Covidien Reviews | Glassdoor

Covidien Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 808 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Covidien CEO Omar Ishrak (no image)
Omar Ishrak
64 Ratings
  1. "Senior Contract Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mansfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Flexible. Fair pay.

    Cons

    Too much work, not properly allocated.

    Covidien2016-10-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Commerce, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady place of employment and great people. The building was air conditioned.

    Cons

    The can shut a plant down with great efficiency.

    Advice to Management

    Stop shutting plants down. You will lose your most valuable resources the people.

    Covidien2016-10-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Vp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    Great company mission Nice culture Operational strength

    Cons

    Can sometimes be bureaucratic Consensus decision making takes time Now a very big company

    Covidien2016-09-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Calibration coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Brea, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked working for Covidien knowing that the products we make greatly affect the lives of so many people. The location of the company is also a plus.

    Cons

    There was nothing negative to say about the company other than the fact that this particular facility will be shutting down within the year.

    Advice to Management

    All I have to say is that they did a good job trying to run the department under these circumstances.

    Covidien2016-09-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Mansfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing company, internal moves encouraged, competitive salary and benefits. Nice people, well informed management team who welcomed new ideas and processes.

    Cons

    Lot's of uncertainty following Medtronic acquisition. Massive layoffs, employee moral at an all time low. Salary and benefits were 'right sized'.

    Advice to Management

    People respect transparency. Be honest when discussing long term vision of the company and specifically in regards to local sites.

    Covidien2016-10-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "field sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    brand recognition flexible work schedule company car

    Cons

    Poor management with terrible marketing. The company is not price competitive and they lie about your salary potential.

    Covidien2016-10-27
  7. "Alternate channel specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Alternate Channel Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covidien full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits, many opportunities to advance, wonderful corporate atmosphere

    Cons

    Getting a bad manager can ruin your entire career.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, take their suggestions even if they are female and be honest about expectations

    Covidien2016-09-18
  8. "Director, R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    Big company with many opportunities

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy and time spent managing up

    Covidien2016-10-02
  9. "Sr product manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    Great place with a great mission.

    Cons

    Experienced some of the typical big company bureaucracy

    Covidien2016-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Covidien

    Pros

    False prestige. Can't think of anything good.

    Cons

    Very unprofessional people. Stay away!

    Covidien2016-10-12
Found 808 reviews