Credit Union Central of British Columbia Reviews | Glassdoor

Credit Union Central of British Columbia Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Don Rolfe
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Too many chiefs not enough indians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Union Central of British Columbia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are still a few nice people inside

    Cons

    Numerous: Meaningless boring day to day activities. No advancement for working people, over 90% of promotions happen based on relations, not capabilities. As a result, managers are not really managers, leaders are even worse, they are sitting down, checking the others and at the end of each day they get bored and leave the office. "Agile" does not go furthur than just a word and daily scrums are just a joke, scrum masters are mostly interrogating the employees, they just simply exist for no reason. Tons of problems are all around, both internally and externally but the one who points them out is the blame. The products and features are not appreciated by the clients and mostly get rejected shortly after publicising, but it is always announced as the greatest success, weak business culture! Terrible inter-department communication, too many tools with no clear reason why they are in place! No integrity, no efficiency.

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2019-04-16

    Credit Union Central of British Columbia Response

    May 9, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments and we take your views seriously. We’re sorry to hear you feel this way about your current role. I’m sure you are aware that, over the past few years we’ve welcomed leaders with the ideals to support making Central 1 an agile organization, but the organizational transformation is a journey, like agile, one which requires experimenting through testing, iterating, measuring (listening to our people), learning and pivoting when needed. We’re working hard to get better at this. We’ve done emotional intelligence training for our leaders and now we’re following up with updated leadership competencies and coaching training to move away from a command-and-control leadership style toward more of a servant leadership style. We have only just begun our agile journey, as we progress, our focus will be further enhanced on empowering our people to solve business issues which will also make their careers more meaningful. We hope you see the benefits of these efforts soon. In recent years, we have done a lot of work to ensure that we involve the clients throughout the process to ensure we are delivering the products and features that will make them successful and these efforts will be further amplified as we progress in our agile transformation. Regarding your comment on inter-departmental communication, this is something that will improve as we transition to creating cross-functional agile teams, but it will take time. We are also working on a digital workplace strategy to streamline the number of tools we use and improve the ability of our people to collaborate across functional areas. PLEASE NOTE - this is an outdated profile, please see our current Central 1 Glassdoor profile

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Union Central of British Columbia for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people that are really passionate about their work. The Product Development team has a clear vision for their products and how to move forward

    Cons

    There is some politics that you may be expose to

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2016-11-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to be a part of an innovative company, this place is not for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Union Central of British Columbia full-time

    Pros

    RRSP-matching, great location, performance-based incentive, generous vacation, stable.

    Cons

    No innovation, 'boring banker' mentality, no culture, terrible leadership, a lot of process and overhead, very slow, low pay, no ownership

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2013-08-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Organization is in limbo without strong leader."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credit Union Central of British Columbia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Established comfortable office. Nice view. Some friendly people.

    Cons

    Middle managers running around without clear directions from the top. No clear corporate culture, upper management is in transition. Many long-term employees are hiding below the radar to avoid termination. Low morale.

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2013-07-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very unfair evaluation and very autocratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NONE in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Union Central of British Columbia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Still trying to find one. Oh...benefits are good

    Cons

    Disorganized Autocratic Pulled in different directions Bad leadership Uptight Poor language and communication Low salaary

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2012-09-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrendous experience, unfair evaluations, lack of direction and lack of consistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Stuff in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Union Central of British Columbia

    Pros

    The view is nice. Can't think of anything else

    Cons

    Autocratic management Highly political management Lack of mentoring and direction Multiple unqualified supervisors asking for conflicting things Tight constraints on what you can say or do Highly dysfunctional systems Unfair evaluation practices Inconsistent performance reviews Lots of undesireable team building exercises Poor information sharing

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2012-02-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good company, with needed change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I Would Rather Not Say in Vancouver, BC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Union Central of British Columbia

    Pros

    The benefits and extra perks are great, and the location is fantastic.

    Cons

    The attitude of many employees is that it is their 'right' to have many of the privalges that we have at CUCBC. There are quite a few spoiled children working at the company that should be terminated for the way they treat their staff and/or colleagues. Manners and common courtesy are more rare than the sunshine we get in this city!

    Continue reading
    Credit Union Central of British Columbia2008-06-16
Found 7 reviews