Cracker Barrel Reviews | Glassdoor

Cracker Barrel Reviews

Updated December 11, 2017
2,264 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2,264 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Relatively flexible schedule for students (in 146 reviews)

  • Flexible hours for college students (in 88 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance isn't ideal (in 53 reviews)

  • It takes a toll working such long hours (in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fun and interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Canton, GA
    Current Employee - Hostess in Canton, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My pay is great for not having a very hard job. The majority of my coworkers are very friendly, and my bosses can be too. You’re able to take off as many days as you want to via an online calendar, and you get paid weekly instead of bi-weekly. They have 20% discount on all retail and restaurant items for employees PAR 1 and above. You get a $100 gift card during holiday season if you’re a PAR 4, and a $25 restaurant meal voucher all rising stars - PAR 3s

    Cons

    If you’re a rising star you don’t get hardly any benefits. The managers ALWAYS pick favorites. There’s a really unfair distribution of salaries as the ETC starts everyone at a different base pay.. managers often mess up scheduling, rude customer (sometimes), chaotic environment sometimes. Servers complaining about double seating gets very annoying (especially when they have 4 stars). Sometimes get micromanaged.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t play favorites, start everyone at the same base salary

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and for being part of our family. We hope you are able to continue to advance your career at Cracker Barrel. Please reach out to Field HR or Employee Relations if there is... More


  2. "Retail Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours for college students.

    Cons

    Pay is okay but could be better.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for leaving a review. We agree! Cracker Barrel is very flexible, which makes it the perfect job for students.

  3. "HR Intern at Home Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I absolutely loved single but if this internship!

    Cons

    There really are no negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the five-star review!


  4. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Allows great experience, and chance to grow

    Cons

    Difficult management, wanted to work more than part time hours

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We're glad Cracker Barrel was a learning experience for you. We love seeing our employees excel.


  5. "retail sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    great people, relatively low stress

    Cons

    a lot of standing/walking, occasionally angry customers

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the positive review and for being part of the Cracker Barrel family!


  6. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Love working with the guests.

    Cons

    What is Cracker Barrel' s break policy? Out of all the comments I read you never clarify what the policy is.

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. Please connect with Field HR and Employee Relations in regards to any questions you have around breaks. Thanks!


  7. "The Work is Hard But The Schedule is Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Lacy-Lakeview, TX
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Lacy-Lakeview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, working with people, cheaper meals.

    Cons

    Harsh Work Environment, Bad Communication.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate Better

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We're glad you were able to take advantage of our flexible scheduling!

  8. "Former fan, current hater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Williamsville, NY
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Williamsville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cracker Barrel full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    some really great people, mostly lower level employees (cooks and waitresses) but some management as well. overall I liked the company motto and agreed with a lot of policies.

    Cons

    management has lost control. rules change depending on how management feels that day and people who are act out regularly are not punished out of fear they will quit because we are so understaffed and the people they know wont quit who they know come in and try their best they will berate and take their frustration out on and then try to joke and act like nothing happened. tired of being asked to do favors and treated like a friend one minute and then kicked like a dog the next.

    Advice to Management

    needs new management and honestly a lot of people need to be fired


  9. "It's exactly what you would imagine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Server in Shelbyville, IN
    Former Employee - Server in Shelbyville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cracker Barrel part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Enjoyable coworkers, management is good for the most part, non-franchised, half off employee meals

    Cons

    Old people, nontippers, cheap seats = frequent $1 tips, high expectations from management

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to help servers who you see struggling instead of reprimanding them

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We truly have a great team here at Cracker Barrel. We appreciate your feedback.


  10. "Hometown Goodness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Charleston, SC
    Former Employee - Server in Charleston, SC

    I worked at Cracker Barrel (More than a year)

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, great people. Good money

    Cons

    Hard work, pettiness between servers

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review! We agree that working in a retail/restaurant environment can be hard work, and isn't the right fit for everyone.


Showing 2,264 of 2,268 reviews
Reset Filters