Credit Karma "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Credit Karma Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
149 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Best tech company in the Bay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - So much opportunity for growth. - Transparency is alive and well. - Everyone here is genuine and kind. That's a true rarity in tech!

    Cons

    Growing pains exist, but these are good challenges to overcome.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  2. "Amazing Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Wonderful executive team. Credit Karma has a great fantastic mission and the leadership is truly outstanding- very transparent, and extremely caring to their members and employees. 2) People- best experience I have had at any company in terms of people I worked with directly and indirectly 3) Growing company. It's always exciting to be with a fast-growing company

    Cons

    The only cons I experienced here were the typical growing pains fast-growing companies experience.

    Credit Karma2019-10-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture with lots of growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been fortunate enough to see mostly the good sides of CK since joining around a year ago. Managers that really care and co-workers that are super helpful.

    Cons

    Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains).

    Credit Karma2019-01-31
  5. "Startup at scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring CEO, upward mobility, autonomy, emerging technologies, best practices

    Cons

    Growing pains, highly competitive, a bit top-heavy

    Credit Karma2018-12-17
  6. "Keep it Up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great perks, great positive and inspiring mission.

    Cons

    Standard growing pains, no work from home policy, unclear promotion/growth paths

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (34)

    "Great perks, nice people, poor management especially on MarComm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    What’s not to enjoy. Spa, coffee bar, bar, free food and drink, arcade games, PDP, companies events, and health benefits. There are plenty of perks. It’s easy to move up and shine if you rub the right people the right way and the pay is solid. People at team level genuinely seem to like each other.

    Cons

    This is not a jaded or one of “those” employees. It just is what it is. There is a total lack of communications on the Marketing and Communications team. Even when you try to communicate you are met with run around and disingenuous answers. The CMO lacks true experience. This is just a fact. New leaders have come in and caused so much confusion that team morale has collapsed and people are quitting left and right. At some point the CEO is going to have to ask, is this genuine turn over or is something going on with the new leaders he brought in. The entire PR team quit. The whole social team has been replaced. Creative is losing people left and right. People are being hired based on friendships and connections, not actual talent or experience. So many secrets, dishonesty, and shadiness. (Not to mention all the other people that have left recently. It’s actually sad at some serious loss of talent in other parts of the company for similar reasons.) What’s happening is not growing pains. It’s power struggles, mismanagement, lack of communication, everyone needing their voice to have a seat at the table, and disregard for people not in the inner circle. Many are afraid to even say anything in fear of retribution or being coached out. From a team level the people are great but there are real problems happening and if you’re looking to come somewhere amazing CK may be that place, but you’re certainly not trading away management issues, and miscommunication.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-03-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Home, Positive Atmosphere, Smart Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Security Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CK has a wonderful work environment, that is carefully cultivated - resources and dedication keep CK a place that's enjoyable to spend your work day at. The Coffee bar is particularly awesome!

    Cons

    As with any startup, there are always growing pains. CK does a lot to attract good talent, and so when facing challenges, you are at least working with smart and passionate people.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-02-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Rapid growth environment, lots of room to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an exciting time to join Credit Karma, where things are just starting to scale and there's a lot of white space to make your mark and drive results. The people are generally smart and engaged in their work, and just fun to be around. Some teams function better than others, and some leaders run a tighter ship than others, but that is to be expected. Perks are great, and pay can be great (depending on your manager and if you negotiated).

    Cons

    There's missing organizational structure that can lead to confusion and lack of alignment, but it feels like growing pains and not a deal breaker.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2018-01-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Proud to work for Credit Karma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for Credit Karma for nearly a year. I believe in the company's mission and I'm impressed by a job role that has continually encouraged ownership, ambition, and personal growth. Though relatively large for a start-up, Credit Karma does a pretty good job of making sure every employee's voice and ideas are heard.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains associated with onboarding so many new employees, and some teams haven't ironed out the work-life balance as well as others. But there's no reason I wouldn't recommend Credit Karma as one of the most empathetic tech companies in a crowded SF landscape.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2017-11-21
  11. Helpful (16)

    "Great people. Amazing Mission. Bad Snacks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People: 97.6% of the employees I have met are very smart and friendly. The exception was one guy who I played ping pong with. He questioned the legality of my ping pong serve and ended up messing with my head and my game took a long time to recover. If one person was to personify the people at Credit Karma it would be Hermione Granger. Smart, driven, empathetic, magical, funny, should have ended up with Harry (this analogy might be breaking down). The Mission: sounds a little schmaltzy (this whole review was just an excuse to use the word schmaltzy) but sh*t tons (European measurement term) of Americans have bad credit. They can't cover a $500 emergency. They are living paycheck to paycheck. Their bad credit is costing them money. For credit cards, auto loans, mortgages. By providing them free credit scores and advice Credit Karma has helped a huge group of people corporate America traditionally likes to screw over. So instead of treating people like mushrooms (keep them in the dark and feed them sh*t), we treat them like a non fungi organism (keep them in the light and provide useful information). The CEO: Have worked under egomaniacs (but he did smell great in fairness), smart people with no people skills and leaders you just never see (and when you do you almost expect them to be traveling in a Pope mobile because the sightings are so rare). Ken is none of these. Genuine, smart person you want to work with and for. Only downside is I beat him in Street Fighter 2 (he is an expert) and he insisted on a best of 3 so he could win (and he subsequently did!).

    Cons

    They bring in seasonal snacks. Occasionally they hit upon real winners (Spicy Pop chips). Despite requesting an extension of the best rotating options I was given the metaphorical middle finger. There are a few typical growing pains of a rapid growth company. They are still trying to sort out a few processes as they scale. Mission focus may be taking more of a back seat than in previous years. Also more political maneuvering on the rise than before. Sometimes performing at a high level is not good enough if you don't position yourself in the right way within the company.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2017-03-30

    Credit Karma Response

    May 3, 2017CEO

    I had a lot of fun reading about your experience, thanks for sharing. I agree with your advice: doing what's right for our members will always come first for us and continue to drive our business decisions. Let me know the next time you're ready for Street Fighter 2. I'll use my main character next time. -Ken

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews