Credit Acceptance Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Credit Acceptance CEO Brett A. Roberts
Brett A. Roberts
255 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Believe the reviews that the company tells its employees to list CAC as a great place to work in its surveys or there will be hell to be paid(in 16 reviews)

  • "There are really no cons to working at Credit Acceptance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Credit Acceptance has proven to be true to their values in a time that so many other companies have fallen short. The company culture and values have only grown stronger during these unprecedented times. CAC is an excellent company to work for with amazing benefits and competitive pay structures. I couldn't be happier with my decision to join this organization.

    Cons

    As someone who works remotely, I look forward to more opportunities in the future to meet in person with my teammates. However, I appreciate the measures taken to protect our employees and customers during the COVID-19 pandemic. CAC's quick response was a clear illustration of their values.

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-06-04
  2. "Cool job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist| 

    I worked at Credit Acceptance full-time

    Pros

    Easy for the most part Laid back environment

    Cons

    Low pay for the customers you deal with

    Credit Acceptance2020-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A solid business model with decent core operations. That's the good news."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent. Management is transparent about what they are willing to invest in the staff, and for lack of a better word, it is "fair." C-level management is mostly good. Sales, Finance, Collections and Analytics are run very well, which is really the key to the company's success. Staff-level contributors across all departments (including IT) are solid and dedicated. The company holds a strong belief in the principles of the book "Good To Great." "Those who do the work know the most about the work" applies here in spades.

    Cons

    Some departments run counter to the culture and efficiency that has made the company successful. The IT department is essentially a train wreck of poor architecture and even worse strategy. When interviewing there, ask how many team members in IT have the title or job description of an architect. A ridiculous few. The application side struggles to meet the needs of the business and seems to always be a couple steps behind. The data center side is obsessed with implementing cutting edge technology - to the point of prioritizing it over partnering with the business (and the rest of IT for that matter) to fix glaring inherent problems. Often a process of just sitting down with a developer to walk through a process and see the issues is what is needed. Unfortunately though, that's not fun or cool, and getting to the habitual 4pm happy hour meetings are more of a priority. There's no-app side or business-side folks there, so the data center can instead exist in their happy oblivion.

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-05-05
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company provides autonomy to complete your duties day to day. Allows us the opportunity to grow and achieve higher levels of individual success. What we put out, is what we get back. Always takes an employee first approach and makes it a priority that the greatest asset to the company is its people.

    Cons

    Less time in team settings. When initially starting out, there is no set schedule and it is up to the individual to plan. This can be difficult for those who have never worked with this type of structure.

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  5. "Truly one of the Greatest Places To Work!!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, teamwork, and departmental collaboration. Encourages growth, providing consistent training opportunities and training resources. Amazing benefits and income opportunities. Great work/life balance with generous PTO. Great promotion opportunities. Everyone strives for excellence and enjoys working here.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any. This is a great company to work for!!

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  6. "Market Area Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There is a good amount of flexibility as long as you have good time-management. Keep on mind you are required to stay in constant communication with accounts and prospecting. - There is a lot of independence - You are responsible for what you do every day in order to grow your market. - My team is always there for me, when I have questions or need help there are multiple people I can reach out for help. - Amazing training program - Leadership truly cares about employees having what they need in order to do the best they can. I feel cared for and that I am working for an employer who appreciates me and my hard work. - Great Health insurance - You will actually get to see the CEO of the company from time to time. He sends out e-mails regularly and gives quarterly presentations.

    Cons

    - This can be a lonely position , after all you are driving to see accounts every day and I do not really get to spend time with fellow coworkers since they are busy in their markets or other cities. - You will need to rely on your computer and phone skills to not only survive, but doing a great job. You will have people willing to help you but you will not have an office where you can go to hang out with your coworkers and supervisors. - Although I believe every path is different and people who work for the company have different backgrouends, I believe opportunities for advancement are limites when it comes to promotions, you really only have a few options for advancement. Either, you can become a Director of Sales , Director of National Accounts, and/or possibly a trainer. - The company will take care of you but they also expect you to work very hard. (This is not necessarily a CON, but I would like you to have realistic expectations since you will not be given an easy job per se)

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  7. "Great company with unlimited potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior leadership is all about the employees! You make what you make! No limit, with all the support you can handle.

    Cons

    I wish I would have started years ago!

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  8. "6 years now"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Credit Acceptance has a goal to be one of the best places to work in the country. That commitment is evident throughout the company from the top down. Does not mean the job is easy, people are overpaid to do nothing, and no one has tough challenges to be faced. Fact is, you have to focus on goals, work relentlessly to pursue those goals, and achieve those goals. Pay, recognition, and career happiness are some of the things I have achieved since coming to work with Credit Acceptance. Your only competition is against yourself. Team members are open and honest and will do their best to help you achieve your goals. The Directors of sales have all been there and done it and are 100% focused on your success. Processes are defined and practiced and those that choose to follow the process's succeed. Having an entrepreneur mentality is a huge advantage. Except for 1 or 2 weekly meetings no one is telling you what to do. You have to have the ability to self manage, self motivate, avoid personal distractions to be successful. I owned my own business prior to coming to Credit Acceptance so I really enjoy this aspect of the job.

    Cons

    Communication throughout the company can be a challenge. Finding out who handles what when problems arise can be time consuming. Sometimes actually speaking to a person in a corporate office is challenging if you need an immediate answer. Generally people will respond to an e-mail same day.

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  9. "Love it Here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Area Manager in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow. Management listens. Reasonable goals. Great pay and great benefits. Company is open to feedback and thinks about people first, which is rare. Always working to better themselves and the employees that work within. If you like to work and you like competition, you'll like it here!

    Cons

    Your job is as good (or bad) as you manager.

    Continue reading
    Credit Acceptance2020-04-14
  10. "All Political"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Title Clerk in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Acceptance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of PTO and flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Management wanted you to kiss butt

    Credit Acceptance2020-03-09
Found 356 reviews