Cox Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cox Communications Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cox Communications CEO Pat Esser
Pat Esser
1,129 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Cox Communications full-time

    Pros

    Promote Growth within the company.

    Cons

    None currently that I know of.

    Cox Communications2019-09-22

    Cox Communications Response

    October 18, 2019

    We are very pleased to hear that you’re enjoying your time with us! Thank you for your review.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Manheim flawed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cox Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company, privately owned, diverse businesses

    Cons

    Strict management by achievement of budget goals

    Advice to Management

    Learn to differentiate between revenue and profitability as result of general economic environment vs. management performance. This company relies too much on poorly constructed budgets.

    Cox Communications2019-10-02
  3. "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Communications full-time

    Pros

    Good spirits through company and local departments

    Cons

    Management always changes and causing major issues within departments.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees before you start having issues in the field.

    Cox Communications2019-09-19

    Cox Communications Response

    October 18, 2019

    Hi and thanks for your review. Change can feel like a constant in today’s fast-paced world, but we’re glad to hear that you and your colleagues are still in high spirits! With our diverse businesses across Cox, we provide our people the opportunity to grow their careers! Thanks again for your feedback.

    Show Less
  4. "Mostly old silos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Technology in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cox Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, reasonable pace. Little IT outsourcing yet.

    Cons

    Many systems run off very old billing and customer account technology. Leaders have little accountability for results. A lot of network IT work moving to wholesale provider.

    Advice to Management

    Retain your better people

    Cox Communications2019-10-03

    Cox Communications Response

    October 18, 2019

    Hi and thanks for your review. Our technology teams are paramount to our success and we are constantly evolving and finding agile ways of working to support the pace of our industry. We appreciate your leadership and time with us. We wish you the best of luck in your career endeavors.

  5. "Seeking employment fromHome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Norco, CA

    I worked at Cox Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good customer service skills

    Cons

    Not sure of any

    Advice to Management

    Retired looking to work from home

    Cox Communications2019-09-18
  6. "Nice place to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Communications part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    real cool place to work

    Cons

    not a bad place at all

    Advice to Management

    keep going to do what you say you will

    Cox Communications2019-09-17
  7. "Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cox Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with a great team

    Cons

    Wasn't there long enough to complain

    Cox Communications2019-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just not a good place to work .."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Communications

    Pros

    Benefits Good events Discounts Nice cafeteria Nice facility

    Cons

    Management plays favorites Promotion is based on who you know Attendance policy is unreasonable Poor training

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management , just get rid of all your managers and start fresh

    Cox Communications2019-09-23

    Cox Communications Response

    October 18, 2019

    Hi and thanks for your review. We’re disappointed to hear that you’re not enjoying your time with us. We would like to learn more about what you’ve mentioned and encourage you to set up a time with your manager or HR representative. We appreciate your feedback!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Falling Apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, Healthcare, 401K, Independence, Pension

    Cons

    Management; doesn't know where company is going. people cutting cable

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive, not reactive

    Cox Communications2019-09-18
  10. "Not the same company anymore, has taken a turn for the worse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Gym, location, great co workers.

    Cons

    Alex Taylor and the executive team no longer care about their employees. This is not the great company it used to be. Cutting pay for non-directors. Went to a BS PTO policy because they know employees will take less PTO and now PTO is no longer a liability when they lay off employees in the future. Rumor is they will stop the pension plan for existing employees in 2020. 5G is coming fast and executive team... is worried. But not worried enough for them to take a pay cut however.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit sending the insulting emails about company changes and trying to spin them as if they are a good thing for employees. Do you really think we are that stupid?

    Cox Communications2019-10-10
Found 2110 reviews