KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Creative Circle

Is this your company?

Creative Circle

Add a Review

Creative Circle Employee Reviews about "hourly rate"

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 747 reviews

3.6
76%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Creative Circle CEO Creative Circle (no image)
Creative Circle
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quality screening of potential gigs(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great pay and work-life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As good as freelance work can get(in 51 reviews)

  • "Anyway, she told me to apply at a lower hourly rate because I wasn't as qualified as other candidates(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Creative Circle and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "hourly rate"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Great Recruiting Experience

      Mar 4, 2020 - Freelance Graphic Designer in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As the first recruiter I met with moving to a new city, the Creative Circle was so nice and helpful. Within the first month, I had three interviews and landed a freelance gig with one of the largest agencies in the area. So glad I contacted them for help finding a job!

      Cons

      Lower hourly rates than finding work on your own, but I wouldn't have landed the job I did without them! Worth it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Interview with recruiter was terrible

      Apr 1, 2020 - Graphic Designer in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Called back promptly after applying for job

      Cons

      I met with a recruiter and she referred me to an internal position within a big corporation. During the meeting, she told me my internship experience didn't count as professional experience, and that I was not as qualified or good as other candidates she was referring to the position. Since when is internship experience not a valid professional experience? Anyway, she told me to apply at a lower hourly rate because I wasn't as qualified as other candidates. Initially, a recruiter should never tell you how you "stack up" against other potential candidates. She made me feel really crappy going into the interview process and like I had no shot at this opportunity even though she was referring me.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 8 years

      Creative Circle is the Comcast of creative recruiting agencies

      Jul 29, 2019 - Freelance Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You got to be kidding...

      Cons

      A computerized system that conveniently emails jobs to prospective candidates asking for resumes and bullet points about why said candidate would be a good fit only to never hear from an actual recruiter. If you are a white male over the age of 35 with limited management experience, forget it, you are considered old and incompetent by recruiters. If their recruiters call and you cannot answer, good luck getting back in touch with one. It's sadly a numbers game. The supposed "great opportunities" are never as advertised. Usually gigs that you are way overqualified for and ones that your hourly rate is less than competitor agencies. Gigs that are short-term. Hardly ever Freelance to FT. They also take a larger cut of your hourly rate (sometimes 50% instead of 30%). If you ever work for other agencies and receive better treatment, you more than likely will be blackballed. Their clients usually lack professionalism, are cheap and will not give good references.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fast and friendly

      Oct 30, 2015 - Web/Graphic Design in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience with Creative Circle is mostly positive. They found my first design job out of school. My rep was very knowledgable in my industry and very attentive. My contract job converted to a full-time salary position. Would work with Creative Circle in the future.

      Cons

      They may try to fit you into a position you don't want but you can always turn the job down. I have heard rumors that Creative Circle and other creative talent agencies add as much as 50 percent or more onto your hourly rate to the client.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Freelancer

      Inconsistent

      Jun 26, 2016 - Anonymous Freelancer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Access to jobs you wouldn't otherwise know about. - Extra money in your pocket for days that you don't have anything booked. - Recruiters at the Atlanta branch are very friendly.

      Cons

      They only do hourly rates. Meaning that they don't allow for "total project budgets." So for a project that someone may charge $1,000 for, you may only get $325 because the job is $25/hr. It's fine if you don't mind doing a lot of work for little pay because you have nothing else to do, but it's not ideal for making new business contacts. You're not allowed to take on any business from people they've introduced to you for at least a year after the contract completion. The only jobs that are really worth it are the full time salary positions. Wouldn't recommend CC to artists that just want to freelance or be available for contract work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Freelancer

      Are you bargain basement talent?

      Sep 17, 2015 - Senior Production Artist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited daily emails (for your junk bin).

      Cons

      The hourly rates offered for "expert level" talent are simply ridiculous. 50-60% of what Aquent and Creative Group will actively fight for. Their attitude (as explained to me) is that someone will always be desperate enough to accept these wages. Probably an appealing prospect for employers, but as a seasoned professional, I'm going to work on my own or with an agency that will sit down with me and stand up for me—they are out there. I hope other really dedicated people are staying away from this exploitive agency. If you offer professional expertise, you deserve professional compensation. You won't find it at Creative Circle.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Freelancer

      Writers: Stay away if you value your talent

      Jul 8, 2016 - Senior CopyWriter in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pro list is very short and far outweighed by the cons. They were nice enough when I went for an introduction/interview and they do send email opportunity alerts but that's all the good I can say about them.

      Cons

      The system is set up to be practically anonymous. After the initial signing up, I heard nothing from a human being, just a string of emails with job listings that contained minimal information at pitiful hourly rates. The emails were set up as 'do not reply' and didn't offer any path to get questions answered. When I did send my resume in, I never once heard anything back. It felt like my communications went into a big black hole. Waste of time and talent.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 3 years

      Cares about only clients, not their Talent

      May 19, 2016 - Graphic Designer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some exposure to large clients and there were always part-time jobs to fill. Always sends emails with most recent job postings.

      Cons

      VERY low hourly rate which they are receiving probably half of what they are actually charging their clients. A lot of the recruiters are inconstant with what the job description says and what the actual pay and description end up being. 75% of the freelance jobs I interviewed for would be canceled by their clients. I had canceled an interview once because I had received a job offer outside of Creative Circle and I was told that I was "extremely unprofessional" by one of their recruiters. This same recruiter tried convincing me it was a full time gig but then changed up her story by saying it was freelance.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      It helps me fill the gaps

      Jul 15, 2016 - Freelancer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Creative Circle work helps me fill in the down time between my other clients. For those who aren't good at selling, this is a good option. The weekly pay system is great. Low paying downtime is better than "no paying" downtime.

      Cons

      The hourly rates are pretty low, however, as a "fill in time" it's helpful.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Cattle Calls

      Jun 15, 2015 - Freelance Graphic Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Creative Circle is apparently ubiquitous in the advertising industry, like a viral infection.

      Cons

      Creative Circle inundates job boards (and your inbox, should you choose to subscribe) with endless job listings. Sounds promising, right? In reality they're just cattle calls. In one of the rare instances that I got a personalized response from them and the only time I accepted the assignment, it was a disappointment. Not only was the the hourly rate low, the assignment was misrepresented as a creative role at an agency/pr firm and turned out to be production support. Creative Circle was unresponsive and unapologetic when I pointed out the discrepancy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Creative Circle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Creative Circle? Share Your Experiences

    or