Cracker Barrel Reviews | Glassdoor

Cracker Barrel Reviews

Updated October 16, 2017
636 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cracker Barrel President & CEO Sandra B. Cochran
Sandra B. Cochran
138 Ratings

636 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Relatively flexible schedule for students (in 139 reviews)

  • Flexible hours; family environment; restaurant does not offer alcohol (in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance isn't ideal (in 50 reviews)

  • It takes a toll working such long hours (in 94 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Cashier/ Retail employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier Retail Employee
    Current Employee - Cashier Retail Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Entry-level, easy to learn job duties, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Weekly schedule release instead of bi-weekly or monthly,

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Flexible scheduling is something that many of our employees take advantage of, and we're happy to be able to offer that.


  2. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in East Windsor, CT
    Former Employee - Cashier in East Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment with great co-worker support

    Cons

    Excessive need to push selling of product which affects possible hours

    Advice to Management

    Make it more about the customer not about the monetary gains

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you felt supported in your role at Cracker Barrel.

  3. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Amazing support system, amazing coworkers.

    Cons

    Rude guests, always busy.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed being part of the Cracker Barrel family.


  4. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Family friendly, good discount on food and retail store

    Cons

    Work hard with very little rewards

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard working employees and focus on developing employees who want to move up in company

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We agree in the importance of rewarding our employees and will continue to focus on that.


  5. "Good part time jon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess and Waitress in Alexandria, LA
    Former Employee - Hostess and Waitress in Alexandria, LA

    I worked at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    If you are a good waitress, you will have good tips. Be conversational and engaging with guests.

    Cons

    Management is unorganized and disrespectful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and learn how to communicate effectively with everyone.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are committed to supporting our employees and truly do respect each member of the Cracker Barrel family. Good luck in your next career move.


  6. "Good place to start out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Great employees, decent work life balance

    Cons

    Management is too demanding at times!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review! We hope you enjoyed your time as part of our family.


  7. "Hostess part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Good teamwork and regulars are very kind

    Cons

    Stressful work environment and lots of pressure

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Teamwork is very important to us, so we're glad you recognized that. We would love to hear more from you regarding your concerns and things we can... More

  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    good for weekends ( fri, sat, sun)

    Cons

    not good for weekdays (mon, tues, wed, thurs)

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for leaving a review. We appreciate your service.


  9. "Poor Employee Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Server in Harrisburg, PA
    Former Employee - Server in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good regular guests
    Decent pay on a good day

    Cons

    Lack of hours
    Guests come first and only
    Unmanaged drama during business hours
    Management condemning poor work despite inability to complete tasks due to untrained employees being left to their work unwatched
    Employees ignoring each other's need for help with getting food out to hang out in the vestibules and chitchat

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We believe its very important that everyone in the Cracker Barrel family is focused on serving our guests. This requires a great deal of teamwork and adequate... More


  10. "Cashier/Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Harker Heights, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Harker Heights, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    5 hour work shifts in Retail. Good co-workers to work with. My retail boss is amazing. She works with my forever changing schedule

    Cons

    Restaurant side is stressful. Side work makes you stay an hour to hour and half after you're scheduled to be off. Most of the managers are managers and not leaders

    Advice to Management

    Listen to both sides of a story before you put the blame on someone. Listen to your employees and interact with them as people not just your employees


Showing 636 of 2,169 reviews
Reset Filters