Crete Carrier Reviews | Glassdoor

Crete Carrier Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Tonn M. Ostergard
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, well maintained equipment, friendly management(in 28 reviews)

  • "You can get good miles if you're willing to work(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough home time but that's trucking(in 20 reviews)

  • "Dispatchers are always to blame(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pros n cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellant support staff.fairly new equipment.easy drop n hook customers.several fleets to accommodate drivers.1 week to 6 week fleets.above average pay.good passenger n pet policys.insurance benefits are comparable to other companys

    Cons

    The toughest part is trying to coordinate home time with truck maintenance.The Crete shpsps have different hours so if you can leave your truck n shop and go home time you illuminate down time.

    Advice to Management

    I advise new Drivers to keep a good relationship with their fleet mgs and asset mgs.I also remind asset mgs to listen to drivers to keep them focused n happy n prevent unnecessary conflicts.some asset mgs are too quick to jump on their drivers without knowing the whole story.just listen

    Crete Carrier2019-08-06
  2. "Great Company, Benefits and on time home time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Lenoir City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do their best to get me home on time. The dispatchers keep me busy and I get paid weekly. Good equipment, good team and great driver morale. However, you can’t please everyone all the time. Some folks cannot be pleased.

    Cons

    Weekend dispatch is a bit dodgy. Maybe need more supervision or leadership

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! I love my career choice!

    Crete Carrier2019-07-22
  3. "I wan't to like this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Office in Lincoln, NE

    I have been working at Crete Carrier part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay. Probably a chance at moving up in salary with performance and experience.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, low employee morale, lack of communication between shifts, lots of finger pointing and lots people with bad attitudes, staff are very territorial & don't like to interact with each other. People always complaining they don't make enough money & they work too hard.

    Advice to Management

    Have some sort of meeting with delegated individuals to come up with ideas to improve morale in the office. More supervision by a higher authority might help cut down on the territorial and hostile staff interactions.

    Crete Carrier2019-08-20
  4. "family oriented work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment, work with you and your schedule, fun events

    Cons

    pay depending on job, PTO,

    Advice to Management

    find a better PTO system, better raises.

    Crete Carrier2019-06-24
  5. "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good insurance Affordable insurance. Not bad benefits.

    Cons

    Constantly broken down. I have spent more time in the shop than I have in the road.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better. I shouldn't have to explain my situation over and over when some random dispature answers.

    Crete Carrier2019-07-05
  6. "Average company, trucks run below speed limits, pay above average."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is above average. Equipment is dot safe as there after no shortcuts. Freight is usually plentiful. They pay detention. New equipment is all automatics. Management says they have an open door policy.

    Cons

    Trucks run below speed limits, a lot of sub-500 mi trips, night and weekend staff is hard to get ahold of either by phone or computer. They're known to get you in an area and keep you there maybe with a lot of short hops and lots of traffic. Some maintenance shops like to belittle the drivers and some attention extremely slow to complete a job.

    Advice to Management

    Dispatch needs to take a ride in a truck, and not just down the road. A couple day trip with an anonymous driver. Let them see what's it's like. Some don't have a clue. They think we're dogs. Promote within. I bet done drivers would like to get off the road. Not every driver wants to be a driver for life.

    Crete Carrier2019-06-23
  7. "Best OTR company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Lenoir City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, well maintained equipment, friendly management

    Cons

    Not enough home time but that's trucking

    Crete Carrier2019-05-22
  8. "Good company but needs a Twerk here and there...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cdl A Driver in Lancaster, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crete Carrier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay when running. Lots of loads to keep you running

    Cons

    No weather pay and low shop time pay

    Advice to Management

    Possibly paying driver for down time when stuck in the snow and nightly pay when more than 100miles from home

    Crete Carrier2019-06-03
  9. "I should have never applied to this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the pay rate.

    Cons

    Does not supply truck GPS. Provides usps address for car entrance at customers instead of gps coordinates for truck entrance. Shop provides poor service to drivers because shop employees are underpaid and there is too much turnover. Breakdown department takes way too long to authorize repairs at outside shops. Pay statements are sent via usps and online statements are not an option. Online security is poor. Personal...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to hire more or better software programmers to upgrade you systems.

    Crete Carrier2019-06-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Owner operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Crete Carrier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and Miles good dispatchers

    Cons

    Out 21 days minimum at a time

    Crete Carrier2019-04-10
Found 212 reviews