Covidien Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Covidien Intern Reviews

Updated 27 Oct 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Covidien CEO Omar Ishrak (no image)
Omar Ishrak
1 Ratings
  1. "Interning at Medtronic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    Great company with amazing mission statement that is ingrained in the culture. More experienced folks are very willing to help out. CEO Omar is very forward thinking.

    Cons

    Would have liked more intern events

    Advice to Management

    Have more jobs for interns to transition to

    Covidien2017-10-28
  2. "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Operations Intern 

    I have been working at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Atmosphere Nice coworkers Nice office space

    Cons

    Poor organization and goalsetting within team

    Covidien2016-01-27
  3. "Great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - R&D Intern in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    Focus on teaching the interns as much as possible, and trying to make sure it's enjoyable enough that you will want to come back

    Cons

    Most of the work done by interns isn't very exciting

    Covidien2015-10-30
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Intern in Acton, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    I interned over the summer and had a great experience. Probably one of the best work cultures I've ever seen.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Covidien2015-09-21
  5. "great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Intern in Mansfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    *cares about employees *friendly people *culture *learned a lot

    Cons

    There were no downsides to interning at Covidien. I enjoyed my time there very much.

    Advice to Management

    great work

    Covidien2015-08-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Full time employees completely unprofessional; crude, and highly insensitive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many to speak of. Some coworkers were nice, but the overwhelming majority of them were incompetent and rude. There was some free reign to learn and gain experience.

    Cons

    Management from top to bottom was highly unprofessional. Pay was not consistent with economy. Work here only if you're truly desperate!

    Advice to Management

    Clean house!

    Covidien2014-12-21
  7. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Hazelwood, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, fun work, great learning experience. A good place to learn what engineering in the real world is like. The other engineers and upper management take a personal interest in your development. Assignments are challenging and interesting.

    Cons

    Testing can become monotonous. Sometimes a change of pace is needed. I found myself doing a lot of the same things over and over.

    Advice to Management

    Travel experiences would be fun. More insight into upper level engineering would be beneficial.

    Covidien2014-11-08
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research and Development Intern in North Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien for more than a year

    Pros

    Large medical Device Company Compensation is adequate Lot's of cool people Definitely interesting applications

    Cons

    You either win or lose with interning. You'll have a manager who keeps you very busy or one where you end up sitting around most of the time. Pay was good. Others in the intern program are great!

    Advice to Management

    Develop your intern program so interns at least have something to do

    Covidien2014-09-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Intern experience with good company culture and meaningful work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Mansfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is high for interns; Very strong intern program with fun activities and seminars; get to participate in summer hours; full access to on-site gym; exposure to VP and Executive level managers

    Cons

    Hands-off managers; lack of work at times

    Covidien2014-03-21
  10. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - R&D Intern 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    Globalized Company, Smart Employees, Great Atmosphere

    Cons

    A little dry Poor communication between depts

    Covidien2014-02-26
Found 29 reviews