Crohn's and Colitis Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Crohn's and Colitis Canada Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Crohn's and Colitis Canada CEO Mina Mawani (no image)
Mina Mawani
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Some great employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    Passionnante workforce. Great volunteers

    Cons

    Management does not listen to workers

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Canadian health charity fighting for a worthy cause!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada supports critical research and patient programs for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis Organization is very proud of recent research successes to find a cure! My team works well together to support the vision of CCC I always feel appreciated for my contributions.

    Cons

    Heavy workload, long hours with last minute decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance is needed.

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-13
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Ability to see the impact of your work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing and Communications in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Thanks to all staff who recently completed the employee engagement survey. As a result, we've put in place an action plan and are working towards making Crohn's and Colitis Canada a great place to work. There are lots of new ideas in play. One of the rewarding things about working at Crohn's and Colitis Canada is being able to see the direct impact of your work as well as meeting passionate and committed volunteers,... patients, staff and donors. There is never a dull day!

    Show More

    Cons

    Office could use a facelift - we are tight on space.

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Heartbreaking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    Passionate volunteers, dedicated medical/scientific community, and (a few) good programs, events, and campaigns.

    Cons

    It's heartbreaking to see what has happened to Crohn's and Colitis Canada. As many of these reviews have highlighted, a few bad hires have resulted in the departure of many good staff. I wish the SMT/board of directors would reflect on the quote "people don't leave bad jobs they leave bad bosses". I think this pretty much sums up CCC. Instead of actually addressing and wanting to fix glaring issues, they look... for scapegoats, use excuses, or quick bandaid fixes. No one has the courage to stand up and admit that there are real problems that actually need to be addressed. No one is willing to get vulnerable, put their egos aside, and come up with meaningful change. True leadership is sorely needed. One of the big problems, that has became quite apparent, is that there isn't any trust at CCC. SMTs do not trust their staff which results in little to no work flexibility, micromanagement, and little room for new innovative ideas. This in turn results in staff not being able to trust SMTs. It has all turned into a big toxic mess. I could go on and on but everything has already been said in reviews below. It's just a matter if the SMT/board of directors are willing to listen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A cultural overhaul needs to take place. True leaders needed to be brought in who understand the the 5 key pillars of a team: building trust, resolving conflict, increasing commitment, being accountable, and achieving results. The SMT/board of directors should take the time to read and reflect on these reviews. I know they are calling them hostile attacks from disgruntled ex employees, aimed at hurting the... reputation of the organization. That's simply not true. The people who are writing these actually really care about CCC. We want this organization to succeed. We just recognize that it isn't happening. Until major changes are made, I sadly don't have much hope for CCC which again is heartbreaking. They are supposed to be the ones who bring hope to those who are living with these diseases. How can you take care of others when you can't even take care of your own team? At the very VERY least read some Brene Brown books.

    Show More
    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-23
  5. Helpful (18)

    "An ailing, failing health charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    The ability to contribute to a cause that is sorely in need of greater public awareness, understanding, and funding for research; The chance to support research into inflammatory bowel disease, which is the most direct route to truly improving the lives of people with the disease; Working with dedicated and talented volunteers who embody the true spirit of the organization.

    Cons

    Egotism, nepotism, and a marked inability to understand the needs of others run rife through senior management, and these failings lead to arduous working conditions for staff at all levels. At the root of this fractious culture are two individuals in particular, who happen to hold the most power at the organization: (at time of writing) President and CEO, Mina Mawani, and one individual who has a close relationship... to her. This individual influences many of the organization’s key activities and the overall work culture of the head office and its surrounding region. She should not in fact hold such power based on the organization’s hierarchy, but does so by virtue of her close relationship to the CEO; exemplifying the role that favouritism plays in both appointments and overall decision-making. Most troubling is the fact that several staff members who live with inflammatory bowel disease had their condition deteriorate as a result of working for the organization. These were all staff intrinsically tied to the cause, who often went above and beyond in their duties in order to help others like them. The majority of these particular staff members reported directly to the individual noted above. For this worsening of health to happen, and happen repeatedly, within a charity whose purpose is to safeguard the wellbeing of people living with IBD is staggering and unacceptable, and again reveals the backwards culture of favouritism that keeps problematic people secure and punishes those who exceed expectations in their roles. All staff are essentially viewed as expendable, as questions surrounding the organization’s ongoing and relatively long-standing history of employee burnout and high turnover are met with paltry excuses and fatalism. When employees leave, reasons that stem from outside the organization are always stated, without any consideration as to what it was inside the organization that drained people of their drive and happiness. There is a glaring inability to focus or think strategically. Hard work is exalted, but not a moment is spent considering whether work is within people’s capacities, whether it’s necessary, how it should be prioritized, and above all, if it is even beneficial for people impacted by Crohn’s or colitis. Certain initiatives are pushed forward - and allocated hard-earned funds - not because they help people with IBD in a meaningful or impactful way, but because they give senior staff a way to claim they’re making a difference. An overwhelming number of competing priorities results in many things being done abjectly, rather than a few things being done well. In the rare instance something is done with quality and in a timely manner, it’s not because of the organization’s work processes, but in spite of them. The constant piling on of tasks pulls staff in too many directions, necessitates frequently working after hours and on weekends, and eventually results in resignations. The organization feels desultory. People with no knowledge of design or UX bark demands for print materials and websites. People with next to no experience in fundraising call the shots for donor relations. People with a rudimentary understanding of IBD decide how the disease should be portrayed – in one notable case, doing so in a way that offended a sizeable segment of the Crohn’s and colitis community. If you think I waited until after I left to raise all of these issues, you would be mistaken. I raised my concerns, along with ideas for how to improve the situation, in writing and submitted it to senior management and human resources. Over a year passed, and the working environment only deteriorated further. I can’t help but feel as though my concerns were dismissed, if considered at all. One last point, which I think sums up how the organization’s top brass handle problems. There are a few conspicuously positive reviews on this site that appear to be written solely to counteract the warranted slew of negative reviews. I was encouraged to write a similar cheery review during my time at the organization but did not. One positive review suggests that employees who have to take on additional tasks because of the charity’s consistent turnover may sadly not see their exponentially growing workload as a an opportunity for growth. Gee, maybe that’s because an overwhelming workload that strips employees of any semblance of work-life balance is not an opportunity for growth. Twisting the realities of a difficult situation, and whitewashing a multitude of genuine issues rather than addressing them illustrates how those in positions of power focus solely on self-preservation while completely disregarding the wellbeing of those who work alongside them. Any positive reviews written over the past two years should be viewed with suspicion as possible examples of this sort of masking and distortion of truth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the second paragraph of the Cons section. Then read it again. Then read it again. If you have allowed people with IBD – who are the ones most dedicated to the cause – to have their health degrade as a result of working for Crohn’s and Colitis Canada, you have contravened the whole purpose of the organization. The people who have allowed this to happen must be held responsible for failing the charity’s stated... mission. Realize as well that it’s not just people with IBD who suffer in tumultuous work environments. Anyone subjected to haphazard planning, toxic relations, and burdensome workloads will have their health – both physical and mental – negatively affected, have their performance suffer, and ultimately end up looking for work elsewhere. An organization can only be as successful as the people behind it, and a rapidly revolving door of employees and consultants coming and going is no path to progress. The organization feels like a house on a flimsy foundation. But instead of fixing the foundation, there’s only a desire to build more stories. A house that continues to grow atop a weak base will inevitably collapse. Stop expanding for expansion’s sake and fix what’s wrong, or run the risk of having to rebuild from the rubble.

    Show More
    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-20
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Stressful, toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good, close to TTC

    Cons

    The whole environment is chaotic and stressful, a constant stream of employees joining and then leaving, and very low office morale. Almost all employees are unhappy there, and many are actively looking to leave. Senior management is truly incompetent, especially the CEO... don't be fooled by recent positive reviews, which were actually written by senior management. The place will sap your energy and leave you... wondering how you ever ended up there

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is the problem, so it doesn't matter what advice I have to offer them

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    The cause itself, nothing more.

    Cons

    High stress, no training, constant pressure, way too much turnover,

    Advice to Management

    There is a serious systemic problem in this organization. Management is incompetent provides zero direction, employees across Canada needs to meet with Board members and work together. Volunteers are frustrated. There needs to be major changes and more employees need to be hired to reduce the workload.

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (13)

    "A dysfunctional, depressing and demoralizing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    Vacation time is decent, location is not far from downtown

    Cons

    Management is asleep at the wheel and grossly incompetent to the point of disbelief. There is a huge gap between those employees who work very hard, with very little recognition in a lousy work environment, and senior staff who are lazy and overpaid and just pile work onto their employees. Employee turnover is extremely high, even for a nonprofit. It's a constant stream of people coming and going. Many employees'... health conditions seem to deteriorate due to the stress. Stay away from this toxic workplace... it's not worth it. If you end up here, you will likely be miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is the problem here. We are stuck with a CEO who is unqualified and way beyond her depth. Get a good leader to steer the ship, and maybe you will have a fighting chance

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2018-02-23
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Unecessarily difficult place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great volunteers, patients, and young (below manager level) staff who are passionate and trying hard to do great work.

    Cons

    There is no strategic goal or vision. There are no internal or cross-communication efforts, leading to people 'working in silos' even though it's a tiny organization. Many VPs and managers expect staff to work very hard, but yet do very little themselves (complain about overtime, lie about doing work, blaming vendors!). There is very low morale, and turnover rate is very high. With morale so low, not enough... effort is being made to keep staff. Very rarely is someone promoted, career and personal growth are not possible here. There is a focus on getting big name attention to events, but no resources to pull it off. Too many meetings, revisions and opinions instead of trusting hired staff to do their jobs, or listening to younger staff members who work very hard. I wouldn't advise anyone to work here unless they are willing to work very hard, and not get recognized for it. Do not stay for more than a year. Do not work here unless you absolutely need a job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house - hire some really proven Fundraisers and Marketers. Or, ask yourself every time you do something - am I helping someone with these diseases, or am I just advancing my career? Instead of pretending things are ok, be honest and transparent. People will appreciate it and trust you more.

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2018-01-30
  10. Helpful (11)

    "A Disgrace of a Non-Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crohn's and Colitis Canada full-time

    Pros

    There are very few pros to working here. There is a committed group of young staff members and volunteers/patients who are the backbone of the organisation, everything else is horrible.

    Cons

    Mina Mawani is possibly one of the worst CEOs I have ever encountered, with none of the necessary skills needed to manage a successful non profit. The rest of the SMT is incompetent, useless, and do very little to strategically guide this very worthwhile cause. Staff morale is very low and there is no leadership. I would strongly recommend anyone stay away from this place.

    Advice to Management

    Re-consider your priorities, working for a non profit shouldn't be an exercise in validating your ego. Stop spending hours obsessing over irrelevant details and actually do some work. Alternatively, reconsider whether this is the field for you.

    Crohn's and Colitis Canada2018-01-26
Found 19 reviews