Cross Country Home Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Cross Country Home Services Reviews

Updated April 3, 2018
85 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Upshaw
34 Ratings

85 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Awesome people and work environment (in 10 reviews)

  • Room for growth if you are a hard worker, great company and good benefits (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • There are people in the call center that walk around in what is clearly not proper work attire and the work area looks like a little girls kids room (in 5 reviews)

  • Personally, I feel that there are no cons to working for Cross Country Home Services (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fast Growing Company, a lot of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Sunrise, FL
    Current Employee - Management in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cross Country Home Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a really exciting time to be part of CCHS, as our new leadership team works to take us to the next level in the industry. CEO Steve Upshaw is determined to grow the company and change perception across the entire home services industry with the use of technology and human capital. He is also a great communicator who believes in sharing progress and being transparent about the business' success and challenges. One factor I noticed right away was that there are a lot of committed and loyal people in the organization at all levels, working together to achieve the company's goals and strategic pillars. Supportive and engaged board.

    Cons

    Sometimes management has to wear a lot of hats during this critical growth period. Pace could be too fast for some. Must be nimble to adapt to a lot of change in roles and the day-to-day.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the laser focus on growth and we will definitely get there. Remain open to internal and consultant feedback on the best ways to take the company to a new level.

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued. We work diligently to promote a positive work environment and a culture that... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad if you need work NOW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Sunrise, FL
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cross Country Home Services full-time

    Pros

    - Definitely some knowledgeable people in certain departments whom you can learn quite a bit from
    - AMPLE parking
    - Close to many restaurants :)
    - For what it's worth the repetitive exposure to the service tech industry allows you to leverage knowledge on many trades

    Cons

    - Not a top 3 or even 5 player in the home warranty industry yet company has been in business for 30 years
    - You will not have a legitimate file management system/ software suite to work on. Get used to rummaging through the depths of sub folders to find stored files
    - You will not be exposed to streamlined reporting/ analytics. Get used to all reports being organized/ saved to one of hundreds of Excel files
    - Company relies too heavily on outsourced staffing in order to conscript a low-wage workforce that sees CONTINUOUS churn. Leads to no sense of belonging.
    - Salary (average)/ Bonus structure on the other hand is based upon performance reviews that are a convoluted mess! Do not expect fluidity here nor anything resembling a respectable hike to where you currently came in at unless you threaten to quit the position pending change. Even then, better hope you are favored by team management
    - Patronizing department contests for employees working on the floor that take the place of more serious minded attempts to increase wages/ streamline structure of work
    - Without snagging a position in Management this is not a company that has made enough of a name for themselves that you can expect to gain any leverage from when listing them on your CV

    Advice to Management

    The efforts to re-brand yourself can not wash over the current atmosphere of confusion and overall suspicion felt by many of the employees when spoken to one-on-one. Executive leadership should be more visible. No one knows who you people are!! lol! Unless it involves a scheduled ceremony, photo-op or event of sorts. Walk the floor, learn the names and grievances of those who are often getting the smallest rations of the pie yet expected to carry the heaviest burdens for the company. Now think about that for a second.

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Thank you for providing your honest feedback. Your review has been forwarded to our leadership. We are disappointed that you did not experience the working dynamic you had hoped. We wish you well... More

  3. "Corporate dumbasses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Anderson, SC
    Former Employee - Sales in Anderson, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cross Country Home Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits , awesome co workers ,

    Cons

    Corporate is very unorganized

    Advice to Management

    Get organized

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    We've experienced a lot of changes over the last few years and many more exciting ones to come this year. Thanks for highlighting your awesome co-workers (we love ours too)! Sorry to hear about your... More


  4. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Cross Country Home Services full-time

    Pros

    worked under Ricardo and he was amazing

    Cons

    new management sucked. didn't know anything

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Sounds like your experience at Cross Country was mixed. In any event, we wish you the best as you move forward in your career!


  5. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting
    Former Employee - Accounting
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cross Country Home Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good place to work, laid back work environment.

    Cons

    Lack of Communications, huge miscommunication between top and bottom management

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified people

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    We love working at Cross Country too. Thanks for your review. We certainly strive to be good communicators and we are disappointed to find you wish we had done more. We wish you all the best in your... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Anderson, SC
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Anderson, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cross Country Home Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are several incentives. You are paid a monthly bonus of $300 simply by coming to work and work performance. Your colleagues and Supervisors are friendly and willing to help. The call volume is consistent throughout the schedule provided. There is definitely room for growth. Job positions availability and pay rate increases opportunity right after training.

    Excellent benefits and medical insurance.

    Cons

    The $300 monthly bonus is based on a difficult KPI. Although you qualify based on you attendence; you must qualify based on your average handling time, quality score, and adherence. The service provided by Sears and Cross Country Homes to the homeowners is the worse. We are expected to empathize and position a warranty denial to a homeowner. All the warranties have loop holes; which made it difficult. A hypothetical example, the warranty will cover the car engine, but will not cover the cost of labor, most of the parts within the engine, and the service call and diagnostic. The homeowner must pay premiums on time monthly. It requires more time to explain to the customer, a lot of patience due to the "extended ranting of the customer about the warranty", low quality scores due to call control. In return no monthly $300 bonus.
    Do not expect to enjoy the benefits. It is very difficult to use your vacation and PTO due to their definition of "high call volume". You are denied and come to work and may sit and wait for a call for 20 minutes. The Supervisors will come around the center an ask you to go off phone and complete call back task due to no calls in que.

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the leadership. It is important for us to have our team members feel heard. As such, if you would like any... More


  7. "Retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retention Specialist in Sunrise, FL
    Former Employee - Retention Specialist in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cross Country Home Services (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The only thing can never complain about this company is their schedules no weekends

    Cons

    Very unprofessional environent , no room for growing up with the company. Their commissions and bonus below rate.

    Advice to Management

    You need to be more competitive your salary not good enough for what you demand! mediocre salary mediocre customer service. You have what you pay for. Thimk this.. If the employees love the company customers will love it better

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your candor. Though we strive to promote a positive working environment, it sounds from your remarks there could be opportunities for... More

  8. "Getting There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Sunrise, FL
    Current Employee - Administrative in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cross Country Home Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This Company is currently undergoing some changes. I started with the company a couple of years ago and the company culture seems to be improving. I'm looking forward to seeing what the future holds for this company.

    Cons

    Raises and bonuses are not great.

    Advice to Management

    Continue showing your employees that they are valued.

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and offer feedback. As you know, it is our desire to be competitive in our industry and offer the best to our team members. We will relay your... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Full time employee in Sunrise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cross Country Home Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are buying into the new direction of the company, which makes work more enjoyable. The CEO is definitely taking the company to the next level. Lots of opportunity if you are committed to helping make a difference.

    Cons

    The building is outdated.

    Advice to Management

    We're headed in the right direction. Keep doing more of what you've been doing!

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    We are excited about the new direction too and we have people like you to thank for our great company culture. Thanks for your commitment to making Cross Country a fantastic place to work.


  10. "So many other better options out there than this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunrise, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cross Country Home Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are some very nice people that work here.

    Cons

    So many new executives, top executives, many C-level executives. They are all horrible people. If you walk by any of these "super talented executive" you hear shouting and foul language coming out of their mouths. The Executives are using vile language. If you walk by the executive conference room you can hear executives having a meeting you can sometimes hear yelling and profanities as well. Now there is a new executive in HR, about a month now, there has been no interaction with the employees. This place is a joke, these executive walk around acting like they work for google or amazon, they really think they are something special but have no clue how to treat it's employees. Horrible management in this place. There are people in the call center that walk around in what is clearly not proper work attire and the work area looks like a little girls kids room. HR has the same issue with dress code, people walking around with crop tops, so unprofessional. What happen to professional work attire?

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like you know everything and treat us associates with more respect. Not just the associates that are buddy buddy with HR and executives.

    Cross Country Home Services Response

    May 11, 2018 – Employer Representative

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your candor. Though we strive to promote a positive working environment, it sounds from your remarks that there could be opportunities for... More


Showing 85 of 85 reviews
Reset Filters