Cree Reviews | Glassdoor

Cree Reviews

Updated September 19, 2018
402 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cree CEO Gregg Lowe
Gregg Lowe
50 Ratings

402 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The reason I liked working for this company was good people to work for, good benefits and there was plenty room to advance to" (in 22 reviews)

  • "Improving culture & great people" (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work Life Balance, Its especially with the department that I work" (in 60 reviews)

  • "Long hours and no work/life balance" (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    CREE is a great company

    Cons

    There is no downside

    Cree Response

    Jul 6, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and for your current service with our organization! We are glad you are having a great experience working here.


  2. "Semi conductor production work nights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    only work 14 days a month. Promote within

    Cons

    You work 12 hour shifts with rotating weekends

    Cree Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you are happy in your experience with us. We are continuing to evolve and make improvements based on employee feedback.

  3. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    good place to work, new management

    Cons

    lack of communication, not open


  4. "Culture Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Manager in Goleta, CA
    Former Employee - Development Manager in Goleta, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cree full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Employee culture was improving. Finally implementing new productivity tools.

    Cons

    Little emphasis on advancement. Looking at short term versus long term.

    Cree Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and your more than 10 years of service with our organization. Our culture shift continues to improve as we focus in on internal mobility within the company. We use this... More


  5. "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    Internal opportunities, RSUs, rapid company growth. Improving culture & great people!

    Cons

    Growing pains, tactical disconnects to strategic goals. Inefficient methods still in place.

    Advice to Management

    Bottom up continuous improvement needed & overall compensation for hourly employees needs to come up. Sustained employee engagement infrastructure to maintain momentum!

    Cree Response

    Sep 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we agree that we are heading in the right direction. We are continuing to evolve while providing improvements to the overall employee experience.


  6. "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are great. Beautiful campus. No tuition reimbursement. Onsite gym.

    Cons

    Management is always fluctuating, making the same large business choices following proven poor strategies for their reputation. Management is a complete power play and little interest as you as a person, little work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Need Management training on communication and motivational skills. You can have a great team and a poor boss will devour their interest.

    Cree Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and your current service with our organization. We do offer tuition reimbursement as part of our total rewards offerings so be sure to check with your HR representative for... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    Excellent technology and technologists in silicon carbide and GaN. Exciting market growth potential where Cree has a clear leadership position. Great changes in HR are energizing and motivating the work force

    Cons

    Normal work/life challenges associated with a growing company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work on employee engagement

    Cree Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your current service with our organization! We hope your experience continues to be a positive one. We continue to make progress on improving the experience for all our employees. Thank... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Favoritism and Disconnect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Cree is involved in exciting technologies and works with impressive companies with cutting edge ambitions. The new CEO, Greg Lowe seems to know how the company is supposed to run and has some really good ideas.

    - Upper management and the CEO have taken a few polls that employees have been able to anonymously respond to. This was a really good idea and should be increased. It will root out production and culture issues and give the company clear feedback. The feedback given by supervisors and middle management can sometimes be sugar coated.

    Cons

    -Middle Management is largely incompetent
    - The pay, put simply, is not enough when compared to the market value for the type of work being done on the FAB floor.
    - There is a “know the right people” kind of promotion environment present at CREE. Employees don’t have a career path available to them and that de incentivizes work and growth.
    - SUPPLIES. CREE very REGULARLY runs out of materials and gowning supplies. I have no idea why it’s so difficult to give people who are willing to work to create your wafers for you the supplies necessary to do so. This is a stupid problem to have and should not still be plaguing a company of this size or revenue.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the talent on the front lines, the lowest operators and material handlers, they know WAY more about the real picture than the supervisors and if empowered to do so, they can solve real problems for you.

    In essence, please take more company wide polls via email. It gives people a say and will allow the company to diagnose problems, strengths and weaknesses at twice the speed it does now.

    Cree Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback both on our internal survey and on this review. We will take your feedback and continue to make improvements to provide the best experience possible. We continue to make... More


  9. "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time

    Pros

    Changes in leadership has driven a significant change in company culture; the new leaders are great models for executives

    Cons

    Wish the leadership change would have been years ago.

    Cree Response

    Aug 13, 2018 – Human Resources

    We appreciate your review and current service with our organization. We are continuing to take steps forward in evolving our company culture. Thank you for your review and we hope you continue having... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Helping keep cutting edge and complex systems stay ahead of competition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Technician in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Facilities Technician in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cree full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, stock discounts, bonus and incentives, very complex and progressive technology and equipment, management and co workers, company provided foot ware, great work/home balance, management and supervisors very approachable. The pay is very good. Everyone is held accountable. If you do your job well then there is no problems, if you drag your feet and do a job with minimal effort then you will be approached. No one breathing down your neck micro-managing you unless someone needs that.

    Cons

    Tight deadlines, minimal room for error, have to walk close to a mile away for a cigarette break and only a 10 minute window to do that so you better be in shape!

    Advice to Management

    I read the reviews people post about how negative this place is, or was. I did not witness the old regime and their daily practice. I can only comment on what I’ve seen. Everything I’ve seen looks like progression in the right direction. This helps ensure continued growth and rising stock valuations. Cheers everyone!

    Cree Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your detailed feedback and your thoughts are indicative of our continued progress of shifting our company culture. We hope your experience continues to be a positive one!


Showing 402 of 418 reviews
Reset Filters