KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Credit Karma

Engaged Employer

Credit Karma

Add a Review

Credit Karma Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 288 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Empathy, mobility, work/life balance and emphasis on health and wellness(in 29 reviews)

  • "The Coffee bar is particularly awesome(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be extremely varied at best(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Credit Karma

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Credit Karma and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A great place to work in the Bay!

      Jan 22, 2021 - IT Support Engineer II in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Empathy, mobility, work/life balance and emphasis on health and wellness!

      Cons

      I personally don't have any cons about working for this great company!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional, toxic workplace

      Sep 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance, decent base pay

      Cons

      I'm shocked and happy that a previous reviewer commented on the toxic culture at CK. Departments like HR and Legal that should be setting an example for other employees are the worst offenders. I have been sexually harassed on many occasions at CK and the HR team does not care! Despite so much inappropriate behavior, CK continues to keep a fully stocked bar in the office and turns the other cheek to in-office hook-ups and drug use. I had a very similar experience with the legal lead the previous reviewer mentioned. Sexual harassment, unwanted advances, HR and leadership does nothing to stop or discipline this sort of behavior. I was looking for a new job before the pandemic hit because I felt unsafe coming into work

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Massive shift in culture, unaddressed systemic issues

      Oct 23, 2020 - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Pay- high base salaries, equity + Interesting product + Decent work life balance

      Cons

      Distracted exec suite- focused on the acquisition and not addressing some core issues within culture (see previous reviews) Massive attrition, especially at the senior leadership level- driven by lack of recognition and lack of significant upside with the deal Rampant favoritism, politics, back stabbing

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sexual Harassment runs rampant

      Aug 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours, work life balance

      Cons

      Was sexually harassed by a member of the legal team, who used power position to intimidate me from speaking about it. This employee continues to target young female employees and HR and management turn a blind eye despite several female colleagues reporting the same experience of harassment and mistreatment from this senior-level male

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Contractor

      Great Experience Hard work hours

      Jun 1, 2020 - Growth Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, managers! smart people

      Cons

      Extremely Long work hours no work-life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company is setting a firm growth plan and investing in its employees

      Oct 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros: -Recent comp changes have made a career at CK extremely competitive, and the pay is very good across the whole company -The company spends a lot on employees, from office events to outside of work activities, the perks seriously add value in the office (although sometimes I feel like there are some people whose actual title here is Sr Manager of Ping Pong...) -Leadership has made a constructive effort at addressing transparency and outlining their plan for the future of CK. It makes sense, and if executed definitely leaves me feeling positive about the company.

      Cons

      Cons: We’re still growing, but there needs to be more senior/leadership accountability unless we want to continue sweeping failure under the rug. As we scale, we won’t grow unless we address what’s not working. -Work life balance can be extremely varied at best. Some people seem to go to work to play ping pong (seriously I’ve never seen so many serious ping pong duals in the middle of the day), some actually have a steady work life, while there are some floors where you consistently see people sitting at their desk at 8pm or later. While PTO, office closures, and certain benefits aimed at providing employees the r&r they need are great, I think there needs to be more done to drive consistency across the company. Overall it’s not terrible, and changes like the winter break are in the right direction, but a clear and enforced WFH policy would keep progressing on this front as an example.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Balancing act - growth is not a dirty word!

      May 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the people I work with, including my manager, and the executive team we've been building. There is a great deal of talent here and a lot of different mindsets that are taking the time to step back and review what is happening and make appropriate moves to improve our product and company culture as a whole. The company offers a generous opportunity for professional development, excellent pay, work/life balance, pto and sick time, and a fair review process. The most important thing I am seeing in terms of this growth is that performers who are borderline are given the opportunity to shine and if not, in my experience (maybe not the same experience everyone has), under-performers or those who are really struggling receive clearly defined goals to help them understand what they need to do to improve.

      Cons

      Growth is a tricky business. I have yet to work with or for a company that can grow this aggressively and not have a single bit of trouble. That being said, there are big moves and small moves happening that will impact the success of our product, brand and overall growth strategy. Paying close attention to the way our teams handle the changes and the communications about those changes will ultimately tell how well we're adjusting - it will take time to learn how to communicate on a greater scale, but I believe it can be achieved.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Credit Karma Response

      Vice President of Talent

      Appreciate your feedback. Yes, growth is definitely tricky. Your advice is well taken. We cannot lose sight of our goals. It is clear that you enjoy working at Credit Karma. Thank you for doing your part in taking care of our culture.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      With potential but would not recommend

      Oct 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great perks, kickass talent and events team. - CEO truly cares about employees and the mission. - I've heard that it's team by team, but I've generally seen good work-life balance. Most coworkers are understanding. - Positive outlook.

      Cons

      - Very shaky foundation with high tech debt. However, the company has been recently heavily investing in infrastructure, hopefully it'll change things up. - For a self-proclaimed "data-driven" company, the quality of some of the basic data is laughable. Data standards are everywhere. There are also a bunch of things with no owners as the company grew. As a result, there are some very backwards tech issues that people just turn a blind eye on. - Extremely poor middle management. Company is not aligned on goals from top down. Like many comments mentioned, there's this "kill or be killed" attitude cross the organization, which is alarming for a company with only ~800 employees. - Despite all the criticism, however, company has grown dramatically in the past few years and has great potential. If you are someone in a senior leadership position, it might be worth to come here and change the company for the better. If you're still in the developing stage of your career, in which most of us are, I recommend steering clear from this company, as you will be exposed to more bureaucracy and general frustration than actually learning.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      One of the best late stage startups

      Feb 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - People are passionate, focused, and hungry to learn and do more - Eng. and product teams have done a great job hiring great leaders; you can clearly see the leadership difference compared to previous years - Business is doing great! - Great work/life balance - Onsite barista and lunch - Politics compared to some other companies is non-existent; if you think otherwise, then you haven't been around - Lots of interesting challenges - Executive team (VPs and above) are very approachable

      Cons

      - A fast-growing company that is experiencing growing pains, so you need to be patient - Lack of experienced leaders or no leaders in some teams are causing scaling challenges - A better company gym program or gym reimbursement program

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Your experience will depend on the team you're in.

      Sep 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The general culture at Credit Karma is relaxed and comfortable. Employees are open and friendly! It's easy to make real relationships and all the company-sponsored and informal events play large roles in creating that atmosphere. The CEO is around and knows everyone. The company is fairly young, so there really is a lot of room to grow depending on your team. The people here are the best part.

      Cons

      A lot of micro-managers in each of the departments and lack of transparency in controversial decisions between management and everyone else. The start up vibe means the lack of work-life balance and ridiculous expectations at times. The company is still somewhat flat and young, meaning the managers usually have been there for a while. They have complete say in everything going on in their team, but that doesn't mean everything makes sense or is fair. This ties back to the micro-managers. Benefits and salary are no where near the market standards. The start up "perks" aren't that great compared to its competitors, especially in the Bay Are market - no free meals on a daily basis, no gym memberships or assistance with that, no extra perks for commuters/transportation, no 401K matching, limited PTO days, etc.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Credit Karma Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Credit Karma? Share Your Experiences

    or