CrossCountry Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

CrossCountry Consulting Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CrossCountry Consulting Founding Partners Erik Linn & Dave Kay (no image)
Erik Linn & Dave Kay
88 Ratings
  1. "I Love Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time

    Pros

    The company is really showing how much they value their employees during this COVID19 crisis. They have been open and transparent, always putting people first. We have weekly meetings with executive leadership where they have an open Q&A for us to ask any questions directly to our founders. It has given me some piece of mind during an uncertain period. They are also very flexible with school being out for the year and offering all the support they can give us.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-03-30
  2. "The Best Place I have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CrossCountry has a true people first culture and is a first mover in setting policies to empower their employees to work flexible while maintaining client responsibilities and personal commitments. The clients and colleagues are best in class allowing for a dynamic environment where all employees continue to learn and grow as professionals.

    Cons

    None - but as with any growing organization employees need to have a flexible growth mindset and be open to new challenges and experiences.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-03-26
  3. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time

    Pros

    - The culture first and foremost - A place where you can make life-long friends - Humble team with a great sense of humor - Team is collaborative and responsive - Leadership provides endless opportunities to be part of the growth - Leadership is fully committed to doing the right thing by the team - You don't have to be pigeonholed, if interested you can get exposure across multiple different service lines

    Cons

    As with any growing company there can be some growing pains, e.g. proactive and timely updates to processes/systems that support rapid growth.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-03-13
  4. "Consistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting

    Pros

    -Work/Life Balance is important to the company. While there are busy times you generally aren’t working crazy hours and get some flexibility with remote work on some clients. - The People - everyone you work with is qualified, friendly and a pleasure to work with. They work hard to preserve the culture through the recruiting process. - The work is consistent, sometimes not that challenging, but consistent. You generally don’t have to worry about utilization because a lot of the clients have long term engagements and they are growing fast so they have more opportunities than people to fill them right now.

    Cons

    -The pay and annual pay increases are generally below market. They try to compensate for this with other bonus opportunities, but I personally would rather have it in my base pay. -This is a con for most consulting firms but recognition and promotions can be political in terms of who you know in leadership that has your back and has seen your work ethic first hand. Not all clients require senior management oversight so your contributions can go unnoticed.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-03-04
  5. Helpful (10)

    "I feel bad for people who read the 5 stars, join and then regret it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people. Majority of hires coming from the Big 4 were great additions to the team. The Managing Partners had a "no jerk policy" where they would only give the thumbs up for someone they would happily share a beer with. - PTO policy is above the US average (although below other comparable countries). - Come here if you want to give your brain a vacation. Alot of the jobs are secondments. No real consulting involved - clock in and clock out with minimal responsibility

    Cons

    - Pay is below market rate. You will be sold on the "intangibles" but there are none. Internationals are told that their compensation package includes the relocation/visa fees to get you to the US, but the following years salary does not reflect this amount. - Professional Development doesn't exist here. If you are looking to grow and upskill, you are at the wrong place. Leadership don't care about your career goals - dont be surprised if you are pulled into a different service line - Weak local leadership. Don't expect to pick up any softskills here. - Perception is everything here. It is not enough to do a good job, you need to be seen to be doing it. If you are put on a client where you report directly to the client (and not CCC leadership) you are unlikely to be recognized for your efforts. - Politics - you have to drink the cool-aide - The caliber of client can seem impressive, but the quality of the work you are doing is not. Leadership appear to struggle to convert leads into actual sales. You will always hear about a great pipeline, but have yet to see it materialize. - No diversity in leadership

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-02-12

    CrossCountry Consulting Response

    February 18, 2020Operations

    Hello, this is Dave Kay. It’s unfortunate that you had this experience while at CrossCountry. We offer coaching programs, online training, instructor led courses and a training curriculum within the firm. Your CrossCountry coach is available to help work through any frustrations you may have and work with you to advance your skills and career. If you are open to it, please contact me at dkay@crosscountry-consulting.com so we can continue to learn and grow as a company. Thanks, Dave

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great culture, awesome leadership

    Cons

    benefits are fairly modest.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-02-10
  7. "A people-first company that supports professional growth & development!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great company culture and a strong leadership team (the people here genuinely care about and support each other!) -Emphasis on work-life balance and flexibility -Robust performance management program that supports individual professional development and growth

    Cons

    Working for a rapidly growing company can, by nature, lead to minor "growing pains" (constantly evolving roles, changing priorities, etc). In my experience, these "growing pains" can lead to additional opportunities for professional growth if you remain open-minded, positive, and flexible!

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-02-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Inconsistent culture with friendly leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly leadership and C-suite, competitive benefits package and good parking. Have fun company events which are after-hours.

    Cons

    The culture on paper contradicts the actual everyday, they do want FaceTime. The office is uninspiring, it's a cube-farm. The ability to working from home is inconsistent and there seems to be a need for optics in certain departments. It also important to note that many people have worked with the CEOs before so that in a way creates a sub-culture.

    CrossCountry Consulting2020-02-05
  9. "Incredible Culture & Professional Development!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Leadership truly cares about your professional development and ensures that you are working on projects which excite you and help you grow professionally * EVERYONE I have worked with is kind and supportive which makes coming to work enjoyable *Incredible focus on work-life balance - the company genuinely wants to make sure that you aren't working around the clock and don't have to sacrifice what's important to you

    Cons

    *As with any small company experiencing rapid growth, there are some minor growing pains. That said, leadership is always transparent with employees and works to address these as they arise.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-01-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Some companies talk about culture, CrossCountry lives it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CrossCountry Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pervasive culture: a lot companies give lip service to culture, but CrossCountry lives it. In my first week, I had employees that weren't in my department come by my desk and say something to the effect of "hey, you are new right? I am going to get some coffee, want to join?" I also had both founders of the company stop me in the hall after recognizing me as a new hire. Both genuinely wanted to get to know me and ensure that things are going great so far. - Engaged leadership - Great opportunity - High growth company

    Cons

    - The administrative portion of on-boarding is not centralized and can be hard to track completion against. That being said, the people portion of on-boarding is great. CrossCountry puts you in contact with people who truly care about your on-boarding experience and will bend over backwards to make sure you get what you need.

    Continue reading
    CrossCountry Consulting2020-01-29
Found 116 reviews