Cox Communications Employee Reviews about "tech support"

Updated Oct 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cox Communications President Pat Esser
Pat Esser
1,362 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits - remote work - flexible hours(in 269 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Good Product, good people(in 196 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cable won't be lasting very much longer, this coming from a 20 year employee(in 46 reviews)

  • "Not tech support but more of a robot now following a unstable program that doesn't know anything(in 45 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cox Communications and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "tech support"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Love it!

      Oct 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GReat benefits. You have your own cubicle. Fun environment. you can get compensation. can choose your own schedule based on progress on the job you can switch shift with other people who work for cox around the world

      Cons

      you have to have make sales or up sale even if that is not your job description. working in tech support made that a little hard because people was calling to complain, not buy something.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Thanks for a great review. We are delighted you’re able to experience first-hand our benefits and great culture here at Cox. We appreciate you sharing your genuine thoughts and feedback.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Typical Call Center

      Oct 28, 2020 - Technical Support Agent in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent people to work with. Pay isn't terrible, opportunity to make commission.

      Cons

      Management knows nothing about tech support. Hours can be terrible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stress

      Sep 12, 2020 - CSR-1 in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay and benefits are okay. The training is awesome.

      Cons

      No work/balance ...sales...scores...micro managers...but never no help...back up brown boxes with a 😃. Pto cant be used on days you really need it with consequences. No grow off the phone unless you get really lucky. Not tech support but more of a robot now following a unstable program that doesn't know anything. Stressful...have to take disrespect 😤 from customers even the racist ones.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not tech support SALES

      Dec 20, 2019 - Tech Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Services discount, ok pay, good paid time off if you don’t get sick.

      Cons

      Very hostile work environment. from customer and management. Supervisors rate you on sales you will be written up and fired for not making sales in a TECH support role. You are not only yelled and screamed at by customers everyday you have no support by the supervisors unless you make great sales. You are a revenue number to this company and that is it. Over 3 years with the company and I feel just as expendable as I did from day one. 27 member class and only 2 of us left extreme turnover rate. Your paid time off is from the same bucket as sick time it will count against you twice if you have to call in if you have not reserved the time off in advance.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Hi, and thanks for your review. We are disappointed that your time with us is what not what you had hoped. At Cox, we truly care about the happiness of our employees, so that’s why we offer generous health plan options, including stress and mindfulness coaches. Our people fuel the success of our business and we take to heart the feedback you’ve shared.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not enough to keep employees

      Sep 2, 2018 - Call Center Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent pay for a call center

      Cons

      disparaging differences how different departments are treated due to revenue saving vs tech support. each department do their part for the customer and the company and should be treated equally as such. customers are borderline verbally abusive and it's globally acceptable regardless of who answers the phone and when explaining to management why the phone call went poorly the agent is told to put away the excuses and be accountable. that environment is a ruination of good people and top notch employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The real about working in Coxes call center

      May 8, 2018 - Customer Care Representative in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, excellent health & benefits & discounts for your own cable/internet services

      Cons

      Really poor management aft training..they basically hire anyone who passes a background check but has no experience, especially for tech support ..that's why customers always get mad cuz they're actually talking to ppl w/o any real computer/IT experience..just pushed thru training to learn the very basics so able to take calls.. unbelievable.. if didnt see it happen myself over & over..

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Technical support

      Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits decent pay and bonuses

      Cons

      Sales oriented even though you are tech support

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tech Support

      Dec 27, 2017 - Tech Support Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good contact with customers, Free cable and perks. Employees great to work with and nice environment good contact with customers.

      Cons

      Hardcore sales from tech support. Moving to more sales environment, Management more interested in sales and felt like moving to a quota system

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      What is my Job?

      Oct 11, 2017 - Technical Support Representative in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, Pay, Events, entertainment

      Cons

      Lack of Job focus. I am a tech support agent, When I got this job, it was not made important that I would have to sell, but when I'm graded on performance pertaining to my job My stats are excellent.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      the Beneifits though..!

      Sep 13, 2017 - Tier I Tech Support in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Benefits. their health care is more than affordable, and was very easy to use. And do not even get me started on the extreme discount they put on your cable and internet bill! Ever wanted every channel but couldn't afford it? Well you can while working for them! 2. Pay is comparable to the work you do. As an entry level call center position you make good money and the added commission money is nice too. 3. Management will help you improve if you are struggling. They spend a lot of time training and monitoring their staff and if you want help improving they will help get you there, depending on your manager of course.

      Cons

      1. Schedules.. work life balance can be a struggle because the schedule changes every 6 months and unless you are a top performer you get stuck with some weird shifts. there are 4 day work weeks and 5 day work weeks but you have to be one of the best and have the tenure under your belt to make sure you get what you want. 4. The customers are not nice. you will get yelled at and cussed at so its best to have tough skin. I was tech support and no one is happy when they call the cable company nor are they understanding that you are trying to help them.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 English Reviews

    Work at Cox Communications? Share Your Experiences

    or