Crescendo Bioscience Reviews | Glassdoor

Crescendo Bioscience Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
William Hagstrom
6 Ratings
  1. "Excellent work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Quality and Regulatory in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Crescendo Bioscience full-time

    Pros

    One of the best places I have worked for, very professional people, lack of politics, exemplary leadership by CEO and the leadership team. Very approachable.

    Cons

    Other than the commute with the Bay Area traffic for folks in the East Bay and South Bay, no other negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Crescendo Bioscience2019-04-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Science, Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Crescendo Bioscience

    Pros

    Company Culture, Company Ethos, President

    Cons

    Customer Service team has high turnover

    Crescendo Bioscience2017-08-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crescendo Bioscience part-time

    Pros

    Really chill work environment Awesome employees By the water, so a nice view

    Cons

    Unorganized Lack of flow and communication from management

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality people

    Crescendo Bioscience2017-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Live Through This..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reimbursement Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crescendo Bioscience full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits were great, the pay was okay.

    Cons

    Terrible low-mid management and HR department. I have never, ever worked for less competent, mean-spirited people in my life. If you miss your middle school days, then this place might be right for you. The billing group is "managed" by Myriad and are so far removed from what went on in our little corner (on a different floor, different building) that they should be grateful lawsuits were not brought on. I would hate...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Audit peoples' work, listen to phone calls from everyone in the group, including the leaders, and, most importantly, pay attention to trends from people leaving over the toxic culture. I know multiple people voiced the same problems perpetrated by the same people as they left, yet nothing changed -- remove and replace low-mid management, they are incompetent and cruel. Require the leaders to acquire and maintain a certification...

    Show More
    Crescendo Bioscience2017-04-06
  5. "Good management and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crescendo Bioscience full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, good management, good company culture, free food.

    Cons

    I don't really have much to say. I guess the only thing missing is more food options around there.

    Crescendo Bioscience2016-08-31
  6. "Great People - Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Crescendo Bioscience

    Pros

    Great people. Great mission. Leadership is responsive to employee concerns. Good training for people in leadership positions. Note that reviews prior to Jan 2015 reflect another management regime and style.

    Cons

    It's not perfect - some departments are more happy than others but I think the new leadership is doing the right things to rectify all the challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Bernie Tobin is the best example of an accountable, compassionate, and effective leadership I have experienced. Glass Door needs to update the CEO information.

    Crescendo Bioscience2016-04-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ACCOUNT MANAGER/Customer Service Representative in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crescendo Bioscience part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Clean and centrally located office

    Cons

    Terrible office culture. Customer Service department is a complete mess.

    Advice to Management

    Start promoting from within and try to listen to employee concerns

    Crescendo Bioscience2015-10-21
  8. "Business Relations Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at Crescendo Bioscience full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great work from home job. Great support and leadership without the micromanaging.

    Cons

    No base pay, health insurance or retirement

    Advice to Management

    Grow the business into more markets. Offer base pay and benefits.

    Crescendo Bioscience2015-06-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crescendo Bioscience full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    zip - there's not much to say

    Cons

    Management is terrible - makes rash decisions based on no direct knowledge of what's going on

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to understand what your employees are doing

    Crescendo Bioscience2014-11-04
  10. "Working at Crescendo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crescendo Bioscience full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    now a part of Myriad Genetics so the company has deeper pockets, people are good to work with, fantastic product

    Cons

    could use a little more internal organization, but that is changing quickly with the acquisition

    Crescendo Bioscience2014-07-24
Found 15 reviews