Credit Karma Reviews | Glassdoor

Credit Karma Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generally a very good work-life balance(in 24 reviews)

  • "Coffee bar, events squad, and workplace services in general all do a fantastic job(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are a few typical growing pains of a rapid growth company(in 14 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "I'm so lucky getting a job here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The work is always super interesting! - The perks are awesome! - Leadership is very transparent and looks out for both employees and users. - Pay is pretty good - Office is great!

    Cons

    Data analytics has room for improvement.

    Credit Karma2018-09-27
  2. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    - Great mission - Opportunity to work on products that will help millions of people

    Cons

    - Standard hyper-growth pains - Company needs to focus more on speed

    Advice to Management

    - Make sure to think big and make big bets - Focus on speed

    Credit Karma2019-06-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Profitable - Mission driven - Data driven - Uses cutting edge tech

    Cons

    - Lots of growth can be tough - Space at HQ is getting tight

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what we are doing. I really like it here. About to hit my 3 year mark!

    Credit Karma2019-04-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "fintech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    people are nice, and WLB is good

    Cons

    tech is week, and leadership teams has little tech background/insight

    Advice to Management

    bring more tech talent into eng leadership team

    Credit Karma2019-04-22
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Weak Engineering talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office space is great. The pay wasn’t bad and the benefits are decent. It has a brand name that is highly recognized and it has lot of potential for growth.

    Cons

    I was excited to be involved with the data engineering and data science teams. But the more involved I got the more I realized that it’s mix of shockingly average to bad engineers and data scientists. I think it all starts with the hiring process. The bad ones who got in early continued working to higher positions and the people they hired continued the tradition of bad engineers. I also don’t think they are handling...

    Show More
    Credit Karma2019-04-12
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Big Company Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries are EXTREMELY high now that bonus is rolled into base. Very little is expected of you in terms of work output or production. Very easy to slack off and hang out at the coffee bar.

    Cons

    Equity is a joke because the IPO is near.

    Advice to Management

    Just take the company public or sell it. Most of you are in over your heads, accept that and stop rolling the dice thinking you're smart enough to expand into other markets as successfully as you did with credit cards.

    Credit Karma2019-04-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture with lots of growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been fortunate enough to see mostly the good sides of CK since joining around a year ago. Managers that really care and co-workers that are super helpful.

    Cons

    Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains).

    Credit Karma2019-01-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work, but communication is a pain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool project, good place to work, smart people

    Cons

    Not all teams are great, and sometimes the team you think should be reliable like data pipeline, infrastructure is the unreliable piece. Definitely stress out because you have to fix other people stuff.

    Credit Karma2019-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Awesome culture and growth potential

    Cons

    We’re outgrowing the building and it’s getting hard to find conference rooms

    Credit Karma2019-01-31
  10. "Startup at scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring CEO, upward mobility, autonomy, emerging technologies, best practices

    Cons

    Growing pains, highly competitive, a bit top-heavy

    Credit Karma2018-12-17
Found 163 reviews