Credit Karma "coffee bar" Reviews | Glassdoor

Credit Karma Employee Reviews about "coffee bar"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
149 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "coffee bar"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've Worked For Yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Growth Marketing Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma for less than a year

    Pros

    Rarely in life does a company express so much compassion and willingness to help you learn that you rank working for them as one of the happiest moments in your life. However, this is how I genuinely feel about my time at Credit Karma. The management, for one, sees value in their employees and contractors alike, and I never felt hesitant to ask senior colleagues questions or a moment to chat about project progress. The culture promoted mentorship and transparency, and it was evident throughout my time that the team I worked with took these values seriously. Finally, you'll always find opportunities to develop professionally. Interesting cross-functional projects happen frequently, and these projects helped me build friendships and networking bonds across multiple departments. As far as benefits go, my contract included competitive health and dental insurance. The SF office is spotless and has an excellent coffee bar that makes (almost) any caffeinated beverage you can think of. The office is also filled with unique yet delicious snacks I haven't seen in other offices (like aloe juice, banana chips, sriracha seaweed wafers, and skyr) so you'll never get hungry while working there.

    Cons

    None that I could think of at this time.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2019-08-15
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Interesting growth but Chaotic and inflexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma

    Pros

    Nice location in the city Amazing coffee bar Solid compensation Great leadership

    Cons

    Business is 1 dimensional Lots of value on face time and no wfh flexibility Chaotic

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2019-09-18
  3. Helpful (18)

    "Toxic culture in Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coffee bar, snacks, lots of data on members, massive scale

    Cons

    People get fired overnight and disappear the next day. The org is completely disfunctional, promotions and growth potential are non-existent, and people are leaving quickly. The company is not supportive of working from home and only gives 15 days of PTO.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-05-24
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    - Smart, funny, and helpful people all around. Almost everyone here is a pleasure to work with. There is a special culture at Credit Karma: the abudance of clubs, organizations, and events encourage people to form friendships that span beyond the workplace. - A mission you can be proud about. It's rare that a company has an honest and proven dedication to helping its users like Credit Karma does. Countless times while wearing my CK swag, I've had random people on the street stop me and tell me how much they appreciate the help Credit Karma has provided them. This provides a ton of motivation to wake up on Monday morning or put in that extra work to get your features launched. - Top talent. Many of the engineers here could work for almost any tech company, and most of them will go out of their way to teach you new things. - Executive committee are mostly humble, approachable and willing to listen. There are office hours and a general "open door policy" that provide opportunities to provide your feedback to the top dogs. - Generally a very good work-life balance. There are times when you're expected to put in the extra hours required for the good of the business (yearly rush to launch big new stuff in January), but for the most part schedules and deadlines are empathetic toward individual contributors. - Willingness to change and adapt new technologies. Most of eng leadership regonize the abudance of tech debt, and encourage us to tackle issues creatively and with new (infrastructure approved) technologies like Docker, Scala, Typescript, and React. - Coffee bar, events squad, and workplace services in general all do a fantastic job. - Those snacks though

    Cons

    - Unclear and inconsistent promotion requirements. The guidelines for Senior level and above promotions continue to change throughout the years. There also seems to be inconsistency in these requirements across teams and departments. - Work From Home policy is generally non-existant. Some teams allow people to WFH several days a week, while others strictly forbid it or only allow for the occasional WFH day with advanced notice.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-04-20
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Positive mission, good place to work. I’m happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive mission (making financial progress possible for everyone) is genuinely supported by the C-level executive team. I really do feel like I'm working at a company that helps people. Ken Lin is an excellent CEO with the vision to keep CK growing. The work is challenging and interesting, I have experienced a lot of professional growth during my time at CK. Many companies of CK's size require a long commute down the Peninsula or to the South Bay, but HQ is right downtown next to multiple transit options. You can even bike to work (there's a bike room and showers). Beautiful office with free (Eat Club) lunch if you have a meeting during the lunch hour. Perks like a coffee bar, massages, mani-pedis, yoga classes, and social events.

    Cons

    Unevenness in promotions. Type-A self-promoters who play politics rise quickly, while those who focus on quietly turning out good work and helping people across the company make progress on less high-status initiatives will find themselves rising slowly, if at all. Certain execs are permitted to tyrannize not only people within their own working group, but across the company. They bark orders, demand constant attention, and insist that employees treat their pet projects as the #1 priority, encouraging them to de-prioritize projects for other execs. Luckily, they’re in the minority, and as long as you don’t work in their group you should be fine. Meeting-heavy culture sucks up too much time. My presence is frequently demanded at hour-long, weekly recurring meetings, for months, called solely to move someone’s pet project along. 30 to 60 minute meetings are scheduled for conversations that could have been resolved over email. Face time is good but there are only so many hours in the day. Typical Silicon Valley “open office“ seating cuts productivity with noise and distraction, and good luck finding a place to make a phone call or have a quick discussion you don’t want overheard by 10 people.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-03-11
  6. Helpful (34)

    "Great perks, nice people, poor management especially on MarComm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    What’s not to enjoy. Spa, coffee bar, bar, free food and drink, arcade games, PDP, companies events, and health benefits. There are plenty of perks. It’s easy to move up and shine if you rub the right people the right way and the pay is solid. People at team level genuinely seem to like each other.

    Cons

    This is not a jaded or one of “those” employees. It just is what it is. There is a total lack of communications on the Marketing and Communications team. Even when you try to communicate you are met with run around and disingenuous answers. The CMO lacks true experience. This is just a fact. New leaders have come in and caused so much confusion that team morale has collapsed and people are quitting left and right. At some point the CEO is going to have to ask, is this genuine turn over or is something going on with the new leaders he brought in. The entire PR team quit. The whole social team has been replaced. Creative is losing people left and right. People are being hired based on friendships and connections, not actual talent or experience. So many secrets, dishonesty, and shadiness. (Not to mention all the other people that have left recently. It’s actually sad at some serious loss of talent in other parts of the company for similar reasons.) What’s happening is not growing pains. It’s power struggles, mismanagement, lack of communication, everyone needing their voice to have a seat at the table, and disregard for people not in the inner circle. Many are afraid to even say anything in fear of retribution or being coached out. From a team level the people are great but there are real problems happening and if you’re looking to come somewhere amazing CK may be that place, but you’re certainly not trading away management issues, and miscommunication.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-03-10
  7. Helpful (32)

    "Toxic is putting it mildly for Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Great perks. Massage, coffee bar. Closed during end of year holidays. Engineering focused culutre

    Cons

    Toxic management hires in marketing who were told by CEO she could do whatever she wants has driven off about 15 people in a few short months to be replaced with inner circle from previous employers, even hiring people who failed miserably during interview process. People live in fear daily for their jobs to be lost even if they perform. Cliques, gossip, lies and disgusting behavior are the norm. Someone said to me today, ‘I guessed the me too movement passed by this department’ because of the openly misogynistic comments endured regularly by one of the inner circle new hires hitting in young girls openly in office.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-04-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Strong culture and investment in employees, aggressive roadmap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome culture around experimentation. We A/B test nearly everything in order to make data-informed decisions. We are also getting bolder and more mature in how we experiment, and are willing to test crazy things with a small exposure in order to find new mountains and opportunities to tackle. - People have an open mind. As someone who loves process improvement and feels there's always a better way to do something, I appreciate that my colleagues and leaders are open to trying new things. I don't have to fight an uphill, bureaucratic battle to have an impact. Usually the consensus is, "let's try it and see if it works." +1 for testing and experimentation culture. - CK invests in it's employees. From surface-level perks (free coffee bar with the best coffee in the area, full bars, spa, video games, ping pong table (that people actually use on a daily basis)), to impressive events ("field day" is epic, holiday events, company celebrations: the events team goes all out), to employee growth and learning (for example, Credit Karma University, where internal employees and external guests teach classes that are free to employees; also each employee gets a substantial budget to pursue learning outside of CK for conferences, classes, certifications, etc. For example, I'm using my budget to pursue a PMP certification). CK makes it clear that they believe in their employees' long term success and are willing to go above and beyond "superficial" perks. - Related to the above, work/life balance is great. With the exception of a few teams, I think the vast majority of folks are able to have a flexible schedule to allow for doctors appointments, picking up kids from school, staying home to get a delivery, etc. As long as you aregetting your work done, everyone is very supportive and flexible. - Executive leadership has not compromised on company mission. Our mission is to make financial progress possible for everyone, which is why all of our services are free. At multiple company town halls, people have asked "will we ever charge for our services?" and the answer is always a passionate "no". CK leadership does an excellent job of balancing the need for revenue and to drive business with their morals and mission. It's really motivating and makes me feel good about what we're doing. When people ask me my favorite thing about CK, this is number 1. I've never seen another company that is this committed to doing what's right.

    Cons

    Credit Karma is still learning how to operate at scale. There are a lot of dependencies across teams which creates overhead. The roadmap is aggressive so there are extensive conversations around priorities and alignment, and the coordination can sometimes slow us down. CK is also transforming in many ways at once - we are upgrading technology while trying to build features on top of it, creating new teams, and working to ship a number of large features that are dependent on one another. Sometimes it feels like we are building the plane while we're trying to fly it which can be inefficient and stressful. At the end of the day, in my mind, these problems (scale, dependencies, priorities, alignment) are solvable, and we are getting better, we just haven't solved them yet. For me personally, these are the kinds of problems I like to solve so it's difficult and at times frustrating, but engaging.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-03-12
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Whiny with a chance of incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Not sure why people are providing all these 1 star reviews. For me 1 star should be reserved for the worst of the worst - this is by far not the case. It doesn't have to be either 1 star or 5... Perhaps it's mostly people new to the workforce or those that have extremely high expectations. There will always be those that complain. - The perks are amazing: snacks, drinks, coffee bar, discounted massage + mani, company outings, unlimited sick days, etc... - The pay is usually above other Bay Area companies of similar size (don't compare this to Google or Facebook). - The executive team is approachable, smart and willing to listen. - Majority of employees are kind, helpful and want to do a good job - HR is very mindful of harassment, takes everything seriously (perhaps even sometimes too much) Obviously it's not perfect though...

    Cons

    - Some teams seem to have way more work than others. You always see the same people playing ping pong/pool/foosball - Products are rushed and deadlines seem arbitrary to please leadership. This causes a lot of extra work for many teams. - Too many fires and last minute requests distract from getting real work done - Teams take their goals/OKRs as the main priority and are reluctant to help others even if it's for the greater good - Politics are getting worse, but still not at level of some large silicon valley companies

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-02-10
  10. Helpful (24)

    "Lost in Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee bar Great snacks Really cool office space right by BART

    Cons

    Exec team has lost their way. They are indecisive and clueless. Management seems to change focus of the company from day to day. Customer acquisition has become ineffective. Pretty much everyone is looking for another job at this point. It's sad, as this was once a great place to work and a company with amazing potential.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-03-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews