KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Creative Circle

Is this your company?

Creative Circle

Add a Review

Creative Circle Employee Reviews about "freelance"

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 of over 747 reviews

3.6
76%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Creative Circle CEO Creative Circle (no image)
Creative Circle
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quality screening of potential gigs(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great pay and work-life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As good as freelance work can get(in 51 reviews)

  • "Anyway, she told me to apply at a lower hourly rate because I wasn't as qualified as other candidates(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Creative Circle and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "freelance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Good for contract work

      Apr 1, 2020 - Design Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good job placement and efficiency

      Cons

      As good as freelance work can get

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Not the Best For Full Time Work

      May 15, 2019 - Anonymous Freelancer in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to apply for jobs

      Cons

      Creative Circle is great for finding freelance work, but not so good if you want something full time and permanent. After meeting with a recruiter, I started getting regular emails with opportunities, of which I applied to at least a dozen. Never heard back from any of them, even when I felt I was well-qualified, until my recruiter started pushing for me to interview with a company I had recently been laid off from! I decided to do the interview even though I wasn’t keen on the company or the role, but for some reason the hiring managers were desperate for someone so they wanted to give me an offer. They never gave me an actual offer in writing or verbally, it was just implied by the recruiter that they “wanted to move forward” which I assumed meant an in-person interview. Nope. After a few days, I contacted the recruiter to say I wasn’t interested anymore and she got all upset, acting like I screwed over the client when in reality, I never committed to anything. She said she couldn’t consider me for any other positions right now so I guess I’m done trying to find a job through Creative Circle. I wish there was better communication to avoid situations like this but I wasn’t really excited about Creative Circle to begin with because they haven’t connected me with quality jobs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company that cares about their employees

      Feb 19, 2019 - Graphic Designer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Passionate about finding you a job -Gave me multiple options -Paid very well -Took my interests and talents into consideration

      Cons

      -Not a lot of smaller, short term, freelance opportunities

      29 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay agency to go through when looking for creative work opportunities

      May 14, 2019 - Creative Recruit in Warren, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Initial contact with Creative Circle, to sending opportunities, to landing interviews is really fast. Almost overwhelmingly fast, but that's a good thing. - Forwards lots of opportunities and are hands-on with trying to find the best fit for you. - Great initial first interview with your recruiter. Also a really good opportunity to talk about your work — great practice! - Ended up with a good full-time position (which is what I was hoping for) pretty quickly. Process moved along fast from start to finish.

      Cons

      - Incessantly call, even if they know you currently work a full-time position. Sometimes it's not easy for a potential candidate to drop what they're doing in the middle of a work day to speak on the phone. - Really advocate for contract/freelance work when you specifically ask for a full-time position, and then try to make contract work sound romantic by saying that contract work actually gives you more freedom to look for other positions that you think sound good. - Certain recruiters are pushy and manipulative. They will push you into an interview that you don't necessarily want to do. They'll also try and manipulate you into going to another scheduled interview when you have already accepted another position through them, saying that it will "hurt your chances to network in the future" and that they "understand that it's your choice" over and over trying to guilt you into going. They are actually worried about their relationship with the client rather than your future ability to network with people in the client's circle. - Once accepting a full-time position, all communication ends pretty abruptly. Probably because you're not freelancing through Creative Circle, but the abruptness of all communication ending definitely feels like they just wanted you for the commission (which, in the end, they do — but at least hide it).

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 8 years

      Creative Circle is the Comcast of creative recruiting agencies

      Jul 29, 2019 - Freelance Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You got to be kidding...

      Cons

      A computerized system that conveniently emails jobs to prospective candidates asking for resumes and bullet points about why said candidate would be a good fit only to never hear from an actual recruiter. If you are a white male over the age of 35 with limited management experience, forget it, you are considered old and incompetent by recruiters. If their recruiters call and you cannot answer, good luck getting back in touch with one. It's sadly a numbers game. The supposed "great opportunities" are never as advertised. Usually gigs that you are way overqualified for and ones that your hourly rate is less than competitor agencies. Gigs that are short-term. Hardly ever Freelance to FT. They also take a larger cut of your hourly rate (sometimes 50% instead of 30%). If you ever work for other agencies and receive better treatment, you more than likely will be blackballed. Their clients usually lack professionalism, are cheap and will not give good references.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Freelancer

      If you can't answer the phone when they call... good luck.

      Aug 20, 2019 - Freelance Writer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy automated email system for new opportunities.

      Cons

      Unless you're able to pick up the phone in the middle of the day, it will be challenging to schedule an interview. I was met with rudeness each time I explained to the recruiter or coordinator that I work full time and can't always pick up my phone. I offered my availability several times over email and never received a reply. For a company that plays the middle man between potential employee/freelancer/contractor and employer/client, they have a pretty flippant approach to handling communication.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Alright at first but not worth it long term

      Jun 26, 2019 - Freelance Video Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Connect you to some good clients

      Cons

      At first they offer you lots of freelance jobs but then stop after a while. Ended up working lots of jobs at only a few companies, but then that's not even them finding you work, it's the companies requesting you again and then CC just gains money time and time again. BTW - they charge the company double what you're getting paid - really not a fair ratio.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      A Recruiting Agency that seems to not be able to distinguish between Freelance and Contract

      Mar 15, 2019 - "Freelancer" 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good Clients - Will Pay you - Stock Options for longer-term contractors. - Good for entry-levels to get their first quality gig - Unfortunately, the only Staffing agency that specializes in Creative and Marketing related things.

      Cons

      - Recruiters are probably the worst in the industry. Learn from Randstad, TEKsystems, Robert Half, and others. PLEASE. - It's obvious that these recruiters send you to your contract and just want you to shut up afterwards. Any questions etc you might have regarding your relationship with the client and other contracts are ignored or forgotten. - Chaotic. Get upset when you don't want to work for a client for another week of your two week gig because your time is up, yet on the same time expect you to get all the legal things in order which you can't do when at the location. - Pay is low compared to other agencies. - For a Recruiting Agency to not know the difference between a 'freelance' and 'contract' position is simply embarrassing. Often labels things that are obviously Contracts as 'Freelance'. Maybe because that's what Marketing and Design is more accustomed to hearing?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Scale tipped to benefit CC's bottom line

      May 2, 2019 - Senior Graphic Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get paid on a weekly basis.

      Cons

      No major medical health insurance for freelancers (not even for the permalancers), in a market where all other employment agencies provide it within a month or two of starting a contract. If you work for CC as a recruiter though, you do get health insurance. Why are contractors different? CC's commission is higher than other placement agencies. Multiple times, I've seen different agencies list exact same freelance job, with CC usually offering $10 - $15/hr less than others. The word on the street is that they take 50% commission, compared to around 30% by competitors. Agencies like Aquent, Vitamin T, Artisan, Wunderland Group (from my experience) are much more supportive of the talent, rather than focusing on the bottom line like CC. Companies that hire CC contribute to the exploitative treatment of the freelancers/employees. I'm puzzled as to why Clients utilize placement agencies as much as they do. I've applied for some jobs directly with some companies and heard nothing back. Then a couple of weeks/months later, I got a project there through an employment agency. I'd think it would be cheaper for a company to hire freelancers directly. Instead of paying $80 to an agency, they could pay the contractor $60 directly without the middle man. It seems lazy and wasteful.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Nice people but terrible pay.

      Apr 29, 2019 - Videographer/Editor in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The "reps" that I've worked with have been pleasant enough.

      Cons

      As a professional freelance videographer you offer your expertise and own equipment. The compensation that Creative Circle gives you is embarrassingly low. They obviously have no idea of the market value these role, since they pay about 1/4th of what any other freelance job would pay. It doesn't matter your experience, your reel, or the value of your gear. Expect to work hard for very little compensation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Creative Circle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Creative Circle? Share Your Experiences

    or