KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Credit Karma

Engaged Employer

Credit Karma

Add a Review

Credit Karma Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 288 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Empathy, mobility, work/life balance and emphasis on health and wellness(in 29 reviews)

  • "The Coffee bar is particularly awesome(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be extremely varied at best(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Credit Karma

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Credit Karma and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Company, Great People

      Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Wonderful executive team. Credit Karma has a great fantastic mission and the leadership is truly outstanding- very transparent, and extremely caring to their members and employees. 2) People- best experience I have had at any company in terms of people I worked with directly and indirectly 3) Growing company. It's always exciting to be with a fast-growing company

      Cons

      The only cons I experienced here were the typical growing pains fast-growing companies experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best tech company in the Bay

      Jul 22, 2019 - Core Product in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - So much opportunity for growth. - Transparency is alive and well. - Everyone here is genuine and kind. That's a true rarity in tech!

      Cons

      Growing pains exist, but these are good challenges to overcome.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      One of the best late stage startups

      Feb 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - People are passionate, focused, and hungry to learn and do more - Eng. and product teams have done a great job hiring great leaders; you can clearly see the leadership difference compared to previous years - Business is doing great! - Great work/life balance - Onsite barista and lunch - Politics compared to some other companies is non-existent; if you think otherwise, then you haven't been around - Lots of interesting challenges - Executive team (VPs and above) are very approachable

      Cons

      - A fast-growing company that is experiencing growing pains, so you need to be patient - Lack of experienced leaders or no leaders in some teams are causing scaling challenges - A better company gym program or gym reimbursement program

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast Paced, Exciting & Great Culture

      Aug 13, 2014 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pro-consumer product that gives you a sense of pride & accomplishment at the end of the day - Open culture where employees are given trust & space to do their work. - Co-workers are talented & motivated: people like to get things done and make an impact. - Heavily analytics driven decision-making which permeates all aspects of the company. - Plenty of interesting challenges to tackle (too much so - we can't hire fast enough!). - Employee benefits are all top notch: 401k, health benefits, constant company outings & game nights, fully stocked kitchens, and a coffee lover's haven.

      Cons

      With the growth that the company is experiencing, aspects of team structure & office dynamics tend to be in constant flux. The growing pains are handled well overall, but it can be a bit jarring at times if you're not used to a rapid growth environment.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture, people, and product!

      May 2, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall it's really an amazing work environment. People are super smart, talented, friendly, and passionate about the product and company. Very collaborative with no big egos or office politics. Leadership is incredibly transparent and there's a culture of individual contribution from the top down. Merit is given where it's due. Great work/life balance and tons of fun events, competitions, happy hours, etc. happening both in the office and off-site. Essentially, everyone works hard together to continually improve a product they're passionate about and has a lot of fun along the way.

      Cons

      Standard growing pains of a company during a time of high growth. Ambitious--but also exciting--goals for the company in every area, maintaining the current culture that everyone loves, and running out of office space--though this is already being resolved. All pretty much negligible in my opinion.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people. Amazing Mission. Bad Snacks.

      Mar 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The People: 97.6% of the employees I have met are very smart and friendly. The exception was one guy who I played ping pong with. He questioned the legality of my ping pong serve and ended up messing with my head and my game took a long time to recover. If one person was to personify the people at Credit Karma it would be Hermione Granger. Smart, driven, empathetic, magical, funny, should have ended up with Harry (this analogy might be breaking down). The Mission: sounds a little schmaltzy (this whole review was just an excuse to use the word schmaltzy) but sh*t tons (European measurement term) of Americans have bad credit. They can't cover a $500 emergency. They are living paycheck to paycheck. Their bad credit is costing them money. For credit cards, auto loans, mortgages. By providing them free credit scores and advice Credit Karma has helped a huge group of people corporate America traditionally likes to screw over. So instead of treating people like mushrooms (keep them in the dark and feed them sh*t), we treat them like a non fungi organism (keep them in the light and provide useful information). The CEO: Have worked under egomaniacs (but he did smell great in fairness), smart people with no people skills and leaders you just never see (and when you do you almost expect them to be traveling in a Pope mobile because the sightings are so rare). Ken is none of these. Genuine, smart person you want to work with and for. Only downside is I beat him in Street Fighter 2 (he is an expert) and he insisted on a best of 3 so he could win (and he subsequently did!).

      Cons

      They bring in seasonal snacks. Occasionally they hit upon real winners (Spicy Pop chips). Despite requesting an extension of the best rotating options I was given the metaphorical middle finger. There are a few typical growing pains of a rapid growth company. They are still trying to sort out a few processes as they scale. Mission focus may be taking more of a back seat than in previous years. Also more political maneuvering on the rise than before. Sometimes performing at a high level is not good enough if you don't position yourself in the right way within the company.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Credit Karma Response

      CEO

      I had a lot of fun reading about your experience, thanks for sharing. I agree with your advice: doing what's right for our members will always come first for us and continue to drive our business decisions. Let me know the next time you're ready for Street Fighter 2. I'll use my main character next time. -Ken

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      By far the best job I have ever had!

      Mar 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance - While crunch time is inevitable at most engineering jobs, at Credit Karma, this is the exception rather than the rule. Amazing people - The people on my team are the sharpest and most dedicated group that I have ever worked with. Great product - Most everyone I have talked to loves the Credit Karma product. When I wear my CK t-shirt outside of work, people always tell me about how they love the site.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains as the company is growing incredibly quickly but most groups are working hard to address these issues as they come up. Also, things seem a bit less rosy outside of engineering.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rapid growth environment, lots of room to make an impact

      Jan 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is an exciting time to join Credit Karma, where things are just starting to scale and there's a lot of white space to make your mark and drive results. The people are generally smart and engaged in their work, and just fun to be around. Some teams function better than others, and some leaders run a tighter ship than others, but that is to be expected. Perks are great, and pay can be great (depending on your manager and if you negotiated).

      Cons

      There's missing organizational structure that can lead to confusion and lack of alignment, but it feels like growing pains and not a deal breaker.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Proud to work for Credit Karma

      Nov 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked for Credit Karma for nearly a year. I believe in the company's mission and I'm impressed by a job role that has continually encouraged ownership, ambition, and personal growth. Though relatively large for a start-up, Credit Karma does a pretty good job of making sure every employee's voice and ideas are heard.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains associated with onboarding so many new employees, and some teams haven't ironed out the work-life balance as well as others. But there's no reason I wouldn't recommend Credit Karma as one of the most empathetic tech companies in a crowded SF landscape.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to grow and make an impact

      Mar 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Solid business model! - Employees are results oriented, open to feedback, and compassionate to help each other - Lots of interesting engineering challenges to tackle - Executive team shows a lot of empathy for their employees - Opportunities to grow your career in high impactful projects

      Cons

      - Feedback and promotion process is very taxing relative to the size of the company - Growing pains should be expected with the level of investment being made to support the growth

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Credit Karma Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Credit Karma? Share Your Experiences

    or