Coventry City Council "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor

Coventry City Council Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated Aug 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Coventry City Council  CEO  Martin Reeves
Martin Reeves
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working and Management(in 13 reviews)

  • "It's a great time to be working at Coventry City Council, with real opportunities for progression, training and staff empowerment(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "public sector - not always optimal decisions are made(in 5 reviews)

  • "so the restructure of the council has been ongoing since 2015 and not been completed so they only accepting agency staff still on temp basis(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "CCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff benefits health sick pay cycle to work discounts, friendly peers , nice offices and good technology , pensions, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Stressful leadership, at key times low morale, continuous out of hours contact, unrealistic expectations with staff cuts, poor leadership mixed messages

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2018-08-08
  2. "A good employer to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fabulous new building, the council have really invested in providing the best accommodation and facilities for their staff at Friargate Friendly staff across all services Helpful flexible working Technology in place to work across different locations

    Cons

    Limited budgets! Lots of temporary / fixed term contracts for staff that are keen to become permanent members of a team

    Coventry City Council2018-01-11

    Coventry City Council Response

    January 12, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you have found working in our new building enjoyable, and have found our flexitime scheme beneficial. We are listening to the 'cons' which you have raised, and will share this information with the senior management team.

    Continue reading
  3. "Long standing employee with multiple posts throughout service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly Staff Fantastic new building and Facilities Flexible working and Management Management happy to listen to ideas

    Cons

    Fixed Term Contracts Limited Budgets in some areas whereas others seem to have a lot more of a Budget

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2017-12-11

    Coventry City Council Response

    January 4, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience at Coventry City Council. I was pleased to hear in this review that you worked with friendly staff, and it is encouraging to know that we have great managers supporting you and we offer you benefits to help improve a work/life balance.

    Continue reading
  4. "CCC Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Agile working Family friendly policies

    Cons

    Managers not encouraging new ways of working and sometimes applying a blanket approach quoting 'due to service delivery requirements' . This may be easier rather than managing 'problem' employees.

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2017-11-29

    Coventry City Council Response

    January 4, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience at Coventry City Council. We appreciate all comments made.

    Continue reading
  5. "Coventry City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time

    Pros

    It's a great time to be working at Coventry City Council, with real opportunities for progression, training and staff empowerment. Flexible working policies are a real benefit.

    Cons

    As with all local government it can be a little bureaucratic at times!

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2017-11-09

    Coventry City Council Response

    January 4, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience at Coventry City Council and delighted to hear you enjoy your job with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Management not as supportive as you would like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council

    Pros

    Excellent company benefits and Annual Leave policy Flexible working Brilliant team to work with Working with partner organisations

    Cons

    (Dependent on the department you work in) Low salary High staff turnover Management are not as supportive, nor do they provide the required training that should be expected for all new and current staff Too many people in a managerial position. No clear direction or process of doing things means that there is always confusion Linear rankings. Senior managers only speak to managers, who don't always pass all the required information or changes to their staff (especially as we are work in service delivery) In my role, there is no clear guidelines for employees and many things have been learnt/ picked up from other colleagues Minimum direction means that audit times are especially difficult, as many things that should have been in place have never been communicated to staff from managers or put in practice

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2017-11-15
  7. "fair review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good holiday schemes, flexible working

    Cons

    Job insecurity, constant cuts to services and staff. Little investment in career progression

    Coventry City Council2017-07-19

    Coventry City Council Response

    July 20, 2017Recruitment Assistant Apprentice

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! If you have issues surrounding career progression, I would advise speaking to your line manager to clarify any steps you may be able to take. I hope this helps.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "rating CCC 210716"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Architect in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council

    Pros

    working culture, capability for innovation, flexible working, broad spread of responsibilities and capabilities, ability to influence and make a difference to citizen's lives and life chances, great digital strategy, IT is forward thinking and has invested in new technologies and cloud capabilities. Brand new office accommodation available soon

    Cons

    pay is still behind the private sector and there is a rigid pay structure - this is under review.

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2016-07-21

    Coventry City Council Response

    July 22, 2016Workforce Development

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Coventry City Council. We are doing lots of work behind the scenes to ensure we can do more to ensure we benchmark pay and simplify job descriptions and job families this will all be linked to the behaviours. - We hope we can share this further across the Council soon.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive employer with exciting changes ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and considerate towards different employee needs. Ambitious colleagues who are passionate about improving the public sector. Modern technology allows me to work flexibly - in the office and at home. Supportive culture - encouraging development and giving opportunities to grow. Great city centre location for most offices.

    Cons

    There aren't always a lot of opportunities for promotion due to local government's financial situation.

    Coventry City Council2016-07-21

    Coventry City Council Response

    October 20, 2016Workforce Development

    Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience at Coventry City Council. We appreciate all comments made and will be taking all feedback into consideration at this very crucial time in local government.

    Continue reading
  10. "Coming from the Private Sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coventry City Council

    Pros

    Flexible working is a massive pro. Flexi hours mean the Cov City Council offers employees a really good work/life balance in comparison to many other organisations. Increasing development opportunities. It feels like there has been a real shift towards the importance of developing and retaining good staff. Programmes such as the recent Aspiring Leaders Pilot offer a great mix of traditional learning, hands on experience, and opportunities for reflection. Compared to the private sector, ethical considerations do seem to have a much greater impact on decision making. Forward thinking. The most important pro from my perspective is that the Council does seem to be genuinely comitted to self assessment and improvement and is keen to learn how improvements can be made going forward and how different ways of working can be best implemented to meet the case of need.

    Cons

    It doesn't feel like the Council is quite there yet in terms of matching the pace of the private sector. Some processes are still a little on the slow side and would benefit from streamlining. However, this is definitely something that has been recognised and is being addressed. The best practice in terms of people management, communication, etc that exist in some areas (and are very strong) are not universal across all service areas. There is a tendency towards working in silos. More work is required to address this.

    Continue reading
    Coventry City Council2016-07-22

    Coventry City Council Response

    August 2, 2016Workforce Development

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review on Glassdoor. We value your feedback and delighted to hear we are getting better at streamlining and supporting employees to have a good work/life balance. We have some great plans in the near future where we can start sharing best practice examples, and supporting everyone to fully understand the shared goals and how they fit in to the bigger picture.

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews