Covestro Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Covestro CEO Markus Steilemann
Markus Steilemann
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Good personal and work life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • "Positive work environment, flexible schedule, good pay, as an intern they really want you to learn during your time there(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not many interns get full time placement, however this is something they recognize and are working to improve(in 8 reviews)

  • "Job is in Baytown but still not far from Houston(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great work life balance, good benefits and pay, great corporate enviornment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Pay and benefits seems to be better than what is offered at other employers.

    Cons

    No clear path to what your next step should be but they are working on this to make it better.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2019-10-09
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Diamond in the Rough"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management accommodates employee growth, abundant opportunities, great work environment, great people, flexible schedules.

    Cons

    None that are specific to Covestro, corporate is very supportive of employees. Bayer material sciences was recently transferred to Covestro resulting in some changes to data management etc. , but for the most part the transfer was seamless.

    Covestro2019-02-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Could be great if it wasn’t for HR corruption."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwright in Baytown, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay/4-10s /Great benefits

    Cons

    Upper management and HR is Corrupted. They bend and break rules and lie for each other. Very very hot. Only Butt kissers are prompted

    Continue reading
    Covestro2019-09-09
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible culture and management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free parking, some decent people

    Cons

    Horrible “managers”, HR managers in positions of authority because of their personal relationships and not their experience. Culture focuses on innovation yet the management is too egotistical to realize where the real problems are. Certain pet employees of upper management are rewarded and promoted for their yes master attitude while those who work hard are overlooked.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2019-05-10

    Covestro Response

    July 9, 2019Manager of Talent Aquisition & Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about our company. Although your words are certainly not the ones we’d most like to hear, we think it’s important to gain insights from all perspectives. As you indicate that you are current (and longtime) employees, we’d love the opportunity to talk more with about your specific concerns, and to work with you to find ways to address them.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "management culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covestro full-time

    Pros

    Global company with international opportunities Decent pay and benefits Efforts to portray a forward-thinking brand image

    Cons

    Management seems to reward a 'yes man' mentality that produces group-think, and appeared out of touch with day-to-day work. Limited opportunities for advancement. Some of the longer-term 'Bayer-era' employees seem highly mistrustful of change, and could sometimes engage in seemingly petty unhealthy behavior toward newer employees. Workplace compliance issues sometimes did not appear to be dealt with appropriately.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2019-01-03
  6. "Ever changing, ever evolving to be the industry’s best."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very innovative company with Safety First at all times. Diverse group and people oriented.

    Cons

    Constantly tightening the financial belt which is good but being too lean can weigh on morale.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2018-07-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Covestro full-time

    Pros

    Don't sell off pieces of the company

    Cons

    Bureaucracy can be overwhelming at times IT regulations onerous and limit ability to do ones job

    Continue reading
    Covestro2018-04-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Solid company with a good management teat who cares for its employees."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covestro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong company, good benefits & salary, open management that frequently communicates the status of the company to employees through town hall meetings. Flex work hours. Not once in four years have I ever regretted coming into work. Great work / life balance. Great place to work!

    Cons

    I honestly can’t think of anything to write here other then entering time off in the APD system is way harder than it needs to be. The programmer that came up with layout should be fired.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2017-12-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Just Okay"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Baytown, TX

    I have been working at Covestro full-time

    Pros

    The company itself is just okay. Pay is on par with just about everyone else in the industry and that's it.

    Cons

    The atmosphere and culture alike that exists at Covestro is terrible. Management doesn't seem to care about operations at all. Technicians are miserable and always in a bad mood about work. Overtime is ridiculous, so forget working your normal DuPont schedule and actually getting some time away from your unit. Workload is extremely high and expectations are unrealistic. Overall not an enjoyable place to work, you won't be happy here and neither will your co-workers.

    Covestro2017-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company for an Internship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Coop in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covestro for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly helpful team members and respectful management made working for Covestro an extremely rewarding experience. As an intern, I was put on projects that were challenging and which directly contributed to improvements that the full-time engineers were orchestrating. I always felt valued and was given the latitude to make suggestions and present my own findings to the team. I gained a massive amount of practical experience at this company and learned about a wide array of concepts which simply could not be taught in a classroom setting.

    Cons

    While I cannot rate the company lower for this aspect of the program, there are much fewer full-time opportunities available than internships for the particular branch of the company in which I was worker. This leads to a somewhat competitive situation in full-time employment is expected immediately following the internship. However, this detracts nothing from the extremely high quality of the internship program.

    Continue reading
    Covestro2017-08-30
Found 70 reviews