Crystal & Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Crystal & Company Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Crystal & Company CEO James W. Crystal (no image)
James W. Crystal
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Jonathan Crystal will be taking over soon and things will definitely be heading south(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crystal & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are very helpful when you need anything. They will help you out even when its not their job.

    Cons

    Not many young professionals on the office.

    Crystal & Company2019-02-21
  2. "It is over. Once great company sold out from under the employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crystal & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you are in the financial institutions or executive risk group, you will be treated way better than the P&C folks.

    Cons

    What was once lean mean broker turned into a shell of itself because the CEO cashed out rather than having his sons run the company. A fine boutique firm absorbed into a roll up operation that favors the private stockholders over clients 100% of the time.

    Advice to Management

    Its too late. Greed won.

    Crystal & Company2019-07-22
  3. "Reporting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Crystal & Company

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Direct manager really cared about his people, but let those who knew their jobs DO their jobs.

    Cons

    I don’t believe ownership cared about all their employees. Only some

    Advice to Management

    Too late. They sold for top dollar

    Crystal & Company2019-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crystal & Company full-time

    Pros

    It is a great commute from Brooklyn

    Cons

    nasty company culture - Jim Crystal & Jonathan think the employees are out to steal from them and cheat them.

    Advice to Management

    Extend some trust to your employees if you want them to trust you

    Crystal & Company2018-11-04
  5. "Upper Management Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Crystal & Company full-time

    Pros

    Upper Management has cared about my career growth. Like any place, it is on me to have the initiative to approach them, but they are always willing to help when I do.

    Cons

    There are no administrative roles on the account servicing side. Account executives are expected to bill, issue certificates, etc in addition to marketing, analyzing exposures, visiting clients, etc.

    Crystal & Company2018-09-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Crystal & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t say there are any pros

    Cons

    False promises made. You are blamed for other people’s mistakes. The women are catty

    Advice to Management

    Don’t make false promises to your employees that are working their butts off to get promoted.

    Crystal & Company2018-06-19
  7. "Director, National Sales & Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crystal & Company full-time

    Pros

    World class peers who are experts in their vertical and welcome sharing their expertise. An independent family owned and managed firm with global reach working with titans of industry to a broad array of clients with the intellectual capital for any Producer to go after any scale of business -even against the big three. Their philosophy on developing a book of business, securing a client, is a key differentiator to... other firms- and sets Crystal apart. Senior leadership genuniely care about their employees. A great place to work and build a career.

    Show More

    Cons

    The compensation plan for new Producers does not incentivize building a book- best come to Crystal with your own book or have business ready to move.

    Crystal & Company2018-05-02
  8. "Crystal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crystal & Company full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment and innovative

    Cons

    Privately owned and no ability to share in the profits

    Crystal & Company2018-04-16
  9. "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crystal & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is lots of opportunity. Hard work pays off. As a family owned business you feel like you are part of the family.

    Cons

    Communication can be an issue, but that is because we are growing rapidly and lots of growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more clearly

    Crystal & Company2018-03-25
  10. "February 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crystal & Company full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good; colleagues are great; holiday benefits are good.

    Cons

    Insurance option(s) too expensive. Should have more incentives for employee base.

    Crystal & Company2018-02-26
Found 49 reviews