KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CreditCards.com

Part of Red Ventures
Is this your company?

CreditCards.com

Add a Review

CreditCards.com Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 19 reviews

3.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CreditCards.com President  Rodney Sims (no image)
Rodney Sims
3 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

3y

a 

Consultant

What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

2,915

248 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee

    good place

    Jul 20, 2021 - Senior Data Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good for me so far

    Cons

    none of that i know

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good vibes

    May 26, 2021 - Editor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    relaxed atmosphere good vibe and nice people.

    Cons

    not very transparent with what the future holds.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fine place to work

    Oct 22, 2020 - Writer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with great people, my feedback was valued.

    Cons

    The company was bought out.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not what it used to be

    May 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some teams have great cohesion - Can be an ok place to work if you're just starting out your career

    Cons

    - CreditCards was a great place to work before they were acquired. It went downhill after that - Compensation is poor. Most places in Austin offered me 10-15k more. Bonus plan sucks and no equity - CreditCards was acquired by a company in North Carolina called Red Ventures. If you're not in NC it's hard to progress or shine in the company. It's especially harder to be hired or move into management level positions if you don't live or are willing to move to NC

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Felt like a hostile takeover; became a toxic environment with low employee morale

    Sep 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a long-established, profitable company which has been purchased by a much larger, established, profitable company. If you are a young professional or fresh out of college who fits in with Red Ventures culture, you will do well.

    Cons

    The new parent company tends to be insular, very bossy, highly centralized, and ignores dissenting expertise that come from outside HQ. Company culture borders on tribal, even cultish, which has made for a difficult transition since the buyout. Leadership tends to be domineering and top-down while being all smiles and professing to be free of hierarchy. Because the parent company is based in the Carolinas, they have difficulty grasping the cost of salaries and real estate in Austin. This has negatively affected staffing levels and compensation. The Austin office will lose its bonus plan and transition its benefits to the parent company’s in January 2019. Everyone with knowledge of the business or industry in Austin has been fired or quit. Almost no senior-level talent remains. Thanks to layoffs and attrition since November 2017, the Austin office is now approximately 45 people, down from 120. Any feedback provided by the Austin office to the parent company tends to result in combative, defensive responses from HQ.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Gone downhill, fast

    Jul 18, 2018 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits package, for now. That will change in January 2019 when new owners' package kicks in. Farewell, bonuses.

    Cons

    New, domineering management since acquisition by Red Ventures in fall of 2017 Salary and benefit cuts coming Fearful atmosphere Layoffs and more layoffs

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Used to be a good place. Not any more.

    May 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This USED TO be a great place to work at. Smart people, Management was approachable, new ideas were encouraged, everybody got along really well. I looked forward to going to work every morning.

    Cons

    Another reviewer pointed this out. Over the last couple of years, there have been some changes to the senior leadership team. In Technology, only "friends" of the leadership were given benefits and roamed free. Others were let go, unfairly accused of poor performance. The new product team only hired from the leadership's close network. See interview reviews - this does reflect the problem. Plenty of favoritism going around, leading to a poor culture and work environment.

    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Why I quit, and why you might stay.

    Jan 14, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was a software engineer, and the team was top tier. Really smart people with really great ideas. Everyone got along fabulously, and no one, I felt, thought they didn't belong. I felt included and appreciated by my peers, and that was fantastic. We all learned from one another, and all shared knowledge. That made me want to go to work every day.

    Cons

    In my time there as an engineer, management was not willing to listen, or act, on suggestions from engineering. They were warned many times regarding issues with our software, such as our flagship product running on a platform several years past EOL. These warnings went ignored in favor of random business initiatives that we had no say in. Towards the beginning of the year during a series of changes, favoritism started to develop. No matter the skill level or output of an employee, if you were not close to management in a personal way, you were driven out with claims of poor performance that were unsubstantiated. Those who were "favorites" of tech management were allowed to roam free and experiment, while everyone else had to just work on what they were given, even though we were all supposed to be a team of peers. I've seen the other reviews here regarding "new toys to play with". In my experience that was far from the truth. When I started, it was hard to even get a computer to work with. The workstations themselves were old and difficult to work on. The development workflow was slow and buggy, and security holes went ignored with no process to discover them. There were no plans in place to replace legacy software at all, resulting in a lot of frustration as poorly written legacy code was prioritized, much to the behest of engineers who found better ways to do things. I will say, things did move towards a more positive stance once the company was merged with another, and some new management came in that really understood the needs of engineering. However, that was too little too late for me, and so I exited as planned prior. Some reviews have mentioned a work from home policy that is very flexible, and reimbursement for educational opportunities. These are new, within the past few months. If they are to remain, then I'd say it's a great place to work, however that is not the experience of folks that have worked there longer and been burnt out.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots changing, things are looking up.

    Sep 10, 2016 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working at CCCOM in Austin toward the beginning of a deluge of changes that have transformed the tech department. We have a lot of legacy code around here, and various management-level logjams have ben broken since then, so we are modernizing our tech stack (and hiring people!) as fast as we can. That means lots of fun new toys, chances to have your voice heard in architecture discussions, and frequent releases to score "wins" as a team. And the teams-- the tech department is growing, vibrant, friendly, fun, and ambitious. Our fearless leaders, Kamelia, Todd, and Paul, are actively setting things up so we can grow and succeed. Some great new benefits were also recently introduced. The new remote work policy frees me up to travel more, and the company will reimburse me for high-quality professional development training.

    Cons

    At the software engineer level, I see two big things that affect morale negatively. The first is legacy code-- you may occasionally be beckoned into a haunted house. Prepare to remember words and software versions you haven't seen in 5-7 years. That sucks, but it's going away as fast as we can kill it. Second is shifting product priorities. As we work to remediate technical debt, we also have to respond to market imperatives. Every team has had their priorities turned on a dime at one time or another. It can be frustrating, but we all understand, and most people here are buoyant enough not to let it bring them down. The new priority is usually interesting in its own way.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growing pains, but overall solid place to work here in Austin

    Aug 31, 2016 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Smart, capable individuals who want to see the company succeed. CreditCards.com provides opportunities for team building, and community volunteering. They are supportive of career growth and reimburse continuing education as well as certifications you are interested in pursuing. Stocked kitchen is always a plus.

    Cons

    There have been lot's of changes due to our growth and previous acquisitions. It seems there is a lack of communication between departments and geo-offices. Company goals/roadmap could be better communicated so everyone is aligned.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with CreditCards.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CreditCards.com? Share Your Experiences

or