Covestro Reviews | Glassdoor

Covestro Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Covestro CEO Patrick W. Thomas
Patrick W. Thomas
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is perfect work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "The company has a lot of good benefits and for the most part treats its employees well(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Didn't seem to have a lot of opportunities for advancement(in 2 reviews)

  • "Slow, Low pay packages, Too many changes in the recent past(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Diamond in the Rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management accommodates employee growth, abundant opportunities, great work environment, great people, flexible schedules.

    Cons

    None that are specific to Covestro, corporate is very supportive of employees. Bayer material sciences was recently transferred to Covestro resulting in some changes to data management etc. , but for the most part the transfer was seamless.

    Covestro2019-02-23
  2. "management culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covestro full-time

    Pros

    Global company with international opportunities Decent pay and benefits Efforts to portray a forward-thinking brand image

    Cons

    Management seems to reward a 'yes man' mentality that produces group-think, and appeared out of touch with day-to-day work. Limited opportunities for advancement. Some of the longer-term 'Bayer-era' employees seem highly mistrustful of change, and could sometimes engage in seemingly petty unhealthy behavior toward newer employees. Workplace compliance issues sometimes did not appear to be dealt with appropriately.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee feedback. Uphold your stated company values and policies, and not just provide lip-service.

    Covestro2019-01-03
  3. "Ever changing, ever evolving to be the industry’s best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Very innovative company with Safety First at all times. Diverse group and people oriented.

    Cons

    Constantly tightening the financial belt which is good but being too lean can weigh on morale.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to consider your workforce which is the heart. Covestro is doing this well. Keep it up.

    Covestro2018-07-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Covestro full-time

    Pros

    Don't sell off pieces of the company

    Cons

    Bureaucracy can be overwhelming at times IT regulations onerous and limit ability to do ones job

    Advice to Management

    Please do not sell off pieces of the company. Recognize that IT should serve the business, not the other way around.

    Covestro2018-04-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Solid company with a good management teat who cares for its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong company, good benefits & salary, open management that frequently communicates the status of the company to employees through town hall meetings. Flex work hours. Not once in four years have I ever regretted coming into work. Great work / life balance. Great place to work!

    Cons

    I honestly can’t think of anything to write here other then entering time off in the APD system is way harder than it needs to be. The programmer that came up with layout should be fired.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the company together!! Grow it, don’t sell off parts for additional revenue. You honestly don’t need it. Remember, never lose site that it’s the employees that are making the company strong. Don’t over complicate our business model or over think your success. Just because you can do something doesn’t mean you have to do something.

    Covestro2017-12-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Production Technician in Baytown, TX

      I have been working at Covestro full-time

      Pros

      The company itself is just okay. Pay is on par with just about everyone else in the industry and that's it.

      Cons

      The atmosphere and culture alike that exists at Covestro is terrible. Management doesn't seem to care about operations at all. Technicians are miserable and always in a bad mood about work. Overtime is ridiculous, so forget working your normal DuPont schedule and actually getting some time away from your unit. Workload is extremely high and expectations are unrealistic. Overall not an enjoyable place to work, you won't...

      Show More
      Covestro2017-11-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Amazing Company for an Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering Coop in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Covestro for more than a year

      Pros

      Incredibly helpful team members and respectful management made working for Covestro an extremely rewarding experience. As an intern, I was put on projects that were challenging and which directly contributed to improvements that the full-time engineers were orchestrating. I always felt valued and was given the latitude to make suggestions and present my own findings to the team. I gained a massive amount of practical...

      Show More

      Cons

      While I cannot rate the company lower for this aspect of the program, there are much fewer full-time opportunities available than internships for the particular branch of the company in which I was worker. This leads to a somewhat competitive situation in full-time employment is expected immediately following the internship. However, this detracts nothing from the extremely high quality of the internship program.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work! The program is well-organized and offers a great deal in the way of opportunities to learn and grow as a professional.

      Covestro2017-08-30
    • Helpful (3)

      "Females will have a tough time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative in Hebron, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, great pay, generous time off, positive corporate culture, Corporate leadership really inspires with town hall meetings and there is a very transparent element to their leadership style.

      Cons

      Corporate culture does not trickle down to the plant level so it's almost like you are not actually working for the same company as the CEO. In fact, the plants in the US are often shunned by our German counterparts. We are not treated with the same respect as our German peers. Technologically we are behind on all fronts out of fear of cyber security effectiveness. That makes it difficult to get the best tool for the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop allowing the "good ol' boy" culture to thrive. New outlook/opinions are not harmful and just because it hasn't been done for the past 15 years, doesn't make it a bad idea. For an innovative company, there is very little happening at the plant level. Innovation is not encouraged and there is a strong disadvantage for females as well.

      Covestro2017-08-11
    • Helpful (5)

      "Pushing Tenured Employees Out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Covestro full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good pay. Good culture. Innovative thinking.

      Cons

      Lack of opportunity for advancement. Management out of touch with day to day work. HR policies are implemented but frequently disregarded. Pockets of "old boys' club" still exist. Tenured employees are quickly pushed aside for the flavor of the week.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to employee engagement surveys. Check in on HR to make sure policies are being followed.

      Covestro2017-07-25
    • "Great place to work with lots of growth opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good salary and benefits, great people to work with, good overall culture, lots of opportunities to grow. No individual reviews. If the company does well, you do well.

      Cons

      Some of the long standing Bayer employees do not work well with changes and it is hard to get them to cooperate. Headquarters is in Germany so we are not always aligned as quickly as we should be but that is getting better.

      Advice to Management

      Need to enforce the policies. Pittsburgh campus tends to do its own thing even though all the other NAFTA locations fall in line.

      Covestro2017-05-10
    Found 39 reviews