Crouse Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Crouse Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Crouse Hospital CEO Kimberly Boynton
Kimberly Boynton
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons about working at Crouse Hospital(in 2 reviews)

  • "After a while you don’t learn new things unless you float to another unit(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nutritional Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crouse Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career advancement. Supports continuing education . Flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Yearly raises are not performance based.

    Crouse Hospital2019-06-24
  2. "Good community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Register Nurse 

    I worked at Crouse Hospital full-time

    Pros

    People Benefits Coworkers are great depending on floor

    Cons

    Pay could be better but union

    Crouse Hospital2019-08-26
  3. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Syracuse, NY

    I worked at Crouse Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits Overtime always available Opportunities for enhanced pay when short staffed

    Cons

    Union dues are expensive

    Crouse Hospital2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed work as ECT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Care Technician 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crouse Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great people, satisfying work, decent pay

    Cons

    Lots of change, low staffing

    Crouse Hospital2019-05-28
  5. "Benefits are Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Crouse Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a company match for 401K, generous paid time off that increases with each year you are there. Reasonably priced health insurance.

    Cons

    One negative is that they don't give you all the federal holidays off, only six holidays a year. Little room for growth. Positions that are open sometimes get filled by someone outside, without posting it internally and giving qualified employees a chance.

    Advice to Management

    Address the frequent turnover and problems in senior leadership. Brushing it under the rug could send the message to staff that you don't care.

    Crouse Hospital2019-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start as a new grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crouse Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent coworkers who care about you, good work environment, diverse patient population

    Cons

    After a while you don’t learn new things unless you float to another unit. Not as many learning opportunities as there could be. Unit manager is too focused on numbers, and does not welcome feedback from staff.

    Crouse Hospital2019-05-01
  7. "Friendly people, employees are shown appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HIM Assistant II in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crouse Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I have met at Crouse has been kind. I really enjoy coming to work here!! Employees are appreciated; all employees were given free Lights on the Lake tickets. My hours are perfect, I get out just in time to pick my son up from afterschool childcare.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    Crouse Hospital2019-02-10
  8. "Financial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crouse Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Treated with respect, ideas excepted

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Crouse Hospital2018-10-23
  9. "Chemical Dependency Treatment Services Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crouse Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful staff- care deeply about the well being of their patients. As an intern, they seem to value your opinion and allow you to contribute in beneficial ways. They want you to do well and it shows.

    Cons

    Chemical Dependency Treatment services is a very emotionally draining work environment- you work with people from various backgrounds who are trying to overcome extremely difficult life circumstances

    Crouse Hospital2018-09-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crouse Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are excellent to work with. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    After being taken over by the hospital, morale decreased and doctors' opinions mattered less.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to physicians more.

    Crouse Hospital2018-09-18
Found 49 reviews