Cracker Barrel Reviews | Glassdoor

Cracker Barrel Reviews

Updated December 11, 2017
2,266 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cracker Barrel President & CEO Sandra B. Cochran
Sandra B. Cochran
708 Ratings

2,266 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Relatively flexible schedule for students (in 146 reviews)

  • Flexible hours for college students (in 88 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance isn't ideal (in 53 reviews)

  • It takes a toll working such long hours (in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (14)

    "Fulfilling and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in McKinney, TX
    Current Employee - District Manager in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Full liberty to execute and support systems. Always looking for innovative way to deliver the brand. Diverse senior leadership. Looking to grow the brand beyond the usual growth.

    Cons

    Lots to do all the time. At times the activities are coming Mile a minute. Have to stay alert and responsive .

    Advice to Management

    Stay transparent

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad Cracker Barrel has been a rewarding and challenging experience. We love keeping our employees on their toes, as it allows you to focus on new and... More


  2. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in Saint Robert, MO
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in Saint Robert, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work flexible hours, fast advancement if welling to work hard

    Cons

    none to report at current time

  3. "Pretty decent for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Nicholasville, KY
    Former Employee - Server in Nicholasville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Schedule can be to set to what times and days you want.

    Cons

    Will have to work Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Mothers Day, and all other Major holidays, as they are only closed on Christmas day.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We're glad you were able to take advantage of our flexible scheduling!


  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Flowery Branch, GA
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Flowery Branch, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good money, awesome boss, Great crowds

    Cons

    late night, not steady income

    Advice to Management

    Be more kind

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. We hope you were able to learn and grow while being part of our family, and we wish you luck on your next career move.


  5. "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work everyone is like family. This company really cares about its employees

    Cons

    Open on thanksgiving and it’s really busy

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the family! We truly value you.


  6. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Corydon, IN
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Corydon, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    discount on top of sale
    things for everyone
    simple tasks

    Cons

    stressful at times (but what job isn't)
    REQUIRED to work part of Thanksgiving w/o additional pay

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees
    calm down about the theft prevention from your own employees
    deal with issues sooner rather than later

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for leaving a review. We understand things can get stressful at times, but we appreciate you working so hard to ensure everything runs smoothly.


  7. "Cashier - Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and cozy environment

    Cons

    Overly packed during the holiday season.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback! We understand that our locations can be very busy...especially during the holiday season, but we appreciate the hard work of everyone at Cracker Barrel.

  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zionsville, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zionsville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, easy to trade shifts, tasty food, decent training, encouraged cross-training and lengthy service, corporate rules made for same procedures at any location

    Cons

    Set schedule for advancement, hosts regularly did not spread out guests evenly among the servers

    Advice to Management

    Affirm what employees do right. Schedule shifts out longer than a week at a time.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our flexible scheduling and training program. We'll take your feedback in regards to scheduling into consideration on our end.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in South Hill, VA
    Current Employee - Server in South Hill, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a Cracker Barrel employee you are set up on a par system. It's great because you have to steadily earn your way up the ladder but it's one month to your first par, three to the second, and so on. Each par gets you raises, more vacation, or deeper discounts as well as increases on bonuses. As long as you work your way up the ladder and maintain that same performance, you are golden!

    Cons

    You will, and I mean WILL, work every single major holiday. You will work nonstop the week of Thanksgiving, for example, and requests for time off for any time in that week are thrown out with very few exceptions.
    If you want to work and show the initiative to earn your hours by doing your job well, they will give you as many hours as you want. However, the flip side is that most people bite off more than they can chew for too long and they end up burned out.

    Advice to Management

    In my opinion the managers are doing great given all that they do and the high standards that they are held to. My only advice would be to remember to reward people for doing their jobs well. No one wants to be at work on Thanksgiving and many Cracker Barrel employees don't get to eat Thanksgiving dinner. Showing some appreciation with open fountain goes a long way on those days!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We agree! Employees should be rewarded for working hard and we're committed to making sure they're recognized.


  10. "Fun and interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Canton, GA
    Current Employee - Hostess in Canton, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My pay is great for not having a very hard job. The majority of my coworkers are very friendly, and my bosses can be too. You’re able to take off as many days as you want to via an online calendar, and you get paid weekly instead of bi-weekly. They have 20% discount on all retail and restaurant items for employees PAR 1 and above. You get a $100 gift card during holiday season if you’re a PAR 4, and a $25 restaurant meal voucher all rising stars - PAR 3s

    Cons

    If you’re a rising star you don’t get hardly any benefits. The managers ALWAYS pick favorites. There’s a really unfair distribution of salaries as the ETC starts everyone at a different base pay.. managers often mess up scheduling, rude customer (sometimes), chaotic environment sometimes. Servers complaining about double seating gets very annoying (especially when they have 4 stars). Sometimes get micromanaged.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t play favorites, start everyone at the same base salary

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and for being part of our family. We hope you are able to continue to advance your career at Cracker Barrel. Please reach out to Field HR or Employee Relations if there is... More


Showing 2,266 of 2,270 reviews
Reset Filters