KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CreditCards.com

Part of Red Ventures
Is this your company?

CreditCards.com

Add a Review

CreditCards.com Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 19 reviews

3.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CreditCards.com President  Rodney Sims (no image)
Rodney Sims
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots changing, things are looking up.

    Sep 10, 2016 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working at CCCOM in Austin toward the beginning of a deluge of changes that have transformed the tech department. We have a lot of legacy code around here, and various management-level logjams have ben broken since then, so we are modernizing our tech stack (and hiring people!) as fast as we can. That means lots of fun new toys, chances to have your voice heard in architecture discussions, and frequent releases to score "wins" as a team. And the teams-- the tech department is growing, vibrant, friendly, fun, and ambitious. Our fearless leaders, Kamelia, Todd, and Paul, are actively setting things up so we can grow and succeed. Some great new benefits were also recently introduced. The new remote work policy frees me up to travel more, and the company will reimburse me for high-quality professional development training.

    Cons

    At the software engineer level, I see two big things that affect morale negatively. The first is legacy code-- you may occasionally be beckoned into a haunted house. Prepare to remember words and software versions you haven't seen in 5-7 years. That sucks, but it's going away as fast as we can kill it. Second is shifting product priorities. As we work to remediate technical debt, we also have to respond to market imperatives. Every team has had their priorities turned on a dime at one time or another. It can be frustrating, but we all understand, and most people here are buoyant enough not to let it bring them down. The new priority is usually interesting in its own way.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    ExcellentTeam!

    Jun 9, 2016 - Editor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CreditCards.com has a great work environment, providing volunteer opportunities, free food and a great work-life balance. People stay with the company for years, and for good reason. Great team, fun work. They've also just started allowing people to work part of the time from home, which is terrific. They are also good about promoting from within.

    Cons

    The only con is that space is cramped right now because of the growth, but that could actually be seen as a positive!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Solid Company & Team

    Apr 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers (great leadership team), fully stocked kitchen (I eat breakfast and lunch at the office everyday), respectful work/life balance, financially solid, and great professional development encouragement.

    Cons

    benefits could be better.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great learning experience

    Aug 21, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, smart leadership, good editorial learning experience

    Cons

    There weren't really any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic company to work for

    Mar 11, 2015 - Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful, fun staff: you will love all of your coworkers here. I'm not even joking. The age range is vast; there's some really young people and on up. Fully stocked kitchen: I know this is almost a given now around Austin, but they have the best mix of snacks and food of any company I've worked for, from super healthy all the way to "I feel like I'm back in college" foods. And it has a beer fridge! Great benefits: We're all adults now, right? Good benefits that don't break the bank are important, and they have them here. Growth potential: This is what turned me off to quite a few companies that I interviewed with prior to settling here. At CC.com you can see the advancement opportunities for your role, regardless of department. And if climbing the corporate ladder isn't your thing, they are really big on further education and professional growth as well. They send people to conferences, trainings, etc. and aren't afraid to pay for materials you need to get your job done well. Location: I know most people wouldn't consider working in N. Austin a perk as most want to be downtown or South Congress, but I love working up here. Coming from further south (but still north of the river) I don't have to fight traffic to get here or home, there are plenty of food options around, and shopping nearby - Whole Foods, the Domain, etc. Work/Life balance: Work stays at work. As far as I can tell, people don't really take work home unless they really, really want to get that thing done. But there is no pressure to and your boss isn't breathing down your neck wondering what you're doing every second of the day or why you're not at your desk at exactly 8AM.

    Cons

    The only con, and this does come down to personal preference so you may or may not consider it one, is that things are moving rapidly and everyone is trying to learn and create better processes along the way. If you like fast paced environments where you'll learn a lot, screw up, fix it, and be a better person for it - you'll love it here! If you prefer an already set structure, rules and procedures, etc. - you won't so much. This company requires a certain degree of flexibility and the people who work here thrive on that.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent

    Jan 31, 2015 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like Credit Cards because of the annual raises, annual bonuses, free food, volunteer opportunities, strong support if you are ill.

    Cons

    The health benefits could be better for the size company it is. All in all, it's a really good company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Really enjoyed working here

    Sep 9, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone who works here is really smart and has great experience and knowledge in their field. I really enjoyed working with everyone.

    Cons

    IT can take a while to get things done. Also, a lot of decisions are out of the hands of CreditCards.com and more controlled by Bankrate, the parent company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good vibes

    May 26, 2021 - Editor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    relaxed atmosphere good vibe and nice people.

    Cons

    not very transparent with what the future holds.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growing pains, but overall solid place to work here in Austin

    Aug 31, 2016 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Smart, capable individuals who want to see the company succeed. CreditCards.com provides opportunities for team building, and community volunteering. They are supportive of career growth and reimburse continuing education as well as certifications you are interested in pursuing. Stocked kitchen is always a plus.

    Cons

    There have been lot's of changes due to our growth and previous acquisitions. It seems there is a lack of communication between departments and geo-offices. Company goals/roadmap could be better communicated so everyone is aligned.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    If you are motivated, you can stand out here.

    Oct 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small company allows you to get involved in a variety of projects. People get along well. No fake company culture. CEO always tries to give credit to the folks doing the behind the scenes work on projects.

    Cons

    No clear path for promotion. Not many layers of management or seniority positions. One person in, one person out.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with CreditCards.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CreditCards.com? Share Your Experiences

CreditCards.com logo
or