CoverMyMeds Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
CoverMyMeds President  David Holladay
David Holladay
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch provided everyday is awesome(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance in general(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "That any fast growing company there are growing pains(in 28 reviews)

  • "The healthcare technology industry is fast-paced and complex(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CoverMyMeds and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Career Growth with a Company that Cares

      Sep 16, 2020 - Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the only place I've worked where we are encouraged and empowered to continue growing and expanding our careers. Our mission of helping patients (and knowing that the work we're doing every day is making an impact on the lives of patients who need our help) is inspiring. During the pandemic, I've felt supported and well informed by our leaders. I am very grateful for the opportunity to continue growing my career with a company that cares.

      Cons

      Because we're constantly growing and innovating, we move pretty quickly. I don't mind the fast pace, but it can be overwhelming for some people.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place to work!

      May 8, 2021 - Case Manager in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the people, culture, and day to day work of helping people get the medications they need to live healthy lives!

      Cons

      Difficult to get a promotion. A lot of competition

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Love this company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Specialty Lead in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had such a great experience at CMM. I truly love working for a company who shares the same values as I do, and makes a difference in patients lives. I work with some of the best people around, and have met some of my best friends here too! It's such a fun and uplifting place to work

      Cons

      We grow. Quickly. And sometimes need to double back and change decisions made because they have unintended consequences. There is also this effort to provide "fairness" which has eliminated taking current work into account and only looking at the interview and a project day- which neither emulate our every day work. So you have very young managers who may be good presenters but aren't coached enough to become good LEADERS. You have to start looking at current work and value of work and not basing a decision solely on an interview, you're passing really quality people up for promotions because they may not be the strongest presenter or interviewer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Growing pains exacerbated during a pandemic

      Apr 30, 2021 - Account Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New campus on the horizon that will truly be the main antidote to the many challenges the company and culture has faced over the past year. When in the office, the perks put the company culture at a level unlike any other -- free lunch EVERY day, a gaming room, a campus on the riverfront, snacks, beer and wine on tap, many different types of office space, the list goes on. Growth is often a positive change that results in new opportunities for employees. My time in the office has been some of the best months of my professional career thus far and I've met so many incredible people.

      Cons

      We grow and we grow often. Employees are expected to be extremely adaptable which is uniquely challenging fourteen months into a pandemic. Depending on the team you're on, workload may ebb and flow on a seasonal basis, which can make for a great work/life balance when the workload is lighter, but all too often results in burnout for the better part of the year. Resiliency training has recently been implemented which is a short-term fix (albeit with great intentions) that unfortunately puts a bandaid on a bullet hole that has been brought upon the company with the challenges of COVID. The company advertises itself as the best place to (work and) grow but mobility has become increasingly difficult as the company has grown.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Work/Life Balance and Great place to work!

      Apr 5, 2021 - Account Coordinator, Network Services in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Truly treated as an adult, not micromanaged. You have tasks to complete and completely reasonable expectations for volume. It is trusted that you are doing the right thing and understood if you have to step away momentarily for an urgent situation (especially during this time of COVID) -supportive leadership and teams. -Flexible schedule buckets to allow for unforeseen events (like traffic when we start commuting again) -Flexible time each week to allow for appointments to be made without having to use PTO -Flexible yet structured PTO policy -The most "Open door" culture that I have ever experienced. Reaching out to higher leadership with a question is not frowned upon. -Fun atmosphere, the employees have fun with each other and our users like to have fun as well! -Great training, truly eased into the role and given the support you need for as long as you need it

      Cons

      -Resources can be a bit hard to locate which can be stressful at times when trying to find a quick answer -Everything isn't written down (I think this is getting better) - It may only bother me because of previous experiences, but I like to be able to fin every policy the company has in black and white so I can ensure I know exactly what is expected -Different cultures between teams, I have heard of this and not experienced it exactly,

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Opportunity in the midst of fast-paced growth

      Apr 26, 2021 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of my favorite aspects of working at CoverMyMeds is the amount of opportunity there is to stretch your personal skillset. Due to the amount of growth that's been experienced, there is an opportunity to wear a number of hats to contribute towards the company mission. Additionally, I appreciate the amount of ways I have been able to challenge myself through opportunities that are not necessarily tied to a promotion or change in day to day responsibility. There have been ample opportunities for me to learn more about my skillset and then push myself by contributing outside of my normal work expectations.

      Cons

      The fast growth means the company is always evolving and rarely stays the same for very long. This is exciting as it keeps things fresh, but can also be exhausting at times. If you don't have a high degree of adaptability, you will likely not thrive at CoverMyMeds. The ability to pivot consistently is necessary and I am sure impacts employees in a variety of ways.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Place to Start your Career

      Mar 18, 2021 - Project Lead in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are good at your job and work hard, you can move up fast. It is possible to get trained and move into jobs where another company may not hire you due to inexperience. I like my coworkers. Lots of cool perks and benefits. Save money on food and coffee when you are not WFH. Flexible work environment. I feel appreciated by my leader.

      Cons

      Unless you are in an entry level position, you are very likely to be underpaid and HR will avoid the topic of pay transparency at all costs. It is nearly impossible to reprimand employees who are not contributing or not showing up to work at all. Due to the newness of the company there are very few guidelines and very little support when it comes to underperforming reports. This company is growing faster than they can handle right now. Everyone is going through change exhaustion. It often feels like there is little to no forethought or planning. Rather than listening to employees and attempting to find some stability, leadership will give you weekly pep talks that don't fix the problem and will you probably zone out just to get through. Lots of tokenism and fake allyship towards POC in this company. Once you work your way out of the Account Specialist/Account Coordinator/Case Manager role, your work will start leaking into your personal life. Your manager will encourage you not to work long hours but it will be impossible to keep up with your work load if you don't.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      CoverMyMeds Response

      Employee

      We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your work experiences. We have all been through quite a bit of change at CMM, especially the last year with the global pandemic. Developing from a start-up to a high-growth company has its fair share of transitions and shifting priorities. While this can be fun and exciting most of the time, we acknowledge that it can also be challenging. Every year, we enhance our toolkits and resources to increase our leadership effectiveness in coaching staff. We try to strike a balance between providing company guidelines and allowing leaders to have a certain level of autonomy. We know there’s always room for improvement and we hope you will help us get there. We know that career pathways will vary from person to person, and we actively seek to empower staff to access these opportunities as they have interest in doing so. Professional growth doesn’t always look like a promotion or lateral move. It can also show up in stronger leadership capabilities, capacity, and visibility. Our talent management team does an annual pay equity audit and is currently in the process of educating our staff about it. We encourage you to keep having conversations with your leadership team and HR business partner to bring issues to the forefront, while actively being a part of finding solutions. If you’d like to share any additional feedback, I welcome you to reach out directly to me or your supervisor. — Lachandra B. Baker, Senior Manager, Employee Engagement

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 18, 2021 - Analytics Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CoverMyMeds is a wonderful company that does more for it's employees than any other company I've worked for. They regularly foster open communication (sometimes to a fault) and really encourages employees to be themselves and challenge the norms. It is a fast-paced environment and is very stimulating, every day is an adventure that I am excited to partake in.

      Cons

      CMM is still a growing company, but a lot of that growth is focused in non-technical solutions. This has most of the resources seemingly going towards entry level jobs thus leaving a narrowing funnel in the technical and business ladder. It seems harder today to advance, not due to lack of opportunity to shine or intense competition, there seems to just be no roles opening up on a regular basis. I'd much rather be in a position where I was competing for a job, than having nothing to even fight over.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Honest Feedback

      May 8, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with at CMM are easy to work with, good communicators, and are willing to help out when needed. Developers come from all experience backgrounds. Direct management is laid-back, easy to talk to, and will give guidance when asked. If you want to do the work and learn something new, you are given the leniency to grow your knowledge. You can choose what tasks align with your interests to work on in sprints. There is opportunity to lead technical projects if you ask for it. Developers are always looking to improve the applications they own. You are in charge of your time and how you choose to use it.

      Cons

      There is little direction on career growth/trajectory to grow in terms of promotions. Pay is below average for the field. Getting opportunities for growth and promotions seems based on who you know. CMM tends to hire more entry-level developers, rather than making space on teams for developers who have been around the company for a long time. PTO isn’t as flexible as it is touted to be. In order to go far at CMM, it is expected and required that you give up a chunk of your work-life balance. There is real opportunity for burn-out. It’s becoming increasingly clear that fully remote workers are a second-thought at this company in the long-term regardless of how well working remote has worked for the company during the pandemic. There has been a pattern of rhetoric of a physical workplace-first mentality and if you live in Columbus, that’s great, but if you live outside of Columbus, look to other companies for remote-friendly work. I hope that McKesson and CoverMyMeds leadership start to understand that focusing solely on one location to grow your talent is very narrow-minded and antithetical to a focus on diversity, but it seems that the new campus and return to office mentality has given leadership tunnel-vision for getting the band back together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Take this as a sign to NOT work here

      Feb 8, 2021 - Account Coordinator in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunches when we were in office, no healthcare premium, can turn your brain off the second your shift is over, some amazing coworkers

      Cons

      Where to begin. No company is perfect, but the most insulting thing about Covermymeds is that they preach about how wonderful this place is to work. They constantly harp on how it’s the best place to work and grow to the public but internally your employees are drowning. There is no room for growth unless you are person friends with management outside of work, there is no professional development, and this role is solely a call center. You are a number and you are replaceable. This company is cliquey, micromanaging, and does not care much about the well being of their employees. It is very sad because I had such high hopes for this journey after hearing great things but once you get inside you realize it’s a facade. current and future employees, be careful who you trust. Things are not kept private, and if you have a complaint or are not being treated fair do not go to HR because they won’t help. In summary, this is a call center, you are a number, you clock in, get your required interactions, and clock out. You are replaceable and if you have any conflicting opinions keep them to yourself because not blindly following leadership must appear as a threat to them.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      CoverMyMeds Response

      Employee

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we’re sorry to hear CoverMyMeds wasn’t your best place to work and grow. We are committed to enabling a safe, collaborative environment for our employees, and it’s disappointing to hear that was not your experience. The work we do is very important, and our account coordinators are on the front line helping doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and their staff get the most out of their experience with CoverMyMeds. This includes serving as the product expert for our users, handling inbound and outbound calls, chats, and emails – all centered around helping patients get the medication they need to live healthy lives. We’re proud and grateful that we hire leaders who have a passion for helping others and want the opportunity to work alongside other hard-working individuals who want to make a positive impact and do remarkable things. Even in the midst of the global pandemic, we’re very grateful for our continued growth and the opportunity to welcome more than 300 new employees, promote more than 350 team members this past year, and reward employees with annual bonuses and merit increases. We know we won’t meet everyone’s expectations and we’re sorry that we didn’t meet yours. I know you’re not with CoverMyMeds anymore, but we’d still love to hear how we can do better and be better for our employees. If you ever want to share more specific feedback on the above, please reach out. – Matt Hare, Senior Director, Network Services & Clinical Content

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 461 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CoverMyMeds Job Seekers

    Account Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Apprentice
    Learn About the Job

    Work at CoverMyMeds? Share Your Experiences

    or