Cubitt and West Reviews | Glassdoor

Cubitt and West Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
6 reviews

Filter

Filter


1.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Cubitt and West Managing Director David Lench
David Lench
3 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Typical High Street Estate Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Negotiator in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Negotiator in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cubitt and West full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very clear progression structure

    Close knit team

    A lot of money spent on branding and marketing

    The most honest estate agent I've worked for so far

    Very good training

    Cons

    Very long hours and no regard for people's personal lives

    The hours aren't worth the money you're paid, I was a top performer and it still wasn't worth it

    Very high fees which make it hard to generate business and earn money

    Expected to use your personal car for business use - this is inspected for cleanliness and your in trouble if it's not perfectly clean

    Advice to Management

    Stop making staff work so long in the evenings

    Give staff a better work life balance


  2. "Wouldn't work here again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Negotiator in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Negotiator in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cubitt and West full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You will quickly move on to a much better job in the industry.

    Cons

    Ridiculously long hours. Far too much pressure to always 'help' customers by bullying them to use exorbitant in house legals and IFA. Dodgy practices from illegall listings to fudged mortgages. £4 per hour basic!

    Advice to Management

    Close the business down, your reputation is slowly catching up with you across the industry. I rarely hear any praise.

    Cubitt and West Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Marketing Director

    In our 8th employee engagement survey undertaken in December 2016 , 95% of our staff told us that they are proud to work for the company. When asked what they enjoy most about working for the company... More

  3. "You are worth better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Haywards Heath, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Haywards Heath, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cubitt and West full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You'll get your foot in the door of working in this industry

    Cons

    Everything. 12 hour days, encouraged to lie to customers

    Advice to Management

    Shut down your company. You're good at making money, at the expense of your customers and your staff.

    Cubitt and West Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Marketing Director

    Our business is designed to provide our customers with a service that provides them with 12 hour business opening but our staff are not expected to work 12 hour days.

    Let me share a couple of... More


  4. "Branch Secretary/administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Secretary in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    School hours available for admin staff.

    Cons

    Terrible pay £8.75 per hour after two years service and two pay rises. Insist "secretaries" wear high heel shoes. Force Sales staff to start at 8.15 with morning meeting followed by a Power Hour of phone calls where told not even allowed to go to toilet. Make cleanliness of office 'everyone's responsibility hence toilets and kitchen communal areas not cleaned properly - I had urinary infection, not surprised if related to dirty communal areas. Administrators given huge responsibility for legal compliance yet training is a joke and pay just above legal minimum. Staff turnover enormous: had 4 Branch Managers in 4 years and seen countless Sales Advisor staff cone and go. Seen loads of questionable practices from "illegally" listed properties to disgusting treatment of co workers. Made to attend monthly "Out-Passioning" ( a made up word) meetings miles away and starting each morning before my designated time to start work. Sausage factory approach to estate agency.

    Advice to Management

    Door to door Sales is not a good way to sell homes.

    Cubitt and West Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Marketing Director

    Secretarial salaries are reviewed regularly and are competitive in the market place. Whilst we are service professionals who take pride and care in our personal appearance there is no requirement to... More


  5. "horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Brighton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Brighton, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cubitt and West full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the training - but it will cost you

    Cons

    Employees are made to sign a contract, to try and reduce staff turnover. They call it their "training fee". If you miss having a life, and don't want to work 12 hour days anymore; then they will charge you £1000 out of your salary to leave.

    Lunch breaks, or any breaks for that matter aren't permitted.

    The company claim to be the best - and they do this by promising Homeowners an over ambitious price for their property. The company bully their customers in to doing everything in-house (mortgage, conveyancing, etc) in order to secure the property of their dreams... but even if a deal is made; there's nothing to stop someone else coming in with a higher offer.

    This might sound great for the people that are selling their homes; but in my experience any property that has achieved an asking price higher than expected will only be down-valued by the surveyors anyway,

    So if you want to work for less than minimum wage, and say goodbye to your life; this is the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    invest in your employers

    Cubitt and West Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Marketing Director

    In our 8th employee engagement survey 93% of staff told us that they were satisfied with the quality and level of training provided to effectively carry out their role in the company.

    I can... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Gready company, long hours and no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cubitt and West full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great branding and they get a lot of business so there's no need to canvas for it.
    Opportunities out there if your willing to be a backstabbing lying worker.
    Pension scheme, capital bonds scheme
    Yearly awards ceremony

    Cons

    Long hours for a rubbish basic. 20% pay cut after the company announced a record profit year in 2012.
    Bad management and unfair treatment of staff.
    Staff have no input to the work style in the office (depends on office)

    Cubitt and West Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Marketing Director

    For the last eight years we have conducted a company- wide annual engagement survey because what our staff have to say is important to us. In the last survey undertaken in December 2016 our staff had... More