Cracker Barrel Reviews | Glassdoor

Cracker Barrel Reviews

Updated June 23, 2017
328 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cracker Barrel President & CEO Sandra B. Cochran
Sandra B. Cochran
157 Ratings

328 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • flexible schedule work life balance great offer fr advancement (in 103 reviews)

  • Expect flexible hours with a lot of job security (in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance isn't ideal (in 46 reviews)

  • long hours no advancement clicky (in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Fulfilling and challenging"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in McKinney, TX
    Current Employee - District Manager in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Full liberty to execute and support systems. Always looking for innovative way to deliver the brand. Diverse senior leadership. Looking to grow the brand beyond the usual growth.

    Cons

    Lots to do all the time. At times the activities are coming Mile a minute. Have to stay alert and responsive .

    Advice to Management

    Stay transparent


  2. "Server"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress/Hostess/Line Cook/Server Trainer in Abingdon, VA
    Current Employee - Waitress/Hostess/Line Cook/Server Trainer in Abingdon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They are a great company to work for and give you an opportunity to move up if you wish to do so.

    Cons

    Being short handed and not listening to our concerns

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees if they do a good job let them know!!!! Any help is fine; but to have a good dependable employee is hard to find!!!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. We agree that it's very important to recognize our great employees. At Cracker Barrel, we consider ourselves to be a family, and work hard to ensure that vision is shared ... More


  3. "Fair and balanced"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Pearland, TX
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Pearland, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great for high school students and old adults

    Cons

    Need to add regional menu items from local

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5-star review! We do offer flexible career options, which are in fact great for students and any one else that needs some versatility in scheduling.


  4. "Associate Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Perrysburg, OH
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Perrysburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Internal promotion. Equal opportunity for all. Performance based. Salary plus bonus

    Cons

    Mandatory that you work holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your team aligned. Set clear expectations to your team.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5-star review!! We are committed to promoting from within so we're glad that you've noticed this. We also agree that its important for all members of the Cracker Barrel family to have ... More


  5. "Cashier/Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work schedule is good and flexible to my needs, Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Stays pretty busy, it can get stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep a good attitude throughout the day.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the positive feedback! It's great to hear that our flexible scheduling has worked well for you. Keep up the great work.


  6. "I am a hostess and love my job. At my age its hard to find one that has a lot of patience like they have with me."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in West Valley City, UT
    Current Employee - Hostess in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay. Great hours. Great discounts.

    Cons

    Not always do you get a break.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really we have the best manaagement now.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Jun 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    THANKS for the 5-star review! Keep up the great work.


  7. "Server"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Tallahassee, FL
    Former Employee - Server in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It offers flexible schedules and time off, hires entry level servers. It was a great job for a student in college.

    Cons

    The menu is cheap, so the tips aren't always great. You will most likely work on most holidays as well.

    Advice to Management

    The management at my store was very good, overall. I occasionally wished more servers were scheduled during peak times, but other than that it was great!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    May 31, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at Cracker Barrel.


  8. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Valrico, FL
    Current Employee - Server in Valrico, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Company to work for.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.


  9. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backup/Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Tupelo, MS
    Current Employee - Backup/Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay, Good benefits, promotion from within

    Cons

    I can find no cons

    Cracker Barrel Response

    May 24, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5 star reviews! Keep up the great work in Tupelo.


  10. "Retail store"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Martinsburg, WV
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Martinsburg, WV

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly guests, upbeat environment, they keep your shifts short and don't over due you, understandable managers and very laid back, and easy to move up.

    Cons

    You can't use your employee discounts until you've been there for 30 days.


Showing 328 of 1,963 reviews
Reset Filters