KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Credit Karma

Engaged Employer

Credit Karma

Add a Review

Credit Karma Employee Reviews about "credit karma"

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 319 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
234 Ratings

What people are saying about Credit Karma

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Credit Karma and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "credit karma"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Team Members First

    May 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team member focused practices/culture, empathetic leadership, and strong alignment with core values.

    Cons

    Heavy meeting culture and challenges with up-keeping a balance of work commitments with personal life commitments, due to large volume of work and manual processes. Credit Karma has the right intention and has made strides to make progress in these areas!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Drastically changing...mostly for the worse

    Sep 21, 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great pay, benefits, equity, etc. - Some really smart people on the team. - Huge budgets, tons of experience in a short amount of time.

    Cons

    - Things have gone downhill dramatically since Intuit bought the company. More spending/responsibility than ever, hiring at an extremely slow pace for many teams, EVERYONE is burnt out. Stress pours down from the top, it's really not sustainable. - Politics, politics, politics. Both in the professional sense and the societal. If you don't drink the Kool-Aid, suck up to the right people or vote for certain politicians (many public comments at the detriment of Republicans/Conservatives - seriously), good luck. You will forever feel alienated from public Slack channels, peer recognition, company-wide updates, and the truly awful Chief People Officer. - The app is really hard to be motivated to work with; quite frankly, it's mostly taking advantage of poor people for profit. When has taking on more debt or another credit card ever actually helped anyone? - The company mission of "helpfulness" is much more a concept than a reality. Many people make you feel bad for asking for help, and most of the time it seemed like everyone just wanted to prove how smart they were. - Vaccine mandate coming in quick. They've already said that they won't hire people who aren't vaccinated, won't make exceptions for anyone to work-from-home. - No work from home opportunities post-covid. We all bent over backwards to shift our lives and keep the company running (now at a higher level than ever), and there isn't even consideration of allowing people to continue working from home. Honestly, my life has been significantly better since leaving Credit Karma.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Bureaucratic, Slow Paced, Weak Engineering Organization

    Sep 18, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Great benefits 2. Competitive pay 3. Many company events 4. Office perks 5. Miscellaneous company perks (e.g. early Friday release, you get your birthday off, etc) 6. Interesting tech stack

    Cons

    TL;DR if you're a software engineer looking for a transparent company and one where you can learn and grow with hard working coworkers, Credit Karma is NOT for you. 1. Cringey + opaque company culture. You get a sense that this is a company that does not value transparency and this is evident from a high, managerial/leadership level all the way down to a everyday interaction level. Abundant use of private DMs + channels on Slack, private calendars, etc etc. If you need assistance with something, instead of answering your question in public for posterity, you will receive a DM. Meetings feel ever so exclusive (not that they're consequential in the first place). The openness and fun captured in the countless company pictures mask the very obvious internal isolation and opaqueness. 2. Extreme and unnecessary bureaucracy. Want to be able to record a meeting? File a ticket for that. Want to download/install software to do your job? File a ticket for that. Want to provision some storage/resource to start your project? File a ticket for that too. So if everyone has to record a meeting, guess what everyone will have to file a ticket. Basically, you have to beg a million other people to get things done around here, and it just basically gives them the ability to say: "Wow, look at how busy I am today; I closed 10 tickets.", despite the ticket just literally being clicking a button or two... 3. Lack of engineering talent and foundation. This is where I may be a bit biased, since I come from a company where my coworkers were all go-getters, willing to put in the extra work and treat their work as more than a job. At Credit Karma, it just seems most people are perfectly content with working from 9-5 (i.e. complacency), doing the most minimal work and not with high quality. Examples include crappy alerts that never get changed; shared ownership of codebases lead to confusing team charters; extreme lack of integration+e2e tests (imagine hiring people just to navigate your UI instead of having suites of tests that can be run automatically); having to ask other people to do their job before you can do yours; the engineering onboarding has no clear ownership, so it does a very poor job at actually training new employees in a way that is practical; finally, people want to feel useful so seemingly there's a lack of documentation, so you have to consult the SMEs on things just so they feel useful (in reality, it's probably because repos have no clear ownership, and everyone who's know something about the repo has left the company already). Truthfully the list goes on, but in summary, the engineering culture at Credit Karma for the most part is complacent, and changes almost never happen.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic workplace environment

    Dec 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Collaborative team members 2. TC was decent due to the recent acquisition

    Cons

    1. High attrition due to politics, growth, and cultural issues. Growth is limited for high performers unless you are willing to play politics. 2. CPO created terrible culture and constantly abets politics and nepotism. She is least reflective of Credit Karma values and brushes off feedback and complaints. Multiple complaints about harassment and discrimination have been ignored and dismissed without follow-ups and accountability. 3. Weak EC leadership lacking vision and strategy to drive business growth.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Karmanaut culture

    Oct 14, 2020 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At the beginning of Covid when most companies also struggling were laying off employees, the EC committed to keeping all karmanauts even at the expense of pay. I appreciate the investment CK makes in its people, from $5k personal development program (will be reinstated in 2021) to CKU (Credit Karma University) taught by other karmanauts.

    Cons

    Culture can vary greatly depending on your team.

    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great mission, frustrating experience

    Sep 30, 2020 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great vision and mission. Many people who work there genuinely care about helping Credit Karma members achieve financial progress. Compensation, benefits, facilities, and events are generally good.

    Cons

    Credit Karma somehow feels like a much bigger company than it is, and the exec team is generally inaccessible outside of formal "town hall" settings. Leaders in certain parts of the organization come from large banks or traditional financial services backgrounds, which clearly reflects in their approach to management and strategy (more rigid and hierarchical) and creates friction with those who identify with Credit Karma as a technology company. Lack of transparency and accountability from the top has led to an unhealthy level of internal politics and bureaucracy, and is detrimental to speedy and effective decision-making.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Needs an intervention

    Feb 21, 2020 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Snacks - Nice office - Fully stocked bar - Great events Credit Karma was a fun place for everything except work. And work occasionally was pretty fun too.

    Cons

    - Politics - Bad leaders The below are my individual experiences working on an engineering team. I never had input into team’s priorities There was poorly suited code being copy and pasted left and right, and colleagues who cannot get code to compile despite years working in the language Aggressive, unclear OKR’s All code subject to a company wide code review panel Engineering design decisions were lead by consensus and emotion, with a strong resistance to change. Asking for details or demonstrating edge cases lead to anger, not analysis. A projects value was seemingly measured in the number of meetings it caused Agile process was cargo culted without understanding of value or any iteration on it. Note to reader: If you are an IC who wants to be challenged daily, takes a lot of initiative, and wants to make a big impact, this probably isn’t the place for you. Secondarily, coaching I have been privy to is downright incorrect and manipulative, unless you get really lucky with the right team.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing Company, Great People

    Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Wonderful executive team. Credit Karma has a great fantastic mission and the leadership is truly outstanding- very transparent, and extremely caring to their members and employees. 2) People- best experience I have had at any company in terms of people I worked with directly and indirectly 3) Growing company. It's always exciting to be with a fast-growing company

    Cons

    The only cons I experienced here were the typical growing pains fast-growing companies experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fake nice

    Aug 14, 2019 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office in San Francisco is nice. People are trying to do the right things, from a technical perspective. There are a lot of nice, well intentioned ideas at work here.

    Cons

    Career growth, HR is cruel, and the culture at the company is fake nice. This is not a meritocracy. I don't even know how to begin to explain, other than starting with the simple fact that people do not get promoted on the basis of doing good work. In fact, people don't really get promoted at all. What's really happening is managers playing politics with each other all day. If you want to get a promotion you have to have the right manager, and chances are if *that*'s the kind of manager you have then you have to be extremely obedient, for lack of a better word. Also, most of the good engineers have started to leave. HR is straight up scary. It's rare that you'd ever have to deal with them, but if you do they can be so mean and insensitive. Basically, it's a kafkaesque, bureaucratic nightmare, with a little hint of a sadistic streak. I know that sound dramatic, but it's honestly how I feel. You know that feeling you get when someone enjoys having power over you and causing pain? That's how you feel when talking to HR, at Credit Karma. The last thing is that the company has really exploded in size and ambition lately, and it really feels a lot different. This used to actually be a nice place. Now it's fake nice. There's the managers playing politics, and you start to see the beginning of a lot of double speak. There are a lot of big projects, which has created a really cut throat, nasty attitude under the surface. This is not the kind of place where you can be yourself, unless that person is a robot and useful to their manager. Also, work speak is the absolute worse when it gets used as a tool to hide meanness.

    Continue reading
    35 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Best Company I've Worked For Yet

    Aug 15, 2019 - Growth Marketing Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rarely in life does a company express so much compassion and willingness to help you learn that you rank working for them as one of the happiest moments in your life. However, this is how I genuinely feel about my time at Credit Karma. The management, for one, sees value in their employees and contractors alike, and I never felt hesitant to ask senior colleagues questions or a moment to chat about project progress. The culture promoted mentorship and transparency, and it was evident throughout my time that the team I worked with took these values seriously. Finally, you'll always find opportunities to develop professionally. Interesting cross-functional projects happen frequently, and these projects helped me build friendships and networking bonds across multiple departments. As far as benefits go, my contract included competitive health and dental insurance. The SF office is spotless and has an excellent coffee bar that makes (almost) any caffeinated beverage you can think of. The office is also filled with unique yet delicious snacks I haven't seen in other offices (like aloe juice, banana chips, sriracha seaweed wafers, and skyr) so you'll never get hungry while working there.

    Cons

    None that I could think of at this time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

Popular Careers with Credit Karma Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Credit Karma? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Credit Karma

415 days ago

Company News
We're proud to be named #4 on Comparably's Best Places to Work in the Bay Area 2021 list.
Shared image - The 25 best places to work in the Bay Area, according to local employees
The 25 best places to work in the Bay Area, according to local employees
www.businessinsider.com

Credit Karma Photos

+ Add Photo
Credit Karma photo of: Go Giants!
Credit Karma photo of: At Credit Karma, we encourage active collaboration.
Credit Karma photo of: Our Charlotte office space.
Credit Karma photo of: Our office space in Charlotte.
Credit Karma photo of: Our LA office space.
Credit Karma photo of: Fresh air space.
Credit Karma photo of: Our LA office space
See All Photos