Cravath Swaine "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cravath Swaine Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cravath Swaine CEO Evan R. Chesler
Evan R. Chesler
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, most people are friendly and are dedicated(in 8 reviews)

  • "If you're on a busy team, like I was, you will be worked hard, but live very comfortably -- expensed transportation and dinner after 8pm and good pay(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cravath Swaine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced; high caliber cases; independence and a lot of responsibilities

    Cons

    No work-life balance; demanding atmosphere

    Cravath Swaine2017-12-20
  2. "Great Place to Work but Low Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cravath Swaine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm works efficiently and the employees of the firm are all great people.

    Cons

    Very low work/life balance here

    Cravath Swaine2019-03-13
  3. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cravath Swaine full-time

    Pros

    Great people; great benefits; stability

    Cons

    expectations and work load too high; hard to attain work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    set realistic expectations to allow for a more work/life balance

    Cravath Swaine2017-04-20
  4. "Litigation Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cravath Swaine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, loyalty to employees, stimulating work environment.

    Cons

    Hard to have work/life balance at times.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cravath Swaine2016-12-01
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Work hard, never smart. Department is unwilling to change and change is needed from the top down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - End User Support Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cravath Swaine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free water and air conditioning. Free shoe shine machines in each bathroom. They have direct deposit. Occasionally someone will acknowledge you in the hallway .

    Cons

    Every day you work here, you kill a tree. You have to print everything. No respect for work/life balance. You'll get calls and emails, that aren't a priority, constantly from management

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people with respect. The benefits are no longer top notch, and the firms reputation has gone down since IT is so poor. You'll have to compensate with more money or you'll lose people

    Cravath Swaine2016-06-25
  6. "Corporate associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cravath Swaine

    Pros

    High exposure to all types of work, with high levels of autonomy granted early

    Cons

    Work-life balance (as with all large law firms) is lacking

    Cravath Swaine2015-08-31
  7. "Still one of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cravath Swaine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reputation; deal flow; responsibility even at junior level

    Cons

    Work/life balance; WWP not the best office space

    Cravath Swaine2013-11-05
  8. "Cravath - Good Pay, Bad Life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Litigation Legal Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cravath Swaine

    Pros

    Good salary for people right out of school

    Cons

    Poor working conditions and work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Please strive to offer work/life balance to employees.

    Cravath Swaine2009-01-12
  9. "Challenging work with Talented Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cravath Swaine

    Pros

    The reputation of Cravath as well as the excellent lawyers that surround you will be a great resume builder, and the firm truly gives young attorneys the chance to do substantive work earlier than other firms.

    Cons

    The partnership prospects are very dim and depending on the group, work life balance can be a very big challenge.

    Advice to Management

    I really have no advice for management, as I think they are very up front in the way they operate. I wish partnership discussions were more open, but it is what it is.

    Cravath Swaine2010-03-30
Found 9 reviews