Cracker Barrel Reviews | Glassdoor

Cracker Barrel Reviews

Updated June 27, 2017
547 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cracker Barrel President & CEO Sandra B. Cochran
Sandra B. Cochran
156 Ratings

547 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • flexible schedule work life balance great offer fr advancement (in 104 reviews)

  • Expect flexible hours with a lot of job security (in 78 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance isn't ideal (in 46 reviews)

  • It takes a toll working such long hours (in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Server 4"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Madison, AL
    Current Employee - Server in Madison, AL
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility and do not serve alcohol

    Cons

    Serving is a very challenging job, and gratuity is not charged for large parties. This is a problem when a large party does not tip, as a server's hourly wage is affected drastically

    Advice to Management

    Bill gratuity for parties larger than 10 people

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope you continue to enjoy being a part of the Cracker Barrel family and will share your concerns internally.


  2. "A great job if your store has great leadership."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Lawton, OK
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Lawton, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast-paced, quick promotions, thorough training plan, strong business to be employed in, associates are involved in hourly sales tracking, a great start to the path of Pleasing People.

    Cons

    Depends on the leaders for satisfaction. Managers are important in setting the mindset for the team, and it doesn't bode well if the managers don't seem to want to be there.
    There is an 11-month measurement period for health benefits, which you only qualify for if you average thirty hours a week in those months.
    Corporate is good at promoting sales contests and communicating changes, progress, and news, but that doesn't mean much if the store leaders aren't on the floor communicating that same info to the hourly employees.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach.
    If you require that your skill trainers and hourly to know and practice guiding principles and absolutes, you need to do the same.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for providing this great feedback. We agree that its important that everyone at Cracker Barrel share the same vision. We encourage you to keep up the good work and your commitment to our ... More


  3. "Retail sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murrells Inlt, SC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murrells Inlt, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative comments.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing this positive feedback. We're glad you're enjoying the flexibility that a career at Cracker Barrel offers.


  4. "Excellent workplace!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Danville, KY
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Danville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    -Clean, modern workspace
    -Since of "family" rather than "coworkers."
    -Unlike my last employment (fast food), everyone truly smiles! Not because they have to either!
    -It smells so good!
    -Their PAR program lets everyone advance at Cracker Barrel, I like that if I put in effort I can be promoted
    - web based system allows you to request vacation/ days off from your phone, view what your check will be, and schedule
    - as you increase your PAR level, you get raises and a discount that can be used at any Cracker Barrel!
    - Did I mention how good it smells???

    Cons

    -Newer employees work little hours
    - Before you leave the building you must be searched by a restruant manager..I thought that was kind of strange.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We couldn't agree more - the food DOES smell great! And we love that you've recognized our commitment to promote from within and to help our employees grow. Keep up the hard work and we're sure ... More


  5. "Serving"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Conroe, TX
    Former Employee - Server in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great money, and serving guests is fun.

    Cons

    Lots of time spent after shift doing annoying minuscule chores

    Advice to Management

    Cool it on the cleaning every month for inspection, hire someone to do that and let us do our proper chores. Also ensure dish workers provide clean silverware so we can roll, instead of sorting and cleaning our own silverware, just so we can do it. If you want us to clean silverware, pay us more than 3.00 an hour.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and for being part of the Cracker Barrel family. We're glad you enjoyed serving our guests :)


  6. "Server"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Evansville, IN
    Former Employee - Server in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Extensive training with the option to move to other positions and the possibility of promotion to management positions in any shift desired

    Cons

    There is a high turn around rate and alot of people on staff all the time which makes it hard for serves to make decent daily pay in tips.


  7. "Server"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Hendersonville, TN
    Former Employee - Server in Hendersonville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Scheduling flexibility is very helpful.

    Cons

    Very strict in the dress code department .


  8. "Server"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Maumee, OH
    Current Employee - Server in Maumee, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, fun place to work, great tip money

    Cons

    Management, long hours, no promised breaks

    Advice to Management

    Show more sympathy and confidentiality respect towards your employees.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    May 24, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback - and thanks for being part of our family! Please keep in mind that the Field HR team and the Employee Relations team are available to discuss any ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server, Server-Trainer in Chattanooga, TN
    Former Employee - Server, Server-Trainer in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Cracker Barrel is a company that does actually care about its employees and their training program is one that sets you up for success, no matter what position you are in

    Cons

    It seems like corporate could do a better job of selecting restaurant managers

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of putting restaurant managers in place who know how to both handle customers and support the servers.


  10. "Head Cook"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook Supervisor in Valdosta, GA
    Former Employee - Cook Supervisor in Valdosta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    High Volume and short shifts

    Cons

    Short shifts, management, and false promises upon being hired

    Advice to Management

    Management is most likely alot better now with the changes that I heard were made

    Cracker Barrel Response

    May 12, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are constantly focused on our employee experience and implement changes when necessary to make sure that we're fostering a positive work ... More


Showing 547 of 1,969 reviews
Reset Filters