KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cracker Barrel

Is this your company?

Cracker Barrel

Add a Review

Cracker Barrel Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 of over 5,173 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Cracker Barrel President & CEO Sandra B. Cochran
Sandra B. Cochran
1,609 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cracker Barrel and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Tons of opportunity for advancement and monetary gain. Corporate environment treats you like a kindergarten felon.

    Mar 9, 2014 - General Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of quality training or yourself, managers and staff. Good quality product you can be very proud to sell, professional customer base, excellent compensation in the right unit.

    Cons

    Micromanaged to the extreme, I worked here for 8 years and after I left I didn't know how to act independently. They will make you into a brainwashed drone if you are not careful. Very long hours to be successful in a high volume unit (29 days a month 12 hours a day, which they will say they don't want you to do but you better or else.) Employees and guests are treated with kid gloves to the point of creating a devilish entitlement ethos while management is treated like chopped liver. You will be under constant threat of termination while a gm with this company and at the same time they will convince you over and over that there are no other jobs to go to and your family will suffer if you leave. I achieved General Manager of the year for 2 consecutive years and during that time I was threatened and written up repeatedly. Very negative yet smile in your face corporate environment. To sum it up, always read between the fine print and look for the hidden meaning in anything from the top. After this paragraph I probably sound incredibly paranoid, all I can say is spend 8 years with cracker barrel and you will understand.

    6 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    I sincerely love my job....very rewarding. This company takes great care of its people.

    Oct 5, 2016 - Restaurant General Manager in Kenosha, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary....constant training and on going development. Incredible bonus potential for management. This one of the few concepts still driven by top line sales....while most concepts are only focused on driving the cost numbers we still spend time with our guests and staff. The culture is amazing....we are constantly updating ways we do things to make us more cutting edge but still hold true to our core and who we are as a brand. The fact we are still growing and building more and more stores while other concepts are closing yo control costs is amazing. West coast here we come!!!!

    Cons

    It's hardwork at times but if you are an aggressive planner and great at execution not all that bad. The only holiday we are closed for is Christmas Day. Work schedule at times can be long hours and long weeks but like I said before if you aren't afraid to work hard it's VERY rewarding both monetarily and spiritually....you help people everyday which is awesome!!!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Horrible job

    Apr 28, 2019 - Associate Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay and benefits; not much else

    Cons

    long, long , long hours; gm's play favorites; no development after initial training, be prepared to cook most of your shift, then stay late to complete management duties ; everything promised in interview is a lie

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard work not enough help, long hours

    May 9, 2019 - Crew Member/Grill Cook in Bluffton, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Descent pay and able to work around your schedule

    Cons

    Under stuff no days off and long hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    All around good

    Jul 20, 2019 - Prep Cook in Montgomery, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay to begin with

    Cons

    Long hours at first then not

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Cracker Barrel has gotten greedy and does not care whatsoever about their employees.

    Feb 12, 2014 - Retail/Cashier/Host/Server in West Memphis, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    50% discount off meals while eating

    Cons

    Pay is laughable, Hours are constantly cut, Long hours, Expected to do back-breaking labor for minimum wage, No benefits, No vacation pay, No sick leave, No employee perks, Management treats employees with no respect.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Double edged sword

    Aug 15, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    50% off employee meal AS LONG AS you are clocked on, eat in tiny break room, wait until the cooks have nothing else to make before making yours, and cannot take it home. The location I work in has some really awesome management and I only dislike one of my 60 some coworkers so that is good odds. Also flexible with time off/working out days off.

    Cons

    Long hours, and off-the-floor 'sidework' and silverware rolling for $3.35 an hour. Not allowed to smoke on property, super strict dress code which is constantly withheld, down to no choices for nail polish besides clear coat or French manicure. Heavy loaded down trays of food.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst job experience ever

    Feb 28, 2015 - Prep Cook/Grill Cook in Boone, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Only place I've ever worked at where I actually got raises. Benefits roughly on par with other restaurants, but definitely no where near great. They will actually let you get overtime, but that is a RARE occasion and still discouraged.

    Cons

    Long hours with no breaks. Constant fight to get hours no matter how hard you worked or how long you worked there. Treated with disrespect by supposed "professional" managers. It's all a numbers game to them and they don't care who gets caught in the cross hairs. Employees all hated their jobs and management did most times as well. Awful scheduling practices due to constraints placed by upper management. We were either grossly understaffed or overstaffed and your hours were cut. No schedule consistency whatsoever. I was constantly worried about making ends meet. I don't know who here said you get holiday pay, but you don't. Time and a half only exists if you get overtime and you're EXPECTED to work ALL holidays. Most holidays they don't even TRY to work with requests off (even if they're reasonable). This store couldn't even retain shift managers for more than a few months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great People

    Nov 1, 2017 - Retail District Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people and family environment. The customers are like family as well.

    Cons

    Long Hours and High Turnover of hourly teams

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Cracker Barrel Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're very family oriented, which is why it's so awesome working here. We also agree that employees should be recognized for a job well done. We truly appreciate you all and will continue to work hard on ensuring you all know that.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great first job, with a good atmosphere.

    Feb 3, 2014 - Par IV Server in Somerset, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a server, you can always go in to pick up extra shifts as long as you don't exceed 40 hours per week. At the store I'm with, we truly are like a family, which makes it easier getting through those long shifts. You make some awesome friends, and this company is very awesome about promotion within.

    Cons

    Standard cons for working in the service industry. Generally speaking, society determines your paycheck. You work long hours, and a lot of the time aren't off work at your scheduled out time (but that sort of goes without saying).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 50 of 157 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cracker Barrel Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews