Covidien Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Project Manager

Covidien Project Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Covidien CEO Omar Ishrak (no image)
Omar Ishrak
2 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Committed to Quality and Safety, challenging environment

    Cons

    A lot of cost challenges

    Advice to Management

    Drive culture improvement

    Covidien2014-09-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Covidien"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, team is good, challenging projects,all your skills will be utilized to the highest,

    Cons

    too many politics to get a promotion. Project team is chosen depending on your rapport with the management

    Covidien2016-06-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not have a good company management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Mansfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    Big firm with multiple product lines and have many sites in different nations. US Surgical is a good company. Payment is good.

    Cons

    Quality of corporate management team is surprisingly low; really not sure how these people get the positions. Soon or later they will be out of offices.

    Advice to Management

    Give it Medtronic run. It did now. CUT off those management people who are not useful but waste everyone's time and money.

    Covidien2015-11-11
  4. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in North Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers and summer hours from Memorial Day to Labor Day. You can learn a lot about the medical and pharmaceutical industries.

    Cons

    Management that does not know how to manage development and manufacturing costs. Lots of blaming of others for mistakes. Managers try to use fear to motivate employees; it does not work.

    Advice to Management

    Get more people in Management and Sr. Management with experience successfully managing companies in cost sensitive industries such as automotive.

    Covidien2015-04-25
  5. "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien for less than a year

    Pros

    big company so very stable

    Cons

    big company so everything is slow too many meetings.

    Covidien2014-10-12
  6. "Place in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mansfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has invested a lot in me personally. I have been put into several leadership and development programs, they reimburse my tuition for grad school, and I've been given the opportunity to travel around the world. It is truly a global company in the sense they we engage frequently with peers overseas.

    Cons

    Many legacy employees are resistant to change and spend their time putting out fires. Few people have long term vision, failing to identify systemic issues and invest the time to resolve them. Instead they experience the same issues over and over again. In terms of culture, there is a vast difference between the business units and regions versus the corporate office. Corporate has too much bureaucracy and people... working in silos. Across the organization different groups of people are working on the exact same project, but are completely unaware. No coordinated PMO to support business processes (just IS projects).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most senior leadership is comprised of stuffy old men who have spent decades with the company and never even worked outside the medical device industry. They lack perspective and the culture is very resist to change because of it. Given that we are currently going through an acquisition, I'm sure the new company will clear out the top leaders which is strongly needed.

    Covidien2014-07-30
  7. "Covidien Vascular Therapies Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay structure and they want to be a place that values employees. Nice offices and good location in Plymouth.

    Cons

    Market for peripheral vascular interventions seems to be a little bit edgy right now. Growth expectations under current market conditions are a challenge.

    Covidien2014-04-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Covidien needs to dig deep and find integrity in running their organizations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien full-time

    Pros

    If you find a sponsor, you are golden.

    Cons

    Too many people are either related or are having relations

    Advice to Management

    Bring in bright people from the outside who can really help to shape the future of the company (instead of relying only on people who worked their 20 years and nowhere else)

    Covidien2013-03-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall, I have been satisfied with my experiences and opportunities at Covidien for the last 8 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covidien

    Pros

    Solid products offer some stability. However, there is concern for the future, no funnel of new products. I am from St. Louis, so it is nice to have the opportunity to move up and stay in town. Many choose travel vs. relocation. Company does spend money to try and keep the plants in good working conditions

    Cons

    20 Monkeys with typewriters could put together more constructive feedback than many of the managers in my department. Too much holding the cards and secrets from the masses or in many cases the Project Engineers and Managers that can actually improve your decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Please get rid of the last remnants of the Mallinckrodt guard that keep us stuck in the mud.

    Covidien2011-11-28
Found 9 reviews