
  5. "Could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Covenant Transportation

    Pros

    Good. ( not great) pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Dispatch and csr's don't do a very good job, they get paid, they don't care if you do.

    Continue reading
    Covenant Transportation2020-02-28

    Covenant Transportation Response

    March 3, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Please know we read every review and use these to make improvements. If you would like to speak further, please reach out to us at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com or call 423-463-3292.

    Continue reading
  6. "VERY dishonest! They steal from you while hiding behind a Religeous facade."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Team Driver in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is master of deception

    Cons

    Much Too Numerous to Write

    Continue reading
    Covenant Transportation2020-03-10

    Covenant Transportation Response

    March 10, 2020Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. What you have described does not at all align with our values, and we regret that you had a negative experience. We would like to hear more about what happened so we can further understand and make improvements for our Drivers. Please reach out to us at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com or call 423-463-3292.

    Continue reading
  7. "Overall Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Retention 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of change happening and exciting innovation

    Cons

    Economy greatly affects the business

    Covenant Transportation2020-01-17

    Covenant Transportation Response

    January 22, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the 5 star rating and for taking the time to leave your feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covenant Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a single good thing about this company

    Cons

    There are so many to list it is hard to find a spot, I guess the best thing to mention is they do not pay what they promise, on average you can expect to make $400 a week if you're lucky most weeks, over a month I only made $900 (before taxes) to put it into perspective. They rather have people sitting than getting miles to make money. When you mention anything to them they treat you like you don't matter and don't know what you're talking about, even if you have proof they try and undermine it. The list goes on and on, but just do yourself a favor and stay away. I truly do not recommend this company to anyone, stay far away.

    Covenant Transportation2020-02-17

    Covenant Transportation Response

    February 21, 2020Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. What you have described does not at all align with our values or our average rate of pay, especially our Driver Trainers. We regret that you are having a negative experience, and would like to hear more about what is going on so we can further understand and make improvements for you. Please reach out to us at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com or call 423-463-3292.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver 

    I worked at Covenant Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of miles. Good pay if your a team driver. Dispatch is okay. Safety staff is okay. By the book with elogs

    Cons

    Little to no pay if not teamed. Need hazmat endorsement. Force dispatch. Rules for off duty drive are a bit odd

    Covenant Transportation2020-01-09

    Covenant Transportation Response

    January 22, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our Drivers’ safety and satisfaction are always our top priorities! We would be happy to hear what we could have done to earn 5 stars! Feel free to contact us directly at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com or 423-463-3292.

    Continue reading
  10. "Toxic work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covenant Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent starting pay for the industry; Bonuses based on company performance per quarter, although they were beginning to be dramatically cut back when I left the company

    Cons

    Toxic work culture where we are instructed to lie to customers and drivers and anyone is subject to termination for any random reason in order to "make examples that you're lucky to be here"

    Continue reading
    Covenant Transportation2019-10-30

    Covenant Transportation Response

    October 30, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret that you were not satisfied with your experience with us. We do not discuss specific situations via social platforms, but we would be happy to speak with you directly about why you feel this way. Feel free to contact us directly by calling 423-463-3292 or via email at ctsfeedbackservices@covenanttransport.com .

    Continue reading
Found 159 reviews