Covidien Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Covidien Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Omar Ishrak (no image)
Omar Ishrak
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work/life balance, great people, enjoyable job(in 48 reviews)

  • "Long-term; good benefits; was a terrific company as Valleylab when the employees owned it (before it went corporate(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not a lot of work / life balance(in 43 reviews)

  • "Covidien culture was eradicated in Medtronic purchase(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A great career experience

      Apr 8, 2021 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company focused on it's mission of improving patient outcomes, extending life & ultimately saving lives

      Cons

      Organizational changes can be overwhelming

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall

      Dec 27, 2020 - Customer Relations Supply Chain Management Analyst in Mansfield, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer and patient focused with quality products

      Cons

      Employee satisfaction needs some improvement .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall a great company

      Jan 2, 2021 - Senior Area Manager in Milano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Above average compensation and benefit policy

      Cons

      Too little attention to employee training

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid organization, Metronic only makes it stronger

      May 29, 2020 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding product innovation, world-class surgical training for sales team

      Cons

      None to speak of, leadership was solid and work was appreciated.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      sucks

      Mar 10, 2020 - Sales in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      not many I really thought it sucked

      Cons

      everything, people are clueless and ruthless

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Most lucrative employer in the area.

      Aug 29, 2019 - Team Leader in Hobart, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to learn new equipment.

      Cons

      Do not always agree with management decisions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to work for

      Mar 6, 2019 - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and company to work for

      Cons

      I don't have anything bad to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Refreshing!

      Aug 30, 2014 - Quality Assurance Inspector in Plainfield, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Covidien has been great in my first quarter with the company. Management and other personnel have been fruitful with getting me trained in, up to speed on its operations, and issued the tools to perform. A very friendly environment which makes it an easy transition to naturally and willingly contribute your personal resources to the team. I see great room for advancement and appreciate the positive reinforcement the give when my committed effort to perform is acknowledged by management as well as my peers.

      Cons

      Being so new to the company they're either really good at pulling the wool over my eyes, making it hard to identify the potential cons or it truly is a really great place to work. If I had to identify anything close to a con I'd have to reflect on my success there in such a short period in time. I was able to immediately come in and exceed the expectations set before me when I interviewed. To me this means that either there was a mediocre process in place prior to my arrival that needs revision, they didn't hold prior employees in my current position accountable to performance expectations, or I was keen on holding up on my end of the bargain. And I must admit, I truly bust my behind daily to make the difference they only hoped I'd make by hiring me! So, yeah, by default there are no cons! I'm accountable to the differences I make!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Company, room for growth but you will have to work for it.

      Cons

      Tough culture to work at.. High Volume with high demand.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Company Culture

      Aug 15, 2018 - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focused on success, clinical efficacy of products and being massively trained on the ins/outs of each ~~

      Cons

      A lot of 1st time surgical device reps - coming from ADP, copiers, and such brought an arrogant attitude at times. The seasoned reps with a company or 2 prior on resume where more pleasant to work with and compete against.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 805 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Covidien Job Seekers

    HERNIA SPECIALIST
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Vice President of National Accounts
    Learn About the Job
    Surgical Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Medical Device Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Associate Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Covidien? Share Your Experiences

    Covidien logo
    or