Cox Enterprises Reviews | Glassdoor

Cox Enterprises Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cox Enterprises CEO Alex Taylor
Alex Taylor
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low turnover means less opportunity to advance, the culture seems to be changing to one less tolerant to work life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • "I really have no cons to talk about(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    Cox Enterprises

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Phenomenal company culture. Leaders truly care about employees, customers, and community. It shows in how thoughtful they are with decision making. There is also a wealth of opportunities within the company, and internal networking is encouraged and appreciated.

    Cons

    Thoughtful decision making takes time.

    Cox Enterprises Response

    January 9, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We couldn’t agree more with the pros you’ve listed here. Our people play a vital part in forming the culture at Cox and we consider our employees’ well-being in our company decisions. We’re glad to see a 5-star rating and thrilled to know that you are having ...

    Show More
  2. Great Company

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

      I worked at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Long-term incentives, Medical/Dental Benefits, opportunities, amenities,

      Cons

      Generally there will be some yearly business restructuring

      Cox Enterprises Response

      January 9, 2019

      Thanks for sharing your experience and for dedicating 8+ years of your professional career to Cox! Our people play a vital role and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors.

    • Opportunities aren’t available for everyone

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager Talent Acquisition in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Corporate onsite amenities, compensation, bonus payouts, environmentally friendly, awesome cafe

      Cons

      Lack of leadership diversity, lack opportunities/promotion/training/mentor ship for non-white employees (especially women of color), work life balance, company direction unclear, passive aggressive culture, relationships trump knowledge/ability/skill when it comes to career growth, ultra conservative

      Advice to Management

      Provide opportunities for ALL employees. It’s quite obvious resources and development is lacking for minorities.

      Cox Enterprises Response

      February 18, 2019

      Hi, thanks for your review. At Cox, we are committed to implementing and maintaining inclusive practices that foster a diverse workforce and an environment of inclusion and engagement that brings out the best in everyone. This includes providing competitive, highly valued benefits ...

      Show More
    • Awesome Family Company

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      The company really cares about their employees. Treat them like family.

      Cons

      More Diversity in leadership roles.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to make the changes that will attract and retain a younger workforce, with out losing the tradition that is the Cox Brand.

      Cox Enterprises Response

      January 28, 2019

      Thanks for sharing your experience and for dedicating 10+ years of your professional career to Cox! Our people play a vital role and we’re glad to hear you are enjoying your experience. We appreciate the feedback you’ve shared here.

    • Helpful (6)

      Good company interesting culture

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits, work to life balace(depending on department) , able to work from home(depending on department), great name to have on resume.

      Cons

      The department I was hired for was going thru alot of changes and I wish I was made aware of that prior to that time then my decision to work for CE would have been different. It was very political and bias and driven by one employee and the main person saying yes or no to who should remain while management listened. At the beginning it was good and exciting and toward the end it wasnt good at all. The layoff process...

      Show More

      Cox Enterprises Response

      January 28, 2019

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to hear that you found our flexible work options helpful. At Cox, we strive to do what’s in the best interest of our employees and we build the best teams to support the changes of our industry. We don’t like to see our employees ...

      Show More
    • Best company I have ever worked for.

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Affordable health benefits, onsite gym, nice cafeteria, privately-owned and care about employees.

      Cons

      Things can be a little slow to change due to needing so many people's buy-in.

      Cox Enterprises Response

      November 8, 2018

      We are thrilled that you value your time here at Cox! Cheers to three years and many more with us!

    • Weird place to work

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits, work/life balance, flexible hours

      Cons

      Very strange structure for a parent company. Too many people doing the same jobs with no real purpose or actual goals. So much time spent on internal communications plans that employees don't care about or even notice. There are about 5 different HR departments. It seems like the Cox family just enjoys giving money away to boost the economy in GA.

      Advice to Management

      Take a good look at the structure of CEI and ask yourself if it really makes sense to have all of these employees and departments pretty much doing the same jobs.

    • Helpful (2)

      Cox Talent Acquisition-Stay Far Away!!

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Former TA Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Benefits-That is the only Pro

      Cons

      The leadership team (Directors and Sr Managers) are all part of the good old way of playing favorites. If you do not kiss butt, you will not be promoted from within. Cox Talent Acquisition was an extremely toxic environment to work for. They have ZERO people skills and will not help you further your career. The nonsense and daily politics show with how awful their retention rate is.

      Advice to Management

      Simply put-Treat People with respect and ACT like a true Enterprise Recruiting Team instead of putting people down and making them not feel welcome. This is why people leave.

      Cox Enterprises Response

      November 2, 2018

      Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed your experience was not what you’d hoped for. With new leadership and a new strategic plan in place at Cox Talent Acquisition, employees are at the center. We are confident about our path forward. Thank you ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      Amazing place to work

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Best company I have ever worked for. Benefits are fantastic and they truly care for their employees and the community

        Cons

        I have nothing negative to say

        Cox Enterprises Response

        September 17, 2018

        Hi, and thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear that you’re enjoying your time with us!

      • Engineer

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Cox Enterprises full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Potential to try new things, and learn.

        Cons

        A lot of internal politics and some employees favored over others. Salary not competitive with the market. Lack of constant good leadership.

        Advice to Management

        There is no presence of good leadership at the local Silicon Valley office. And things keep changing all the time.

      Found 187 reviews