KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Crown Castle

Engaged Employer

Crown Castle

Add a Review

Crown Castle Employee Reviews about "crown castle"

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 of over 773 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Crown Castle CEO Jay Brown
Jay Brown
387 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Crown Castle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "crown castle"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Big company with Big Opportunities

    Sep 10, 2021 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training procedures that get you acclimated with the telecom industry and Crown Castle standards Your Team members will always be there to answer your questions and help you solve problems You definitely have room to move up, if you can prove that you're able to take on more responsibility Job security seemed like it was very likely when working with Crown Castle

    Cons

    Crown Castle is currently a very customer orientated company, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. However, it seemed like at times the Customer would force Crown Castle into awkward positions in order to reach Customer goals.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    SEEKING OTHER CROWN EMPLOYEES AGAINST THE VACCINE MANDATE

    Oct 20, 2021 - Real Estate in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The salary is fair and the benefit package is good.

    Cons

    President Biden has not issued a national mandate because the federal government has no statutory authority to do so, but Crown Castle (headquartered in TX) is strictly enforcing vaccine mandates for ALL employees, with NO exceptions. Crown Castle has refused to comply with the TX Governor's Executive Order banning vaccine mandates. All employees must submit proof of full vaccination by November 15th or be terminated and then ineligible to receive unemployment benefits. I am not against the vaccine. I have already had COVID-19 and I have natural immunity; recent research has proven that antibodies are more protective than the vaccine. The CDC confirms the vaccine will not prevent me from contracting COVID or spreading it, and the efficacy of the vaccines continues to decline. I am extremely concerned about the number of deaths and adverse events related to the mRNA vaccinations. What if I comply with Crown’s mandate and suffer cardiac issues or become disabled – what then? I also have strong personal religious convictions that leave me very conflicted about the mRNA vaccines, but Crown will not honor religious exemptions. Crown even refuses to allow any reasonable accommodations, like accepting my antibody test results, allowing me to submit regular COVID tests or to continue to work from home. I never anticipated having to face such a personal moral and ethical dilemma in my workplace. My employer is forcing me to undergo an irreversible and experimental medical treatment to feed my family and keep a roof over my head -- or destroy my life. Isn’t this a violation of my civil rights? I support a family and cannot afford to lose my job. I would like to connect with other employees who are experiencing the same relentless pressure to "hurry up and get the shot" and suffering the same immense stress my family and I are facing as we try to decide the best way forward. Please comment if you share my situation.

    22 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not Greener on the other side

    Sep 19, 2021 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Pay, benefits and bonus, for company standard

    Cons

    Crown Castle has become so customer driven that it is losing touch with the employees. Complaints about bad managers goes un-noticed as they are safe as long as they play faithful to their manager, (very little managers left that are good), employees felt led on during COVID that we would have a solution for remote work but then forced to return to the office even if you do not collaborate with anyone in the office. Executives say they care about the employees but actions speak louder than words. Most management and employees will not do more than they need leaving the heavy pressure on the PMs/PCs - Company moral is definitely diminishing with employees and there is never enough head count. Once upper management sees the PMs/teams need help they bring in help when everything is up in flames and too late. 4 years ago I would have said 5 stars plus, but employees are starting to talk about seeking new opportunities,

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    They Fake and They Phony!

    Aug 19, 2021 - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great telecom industry tailwinds, deployment of 5G technology, good physical assets, average benefits and free parking

    Cons

    Weak senior leadership, lack of customer focus, no integrity, greedy, unethical leadership within CCI's fiber division, gutless middle management that just follows the herd, zero respect for employees, limited career advancement, fake culture and a "utility" work environment. It is not surprising that American Tower outperforms CCI everyday of the week. At Crown Castle, good is good enough. Unfortunately, CCI is a shell of the company, they used to be.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    I recommend Crown Castle

    Dec 14, 2020 - Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Work life Balance. People were great to work with and build many relationships here.

    Cons

    I really can’t say anything bad about Crown Castle

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic Executives - Some Poor Middle Management

    Nov 29, 2020 - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a few companies with better executive management than Crown Castle. The culture in general is fantastic and the benefits are second to none. It’s fantastic working for executives that don’t say one thing and preach constantly one thing and then act another way. That’s very unique and refreshing. They truly live by what they preach. Unfortunately their constant preaching of good culture doesn’t always seem to soak in for some management throughout the company. While the senior executives truly mean what they say as far as good culture is concerned, I wonder if some high/middle-management treat these ideas as mere internal marketing slogan’s but don’t truly live it themselves. This seems more true in regions further away from the headquarters in Houston. If you can work at Crown Castle in Houston you will be very fortunate. Fantastic individuals and lots of great memories of working there in Houston. I know I mixed in some cons here.

    Cons

    It’s hard to come up with these as it feels that executive management is absolutely intent on making it a great place to work and are doing everything in their power to make it so. I remember when the executives found out about one high-level manager who was clearly out of step with the good Crown culture (unbelievable ego and his disrespect of others lower than him was ridiculous) and got rid of him immediately as fast as they could. It’s fantastic. And it sent the signal that they protect no one whose behavior is bad. I absolutely loved it. if only they could find all of the managers whose words actions and egos don’t always align with the culture that’s being preached. I’ve met middle/high-level managers in other regions that seem to have bigger egos than the entire executive management team put together (which, ironically don’t seem to have any ego at all). I remember one director getting rid of one of the hardest working, kindest individuals I’ve ever worked with. The employee was super helpful even when he really didn’t have time to be (as was evidenced by his constantly working weekends). He was promoted, then afterward, told the director he was having qualms about his own ability to do the job. Instead of giving his old job back (which he was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE AT), he was immediately fired. Unreal ego trip. NOT A SINGLE EXECUTIVE WOULD HAVE CONDONED THAT AND WOULD HAVE BEEN HORRIFIED OF LEARNING OF SUCH TERRIBLE TREATMENT OF SUCH A KIND, helpful, high-performing individual). He was an encyclopedia of knowledge about his job and trained several others. This was not in Houston.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    If you’re a employee Contract employees will do more work than you

    Nov 20, 2020 - Construction Manager in Phila, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ok pay great benefits company car , bonuses (not this year)

    Cons

    Well where do I begin what happened to crown castle ? They bought all these fiber companies and bled money to light tower. Then what didn’t make sense was that they had internal splicers and they still uses contract vendors to perform the work. Small cell contract employees were often used in the field more often than employees of Crown.. Employees of Crown Castle were always working by the “B3” values and when they turned thing in that were wrong they were told not to say anything and were often intimidated and targeted by project managers. So often project managers would find a way to write you up make false allegations and even lie about employees. Just recently Crown terminated 250+ employees so i would not say your job is safe any longer everyone has a target on their back. Good luck to the ones that lost their jobs one week before a holiday sad Elliot capital has pushed this place to a breaking point

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Total disaster

    Nov 19, 2020 - Digital Transformation 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The memories of what used to be

    Cons

    Google Crown Castle Layoffs, find site, read. 450 people laid off.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Such High Hopes, So Disappointed

    Jul 9, 2020 - Project Coordinator in Chandler, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the most part, you get to work with smart, generally amiable people - this was an enjoyable part of the company and something you will hear often, the Culture. Leaning in to a transparent framework when it comes to re-orgs & big changes so the employees feel their input is heard.

    Cons

    If you are at a lower-level status, your enthusiasm to succeed and find a place within the company is quickly met with false promises and deflection. There is no line drawn for the demanding workload or expectations as a contractor (such as training formal employees), but once you seek answers or feedback upper management will quickly remind you of your place. There is less of a focus on the work being produced as a top performer, rather your final outcome of advancement is more of a crapshoot of timing and what department you are in. There is proven record of even the most deserving of contracted employees being terminated while the "lucky ones" get to move forward in the employment process. It is well versed by the veteran employees that this is a sad, unreasonable trend that has risen over recent years. Another problem at Crown Castle is that how well you do is more of a matter of perception than the actual work you produce. Even if you're often identified as a good performer -- if you aren't vocal and toot your own horn to management, you are unlikely to advance quickly. You have to be your own advocate, which can be true in most work environments, but for the people who are more interested in focusing on the actual work and demonstrating their value that way, there isn't time partiality. Standards aren't uniformly enforced either. In fact, you will likely spend much of your time learning the daily work and systems on your own. Whether your team is helpful and/or encouraging is a big component of how well you do rather than the company providing the necessary tools and resources to succeed. Unfortunately it sounds like this will be a common factor during your entire time at Crown Castle, as there are so many changes and reorgs that regularly occur.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Stay for the benefits but tread lightly.

    Feb 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Crown Castle can be a really great place to work if you keep your head down and do as you're told. Company outings are fun. Benefits are top notch.

    Cons

    You should prepare to absorb job responsibilities from your co-workers at any time with no increase in salary or title. Many departments have an unprofessional work culture where harassment (sorry, it's true!) is tolerated and often covered up. Romantic relationships in the office are the norm and seem to be encouraged, even. Business performance has been steadily declining and I wouldn't be surprised if layoffs are around the corner. There has been a constant negative vibe in the office, especially over the past 6-12 months.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

Popular Careers with Crown Castle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Crown Castle? Share Your Experiences

or

Crown Castle Photos

+ Add Photo
Crown Castle photo of: Halloween in the Miami office
Crown Castle photo of: San Francisco Tower, Small Cells, and Fiber BBQ
Crown Castle photo of: Teammates running the Pittsburgh Marathon together
Crown Castle photo of: Taking our St. Louis District team out to the ballgame
Crown Castle photo of: Pittsburgh people showing off our campus
Crown Castle photo of: Phoenix office kickball league champs
Crown Castle photo of: Legal Department Holiday Party fun
See All Photos